We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery food OK to good”
Review of Riviera Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Riviera Oyster Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
BAY VILLAGE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great scenery food OK to good”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Off the beaten path. Pretty good all you can eat specials. Price is good. MAnagement seems to be a bit gruff but servers are generally good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul75hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    9
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great trip, great destination”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Heard and read a lot of complaints about how hard it is to find by car, so we took our boat for our first visit. It was a very pleasant trip across the Peace River and up Alligator Creek, here in beautiful Southwest Florida. Tied up right behind the restaurant. We were very pleasantly greeted and shown to a table where we could look out on our boat and the creek. Service was prompt and friendly. We shared a three choice platter of shrimp, oysters, and scallops after an appetizer of a dozen oysters on the half-shell. It was a well-prepared meal of fresh seafood, accompanied by the best cole slaw I have ever eaten It had a vinegar dressing and was delicious. We will return and we will recommend it to our friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“WAS SKEPTICAL .. BUT CHANGED MY MIND”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had not been to the Riviera in over a year because of negative comments from different people. Tonight, after golf, a group of us went for dinner.. We were greeted the minute we came through the door and seated immediately. Our servers, Ruthie and Cody, were most definitely the most professional and efficient wait staff that I have experienced. They made us happy, gave good choices, were familiar with the menu and the food was superb. We will all definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotfudge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Florida - Great view”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We dined here this evening. It is tricky to find but if you have GPS it will be no problem. It is an OLD Florida fish-house with fish-house décor (right down to plastic table cloths, diner style dishware and serving style to match) if you expect "Haute cuisine" you will not find it here.

However everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful and the meals with good and reasonably priced. My spouse had the ahi tuna and enjoyed it, I had the grouper fingers (fish & chip style) there was LOTS of fish on my plate and it was very tasty, properly done and not oily at all. The beer was cold and the view was wonderful with all the wildlife one expects of the mangroves. I will go back any time I want fresh fish properly prepared and a very relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamInDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What Happened To This Once Great Place ?”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It has never been a place to fall in love with the decor but the view of the creek and the food and service were always great,Our waitress was at first very pleasant however that changed shortly after she forgot who got what meal and the second round of drinks.First order of food was cold and we had to find the owner to find her as she never returned. The return order was strange tasting and although out was greasy as if they just tossed it back in the fryer.
When the buss boy finally got her to bring the bill there was the drink I had ordered and never received however she had already stated we had never ordered more and got very angry about it.
Poor service ,Poor food from a once great place to visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank don544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Oyster Bar also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing