We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park, great kayaking site!”

Peace River Wildlife Center
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful park, great kayaking site!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The park is a nice place to visit, and I was lucky enough to go on a kayaking trip from there to visit the mangroves.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    157
    27
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wildlife rehab”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I loved this place. We viewed many different types of birds in a zoo like setting, got to talk with other folks visiting, bought some things at the gift shop, then walked along the beach and harbor. Very nice!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great nature and wildlife!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take a trip to the park and wildlife center. Parking is free. We started on a raised walkway through the mangroves. It was clean and they had signs along the way of the history of the park area and also the animals that you may see in the park. We then walked to the rehabilitation center and took a tour through it. We saw bald eagles. Owls. Tutles. And many other injured and rehabilitated animals. This is a great family place and a must see in Charlotte county.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leecountytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little nature centr”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved that it is close and they do rehabilitation / release. No dislikes, but wish it were a bit larger

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy-kay3841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Always cool”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a great place to go for a walk. You can see birds, crabs and other animals. The mini zoo is fun for young or old. There is a boat ramp or you can fish from the boardwalk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peace River Wildlife Center also viewed

 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peace River Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing