We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little wildlife center at a pretty park”

Peace River Wildlife Center
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice little wildlife center at a pretty park”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I visited this wildlife center with my husband and our 8 month old. There are a ton of birds, both in cages and roaming around. It wasn't too crowded so my daughter was able to see the birds up close and had a great time. There is no admission charge but they do ask for a donation upon entering. After seeing all the beautiful birds and adorable burrowing owls, I had no problem dropping some bills into the donation box. We will definitely visit again when we return to Florida next summer!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank llint77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    146
    26
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a hidden secret and pleasant experience”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Went to watch the sun set and what a great location. Overlooks Charlotte Harbor, beatitiful location. Plenty of benches to sit on. Families of all ages. Small beach area. Nice crowd gathered to watch the sun set. A calm ,peaceful and beautiful experience. Fishing pier. Wildlife center. Playground equipment for the youngsters. Don't miss a quiet restful experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tippyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view and interesting”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The wildlife Santiago was great volunteers were very knowledgable no food available take a picnic lunch tables and benches there and scenery is beautiful

Helpful?
2 Thank Jk4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Found Ourselves @ Ponce De Leon Park”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We went to the west coast to visit family when we found ourselves near a quaint little area and saw the sign; Ponce De Leon Park. Semi circular parking and a few picnic tables. Very clean and though it was nippy many people were found strolling the grounds and some even fishing off the peer.

In the short span we were there able to spot many marsh birds. Definitely was a treat. Views were breathtaking.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great park and center”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I agree I don't like seeing cages but these hurt birds are doing great. The park is very clean and a great place to watch the boats and see the sunset. They also have a fishing area, boat launch and a nice nature trail. They even have a little sand beach area.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank carelomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peace River Wildlife Center also viewed

 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peace River Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing