We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun evening with good friends, good food and live music!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Celtic Ray Public House

The Celtic Ray Public House
Ranked #5 of 156 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. 

The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun evening with good friends, good food and live music!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I enjoyed the Celtic Ray with my high school girlfriends during our girls week out! We has a blast dancing to "oldies but goodies" and except for the slow service, the food was great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Becky,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review! We are pleased to hear that you had a good time with your friends when you were visiting our establishment. However, we are sorry to hear that the service was not as it should have been. We do hope that you decide to come back to the pub, and please don't hesitate to ask for a manager if you ever have any concerns while you are here! Thank you again for the review!
Cheers ,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    207
    46
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is a nice place for lunch, dinner or late-night entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

As a Florida resident, I enjoy going to this pub to have Irish food. The bartender was very friendly as I would watch him make a dark and hazy beer topping this with the Guinness that looked very interesting.

I had the Breton chicken that was enclosed with a flaky, puff pastry with a white, chicken sauce, colcannon, cole slaw, and soda bread. The chicken was HUGE, moist and I could not finish the meal but my friend had finish the rest of it by eating all of the left over pastry,colcannon and cole slaw.

After enjoying our glasses or Riesling wine, we proceeded to order the fruit plate and this also did not disappoint us! The cheeses, fruit, and crackers were excellent with the wine and we all loved the raspberry blue cheese. Although the bar area is small, the environment is very welcoming and cozy whether one is with family, friends, or going to see an band. I would love to come back and check out the music venues in the near future.

What is also unusual is that pub food used to be mediocre but this place has excellent quality in food. The menu even serves some Indian food such as Beef Vindaloo, Tandoori Pasty, and Chicken Curry. So whether you choose to order a snack, Irish or Indian food, or having a Guinness - come on down!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Susan-
Wow, what can we say other than, thank you SO MUCH for the amazing review you left. It was really nice to read such a thought out and descriptive review (not to mention such a positive one!). We truly appreciate you taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, and we are so delighted that you enjoyed our establishment! We (of course) hope that you do come back and see us, and we hope you will be just as pleased the second time around!
Cheers,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kilkenny Beer Yummy..Soda Bread Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Nice place in this Ghost Town. Had fish and chips..very good although the breading needed seasoning. Bar tender very nice and excellent band.
Purchased soda bread to take home was worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Good afternoon Deni! We just wanted to send you a message to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the pub. We hope you will come back and see us! If you ever want to check out our entertainment schedule, you can do so by going to celticray.net. Thanks again!
Cheers,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best indoor music venue in PG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love coming here and visit it often! Not only as a "local" enjoying the many beers on tap and now full liquor as well but, a great place to bring visitors! The re-opened section is very nice with a stage for bands, comedians and trivia nights. The fish n' chips are the best around!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimmyDJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max D, Public Relations Manager at The Celtic Ray Public House, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Jimmy-
Thank you so much for your review on the Celtic Ray! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and we are so happy that you enjoy coming to our establishment! We hope to see you soon!
Cheers,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Bar, Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Bartender walked by us at the bar many times like he didn't care. Clean cut young guy who never smiled and seemed miserable. Finally I said can we get drinks and he magically found time to stopand get our drinks! This plac is really cool with a good crowd. The band was rocking out and they have Frisbee and giant jenga outside which was fun to play. Did not try the food but lookedgood .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Ray Public House also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing