We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local place for Irish food and beer.”

The Celtic Ray Public House
Ranked #5 of 161 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. 

The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
299 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good local place for Irish food and beer.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

There on St. Pat's Day ...great live music out back on the patio. No green beer, no Bud Light to be found ...they are politely serious about their offerings here! Lots of locals seen all during the week and w/e. Nice seating/gliders out front. Very good fish and chips. Will go back to try the other menu items soon. We liked it here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    213
    48
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
390 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“great value for your dollar”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Spouse and I travelled all day. Very tired. Up in morning at half three in Barbados. Arrived PG at 4pm. Just wanted some comfort food and a drink. The Ray is where to go for comfort food. Shepherds Pie. Guiness gravy. Pint or two of Guiness. Comfort food. Order direct from the bar and food delivered to your table. Works well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fun Irish Pub”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We (all family) stopped by for a Drink. It is a fun little place and different than the pubs we have at home. Everyone orders at the bar and then they bring it to your table. They keep track of where the drinks and food go by what you are wearing, not your table. The staff is nice and the crowd is diversified. Lots of fun. The price is right and you should give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“st pattys blast”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

truly enjoyed the st pattys festival. well done although the beer was coming out a little warm. great music and food. always a friendly place. fun for families or singles. i dont mind going alone too.

Helpful?
Thank Venessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt like we were visiting a pub in Ireland ... Great!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to find this authentic, atmospheric Irish pub. The food is wonderful and VERY reasonable. We could not believe what value The Celtic Ray offered in such a heavy tourist area. We were fortunate enough to be dining here while entertained by a terrific Irish band. This was one of our more enjoyable moments visiting Punta Gorda. We were so impressed, we returned two days later, when sadly there was no music, but the fish & chips were excellent. I almost hate to say anything more nice about The Celtic Ray as it may get too busy for us to get in next time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collinrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Ray Public House also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing