We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Irish-like Pub”

The Celtic Ray Public House
Ranked #4 of 162 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great Irish-like Pub”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Plenty of Irish beverage selections including Guinness (of course), Smithwicks, bitters, Black Bush Irish Whiskey just to name a few. Food is terrific - by far the best fish & chips I've had this side of the Pond. Other Irish fare is similarly excellent. Atmosphere is complete pub - just like you'll find in the UK. And - you place your order at the bar, not at the table - another authentic pub experience. We're making this a regular stop.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    219
    48
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dive bar!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

On a recent Sunday my wife and I went out with another couple for something to eat. We ended up at the Celtic Ray. When we entered there was no one to ask about sitting. We asked the bar tender where we should sit and he said anywhere we wanted. After sitting we waited about 10 minutes for a server but we didn't see any and none came over. Going back to the bar we were told that they don't have any serves and he handed us paper menus and told us we have to order with him when we decided to eat. The menus didn't list any prices of the meals. There wre also about 30 people in the restuarant with some sitting outside. We thought about if we ordered how would we get our food. Since he appeared to be the ony person working did we have to keep checking with him for our food? We decided to eat elsewhere where we might get a server. We couldn't believe that a restuarant with a good size crowd wouldn't hire a server so we left.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not customer friendly”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped in Sat night to see a friend play in the band and have dinner.Three of us sat at the bar because there were no tables avail. Bartender walked by us several times like we were invisible. Finally got his attention and me and my daughter got a beer. Her boyfriend ordered one and never got his.We asked for a dinner menu and the bartender just pointed at the wall behind the bar with no description of what each item was and walked away without a word being spoken. Very ignorant and not customer friendly. We payed for the two beers and left for one of the many better places in Punta. I will not return and will tell people about the way we were treated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an Absolute Gem”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this place. The atmosphere is unbeatable and the live music never disappoints. The decor has earthy, old-world Irish feel and there is a wide selection of Irish pub fare available. All of the beers are imported, so if you are looking for a Bud, this place may not be for you. The Guinness on tap is heavenly and there is a nice selection of wines as well. I have never had a bad experience at this place and I just cannot rave enough about it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal City, Mo
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious and perfect atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Awesome food and experience. Fish and chips were great so was leek and potato soup. Son had Guinness stew and cleaned his plate. Loved it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mk_mcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Ray Public House also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing