We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”

The Celtic Ray Public House
Ranked #4 of 159 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. 

The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beer selection is ok at best. Food is good. Seems to be an older crowd each time I go and not too many people in the 30 something category. Bartenders are hot and cold.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Venessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    211
    48
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is THE restaurant to go to! A true Irish Pub with the addition of more space..... live music, great people (staff and patrons, both).
The owner and staff are the best! Music is fun... ya just have to sing along to some of it!
FOOD.... Best fish n chips anywhere! Irish traditional: shepards pie, pasties, Guiness....
Cannot say enough good for this establishment!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dee407Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old world Irish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

awesome food, relaxed, awesome atmosphere, wonderful people and live entertainment. Large selection of beers. A travel must see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first visit. It was a very typical Irish Pub...loved the atmosphere. We ordered 2 appetizers, the Scotch Egg and Leak & Potato Soup. Both very good tasting. My Shepard's Pie was very flavorful as well. My husband ordered the Bangers and Mash (can't remember the exact name) and it looked great but the gravy was a bit bland. Maybe that's common with that dish but nothing that a little salt and pepper couldn't fix. My friend had the Fish & Chips and it looked great and she loved it. Need to go back to try the other entrees! Portions were very adequate...not too large but just right. We also liked their prices for the most part. I think that $40 for our complete meal (2 Apps, 2 Entrees, Guinness, and 1 dessert) was very well priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
261 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

They claim they have the best and we went last night with friends. My wife had the luncheon portion and I settled for the GENEROUS dinner size. They are the best as far as we are concerned. Icelandic Cod in a great batter. Fish was firm and flakey. Washed it down with a pint of Guinness. Pics all over the place of Irish pubs. We went to many several weeks ago but not the ones displayed. Maybe we need to go back to Ireland and find these pubs. A must visit in Punta Gorda!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golf076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Celtic Ray Public House also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Celtic Ray Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing