We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large beautiful natural preserve between US 1 and the Intracoastal Walterway”

Savannas Preserve State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
1,955 reviews
1,077 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,909 helpful votes
“Large beautiful natural preserve between US 1 and the Intracoastal Walterway”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This beautiful preserve covers a large area north of Walton Road in St. Lucie county. There is a nature/visitor center which is closed Tuesday and Wednesday, numerous walking and hiking trails. We were just there in the beginning of March and for the first tine we saw alot of water in the wetlands--some of the trails are muddy and are covered with water and also for the first ime, we saw water in the lake by the boat launch area. There is a $3 per car fee. This is a magnificent natural area that seems underused--you should visit it if you are in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park - Sandhill Cranes”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I visited there briefly. Adjacent to the preserve on a quiet golf course we saw 5 Sandhill Cranes who seemed to be unperturbed by our presence. We also say a large Osprey nest with active hatchlings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NewAdventurer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Entered via the Port St. Lucie entrance on a Tuesday. The education center is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday. Entered the park area ($3 fee for each car) and drove to parking. Took the yellow trail -- and assume all the animals were either on strike or affected by the economy and unemployed as I saw no wildlife. Walked about a mile, turned around and went back to the motel. It might be better at other parts of the part, but where I was -- not impressed. I liked the Port St. Lucie local park that is nearby much better (Hillmore Lake Park).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mysei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeleys Bay
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walking the trails”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very nice walk we use to take our dog and walk for miles. We would stop at the covered lookout overlooking the water and watch the numerous different waterfowl. We also saw snakes and gators in their natural habitat. On one occasion there were several Turkey vultures circling overhead, and I told my wife to keep her arms moving to let them know we were still alive, haha. As snowbirds from Ontario, Canada, we enjoy our time in Florida, and will again this year take the opportunity to walk the trails and visit the centre.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank homeboyca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stop Here”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It was closed on Tuesday and Wednesday this week, so be sure you call in advance. The exhibits were interesting and educational. We were greeted at the entrance by a gopher tortoise one day and by 3 sandhill cranes another day. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were hiking trails and kayak tours are available - check out the website.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BFWPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannas Preserve State Park also viewed

 

Been to Savannas Preserve State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing