We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst ribs I've ever tasted?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny's BBQ - CLOSED

Sonny's BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The worst ribs I've ever tasted?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you enjoy the occasional unhealthy meal then you know that good ribs are worth risking your health. If prepared correctly they can be very tasty and delicious.
I've been to many Sonny's in my travels but this one is very bad.
The ribs looked as if they were days old and kept on a warmer. I asked for the manager and they brought me more of the same.
I wasn't looking for the meal to be comped because the baked beans and the French fries were very filling. However, I came for the ribs and was seriously disappointed. The Sonny's in Fort Pierce or Stuart are both very good. Avoid this one at all cost!
Oh, in case you're wondering......I tried this place three different times over the last four months. Each time the ribs were awful. There is no excuse....this is a franchise!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stanton_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Finger liken' good BBQ ribs & pulled pork. Delicious sides of sweet potatoes, baked beans, macaroni & cheese, and garlic toast or corn bread. Reasonably priced. Friendly staff.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BFWPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I love Sonny's but not this one!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant looks worn and dirty, service was awful not one refill offered while we ate. Waitress overcharged us on the bill and screwed up coupons. Just a rather miserable experience, they need to close this location. Go to the Stuart location instead and get 5 star service!

Helpful?
1 Thank ajsoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“even the preacher can't save this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been coming to this particular restaurant for about 10 years now. It used to be good. It is just sad now. It is dirty, servers don't appear happy to be there, salad bar doesn't look fresh.
Considering how dirty and old the dining room appears I worry about what happens with the food. I will not be back and will look for another BBQ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1pasogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“No lemons with tea. Looks like the used them all for the food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Ok we have been coming here for past 5+ years. Recent visit showed a drastic difference.

Ice tea no lemons. Restaurant was dirty.

Pulled pork was dry If you want decent Q here is not the place. Try Park Avenue instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Radarman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing