We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Doggie Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walton Rocks Beach

Walton Rocks Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the ONLY dog friendly beach in St. Lucie County on the Atlantic Ocean, incredible views and the dogs and owners love it. If you travel with your pet a must spot when in the Treasure Coast of Florida
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Doggie Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boxer LOVES Walton Rocks, and so do we! Friendly dogs, friendly people, quiet/secluded beach. When you have a dog as energetic as a boxer, letting her off the leash for a good run is always a welcome for both of us. We've been many times and never had a bad experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bow Wow! Dogs Allowed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not much more to add from what the others have written. Great space, beautiful ocean, friendly people and well behaved dogs. Thank you, St. Lucie County.
Tip: It isn’t called Walton Rocks Beach for nothing. Take care at low tide for the buried limestone dotted along the sea floor. I found this in the area of beach at the furthest parking area. Not bothersome once you know where they are but I found out about them the hard way, sort of speak.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
260 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“This beach has gone to the dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This beach has gone to the dogs! This off-leash dog park was established on 24 acres of beach property so canines can romp in the sand and surf.

Located on A1A, south of the St. Lucie Power Plant, 4 miles north of the Jensen Beach Causeway on Hutchinson Island. This is a nice, untouched beach with no life guards, the southern most beach in St. Lucie County. Offers bathrooms and showers, free parking, good fishing, covered picnic tables and restrooms.

It does not require leashes and there is a maximum three dogs per person allowed. Also, guardians are required to pick up after their dogs and, even though leashes are not required, dogs must be kept under control at all times.

We have been here several times. Sure the bathrooms aren't fancy but who really cares, we're there to be on the beach not in the bathroom. The kids love splashing in the waves and playing in the sand. The whole family enjoys it and having the dogs (who are part of our family) with us makes it much better.

We have been to many of the dog beaches in Florida and anytime out with the pooches is a good time but Walton Rocks is especially fun for them because its off leash. They have the freedom to swim and chase birds without the restraint of a leash. Not a super busy beach with a few dogs here and there mostly just keeping to themselves. Great place to set up a tent and make a day of it.

The beach itself however was a very good experience. The dogs that were off leash were very well behaved, the beach was very clean and the water was a clear blue. I loved watching the other dogs play and my little dogs loved digging holes in the sand.
My dogs avoid getting close to the water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great dog beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day at the beach with our yellow lab, the beach was clean and lots of room for pups to run. Was not crowded and we were ther in the summer on a Saturday . Will defiantly be back when we are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dog paradise found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We were on vacation with our dogs and wanted to take them to the beach. This is the perfect beach for the dogs. It is isolated from other beaches and has a wide beach area for the dogs to run and swim. The water is not rough because of rocks that break them up. Our dogs had a great, safe day. We wish we lived close enough to come all the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jencon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walton Rocks Beach also viewed

 

Been to Walton Rocks Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing