We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,534)
Filter reviews
5,534 results
Traveler rating
2,802
1,606
602
296
228
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,802
1,606
602
296
228
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini club kids club adult pool all inclusive resort tennis lessons circus team first club slice bar evening shows calm pool child care all inclusives sports activities crazy signs punta cana family vacation chocolate cream
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 5,534 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 days & 4 nights in the first week of July for a family reunion. I had been to several other Club Med locations and am generally a fan of Club Med (CM). But this one was different. First, as you approach the complex, it is clear that there is no separation of the resort from the surrounding residential area. The integration of the CM (rather than segregation, as at most CMs) with the local community is also clear in the programming. For example, the chief of the circus only shows up periodically because he has his own separate circus business in the area. The beach volleyball program is run by two coaches who own their own volleyball training business and so our beach volleyball class was taught instead by a recent high school graduate. The facility also has programs that bring in groups of people/students for tennis training, volleyball training, and other sports. Participants in those programs are on particular schedules and do not integrate with the normal guests. The sit-down restaurant is also open to people outside of CM. And Sandpiper offers "day visit" passes to people who just want to come in for a day of fun & food. The whole thing was an odd experience.
The food was good, but not as good as I have experienced at other CMs. Both the selection/variety and the quality were not as impressive as at other locations. We went to the sit-down restaurant one night, but the food was no better there.
I love to sail and was interested in trying the catamarans on the bay. But the location of the sailboats (at the swimming beach) was not very conducive to a good sail. The lagoon off the bay was sheltered on 3 sides from the wind, making it very difficult for even an experienced sailor to get going. I felt sorry for those who were just trying to learn! Between swimmers, sailboats, paddleboards, and kayaks, the very small stretch of beach and the lagoon off the bay got very crowded!
LOVED that the waterskiing and wakeboarding were free to guests in July & August. It should be free ALL the time, as it is in CM Cancun! The waterski staff were friendly and very helpful. The line for waterskiing got pretty long in the afternoon, so be sure to go early!
The trapeze was a lot of fun. The staff was friendly and helpful, though they are not nearly as experienced as they are at other CMs (ex: Cancun, Punta Cana).
Almost of all of us participated in at least one tennis class, so we tried advanced, intermediate and beginner levels. Having attended the intermediate class, I can say that the self-sorting into class levels is not always successful - the level of talent in the class ranged immensely. We enjoyed the coach - he was fun and very helpful.
We also tried pickleball and mini golf - things that I haven't seen at other CMs. They were fun, but the equipment needs to be replaced.
The acreage for this CM is small. On the plus side, that means less walking. But the downside is that everything is very crowded together. I guess that is how they get away with having a single bar!

Room tip: We were in the first building behind the dining building. Very convenient!
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 881pah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMed, Customer Relations at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello 881pah,

Thank you for taking the time to review Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed Club Med however we were disappointed hear we were not up to your expectations. We consider anything less than perfect to indicate room for improvement and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to a beautiful Club Med resort in the future.

Best regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rotting wood everywhere
Needs Paint major public areas and hotel rooms
Food is always cold when served in buffet
Floors filthy in bathrooms grout falling apart
Cigarette butts everywhere on property
Allows smoking everywhere even on balconies
No place for nonsmoking
Fishy smelly glasses
Dirty dishwater smell
Minibar not stocked
Only a burger between 10p- 12a-and no room service
Since the new owners in Asia took over it has gone down hill
Worst all inclusive resort I have been to in 30 years
Stay away
It does have clean rooms and most staff are nice
Bartenders need to smile
Outdoor trash needs to be picked up everywhere on the grounds
It was way better under the French influence
Still a good kids activities program

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 192ala410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMed, Customer Relations at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello 192ala410,

Thank you for sharing your comment regarding Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We value your feedback and will share your comments and concerns with the appropriate departments so we can improve each guests stay with us. Our goal is to provide a wonderful vacation experience and we are disappointed if we didn't exceed this goal. We look
forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to a beautiful Club Med resort in the future.

Kind regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the free waterski and wakeboard at club med sandpiper
Great team. Great teachers especially Silvio. We were total beginners and managed to get up in the water and truly enjoy it!
We will be back
See you soon

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank charlottebinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMed, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review! It's great to hear that you had a fantastic vacation at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the free waterskiing and wakeboarding - how fun! We can't wait to see you again soon. The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sarah from the bar was so amazing we had a problem with our A/C. We had such a hard time getting help from anybody. We were just talking to Sarah by the bar and she went over to the office and tried to help us and got us a new room it was the best customer service I’ve ever seen.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Daphne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We (with 5 kids: 11-16 year olds) had a lot of fun. The kids had fun with the teen club and also on their own sailing, paddle boarding, kayaking, waterskiing, wakeboarding, trapeze etc

The unlimited water skiing / wakeboarding was a big hit for us. The team there does a great job teaching and also keeping things moving so everyone gets a chance. This alone would be a reason for us to go back. Great job Franck and team!

The food is pretty good and the room was nice.

Thanks to the GO team (especially Scoop) for working hard with big smiles.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMed, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review! We always love to hear that our water activities were something that could be enjoyed by the whole family. We hope to see you again soon! The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews