We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,414)
Filter reviews
5,414 results
Traveler rating
2,735
1,579
588
288
224
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,735
1,579
588
288
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini club kids club adult pool all inclusive resort tennis lessons circus team first club slice bar evening shows calm pool child care all inclusives crazy signs sports activities family vacation punta cana chocolate cream
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,356 - 1,361 of 5,414 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back! My husband and I had a vacation not just a trip with our kiddos:-) The kids loved the kids club and couldn't wait to go every morning. Our kiddos are 6, 4 and 3 so the night shows and events were a little too late for us to attend every night but we did try and go as often as we could - they loved meeting up and seeing their friends at the shows at night and seeing their GO's in the shows. The activities provided at the kids club were unique and kept them active all day long - this made bedtime SUPER easy for us (which is not the case at home)
The rooms were a little outdated but when we added up the time we actually spent in the room, this was pretty trivial.
We all loved the food and they offered a nice variety.
The 'adult pool' was calm, quiet and never too busy to grab a cabana. The pool was heated and the hot tub was large enough for a nice group of people to hang out without feeling crowded.
They have washers and dryers in every building which is super convenient for families (esp. with messy kiddos).
We were never bored and cannot wait to go back next year!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
1  Thank cece082017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

We are so happy that Club Med Sandpiper Bay exceeded your expectations. We are glad you were able to relax while making memories with your family. We hope to see you back soon. - The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We are a very large family so finding a place that will accommodate us all and keep us all happy is not an easy challenge. Whilst making all the reservations was a bit daunting and laborious (thanks Holly) is was all good from there.

With such a large family (27) from all over the world, we tended to hang out in the dining area. The food, whilst trying to cater to all sorts of picky eaters, did a remarkable job. Not once did I feel the need to eat pizza, but my 86 year old dad, ate it most meals. He said it was delicious

The service in the dining room was excellent and a huge shoutout to Cyndi, the assistant manager, for setting up a table to accommodate us all the second she saw one of our party arrive.

We partook in most of the activities from the kids club, to sailing and all the water sports, to family volleyball games (you need a higher boundary net to keep the ball out of the water) to the gym classes (go Emily).

A few of us went out fishing with Jeremy where we all caught smaller fish but my brother landed a 40lb snook and it was fun just to photograph that.

Lots of fun, especially late afternoon by the adult hot tub watching the dolphins and birds.

Room tip: Just about any room as most have decent views.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

We are so pleased that Club Med Sandpiper Bay was the perfect place to host your family reunion! Hope to see you all back soon. - The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017

We were at Sandpiper Bay from April 10 through the 14th. We are a family of 4...2 kids 8 and 5. Let's start with...

The Great Stuff

The Mini Club --> The kids had a blast at the mini club and the GO's there were amazing. Extra big shout out to Sparkles who did a wonderful job with our rambunctious 5 yo. They had a great time on the trapeze and circus school. They did not want to leave and keep asking us when they can go back.

The water sport activities --> It was awesome to be able to try sailing, kayak, and paddle boarding. The GO's at the activities were very helpful and friendly. The bay is beautiful and peaceful and great place for beginners to learn the ropes.

The spa --> I had a wonderful experience at the spa. Friendly people, beautiful facility. And not too overpriced which was nice.

The workout --> Hats off to Emily who gave me some incredible workouts while I was there.

The golf --> My hubby took full advantage of the golf opportunities and he had a great experience with Marie Claire.

The OK Stuff

The room --> The room was spacious and it was nice to have a separate room for the kids. Our housekeeper kept the room very clean. However, the tiles were cracked and it could use some updating. And the first day the handle on the shower came off. Took them over 12 hours to fix it.

The food --> The food was generally good and plentiful. However, the buffet itself as well as the restaurant were disappointing (see the ugly below).

The drinks --> The drinks were OK. Obviously not top shelf stuff, but still OK. The white wine was OK...the red was undrinkable.

The shows --> They were cute and the GO's who were in the shows did the best they could. However, it felt like I was watching a local dance recital at times. But the kids liked it. And the circus performers were excellent and really brought some professionalism to the show.

The Ugly

The GO's (other than the ones I said above) --> You would think that at a place like club med, all the GO's would know what was going on. Not the case. One example, I asked several questions at the front desk about the Mini Club. They really did not know any details at all and kept referring us to the handouts which were not very helpful. Another example...we wanted to make a reservation at the Riverside. Everyone we asked about how to make a reservation had a different answer and pointed us in a different direction. The topper was when I tried to ask the lady at the towel stand a very simple question and she just said "I don't speak English." For such a small place, you think everyone would be on the same page. And I can't even say that everyone was friendly. Many GO's (not all) acted like we were bothering them...and if I heard the excuse one more time that it was a holiday week and they were very busy...

The restaurants --> A hot mess! Again the excuse we received over and over was that it was a very busy week. Not an excuse!!!! One night at the buffet, we asked 5 different people if we could have silverware (after we cleaned our own table). 3 said it was not their section and one just walked away. Even after we asked the manager and she told one of the wait staff to help us, after 5-10 mins, he brought us one fork each and that's it. When I complained at the front desk that night, again laughter from the GO's at the desk and then the excuse...it's a busy week. Yes, a busy week that we paid premium price to stay. Should be better service not worse. And then the last night we ate at Riverside. It was nice to not have to get up and down for your food, but the service was lackluster and the food was worse than the buffet.

The bar --> The bar area had a funny smell the entire time we were there. You really couldn't be there for any length of time. Some bartenders were super friendly and some acted like we were bothering them.

So overall, we had fun, but for the money we spent, we expected more. Especially because we spent more to be there for the holiday week and kept getting the excuse that it was the holiday week and that's why the service was bad. I think this place has a lot of potential. I hope they make some changes.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lbakhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Customer Relations at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Ibakhos,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted your children had such a blast at the mini club. We are also happy you enjoyed the water sports activities, golf, and spa. We apologize the service did not meet your expectations. Most guests have
wonderful experiences at our resort, and have especially commended our staff's friendly service, so it was very disappointing to read otherwise in your review. We have shared your comments with our management teams. For further assistance please contact our Guest Relations department at us.guestrelations@clubmed.com at your earliest convenience. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again and give you the vacation you expect and deserve.

Best regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

We spent a week here with three generations of our family to celebrate a 75th birthday. We got lucky with perfect weather, but the resort also delivered all around. We've been to four or five Club Meds over the years, and this was by far the best -- best food, best location, best service. It was a nice mix of Club Med culture and US vacation resort. Location made it easy to even pop off-campus once for a movie.

We liked that it was a little smaller and more contained than some other resorts so was very easy for kids to come and go as they pleased and know they were close by (and run into them). The mini club was great - our group had kids ages 5-10 and all of them did at least some things ranging from full day to spot activities. Counselors seemed strong all around. Kids particularly enjoyed getting mocktails before dinner every night with the adults.

Golf was particularly convenient - right on premises - so playing 9 holes here or there was two hours max including travel time and range time and didn't feel like it consumed the whole day.

Small beachfront on the bay was very nice and had great easy water sports - paddleboard, kayak, sailing. Power water sports were also super fun - jetski, flyboard, tubing.

Great staff - especially Adam, Ginny, Ashlynn, Peter, Welton, and the circus crew from Mini Club. Very nice touch to have a Seder on Passover. Everyone very friendly and helpful and welcoming.

There were a couple minor issues - uneven housekeeping, unclear rules in the dining room about how to get a reserved table (it seemed tied to buying a premium bottle of wine, which was fine by us), not great service at the higher end restaurant with table service - but nothing too bad and very minor in the grand scheme of a great week.

Although we like traveling to new places, I'd say if we do another Club Med or Beaches type trip, we'd be more likely to come back to Club Med Sandpiper Bay than go anywhere else!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank mattbS2242II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

We are so happy to hear that we were able to accommodate for your large group during your recent stay! We are pleased you chose Club Med Sandpiper Bay to celebrate your family member's 75th birthday and that you felt taken care of and special. We hope to host you and your family again soon. - The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

We just returned from CM Sandpiper. This was our 9th trip to Club Med and 5th trip to Sandpiper, 3 of our other trips have fallen on school vacation weeks. The resort did not have enough GOs for the capacity filled week. Most of the teams had half the number of GOs of our last visit. My daughter was a shark (6-7 yo) and they had 3 GOs for 40-50 kids. When we were there last time they were able to split the group for certain activities. It just couldn't be done with the small staff and there was a ton of sitting around. Ethan was amazing with the kids but it was just too many kids for too few GOs.

The circus staff was much smaller as well, which really was a disappointment since trapeze is a favorite for the kids. Lines were huge at the bar (which usually had 2-3 bartenders, instead of the 5-6 they had our last visit). The restaurant was the same. It was just very very short staffed...

Club Med must know that they are going to be at capacity for spring break based on looking at their bookings. They should have had the staff to accommodate.

We almost never saw the Chief of the Village, Kareem. He was completely non existent. We have never had that experience before. Usually we see the head of the village everywhere!!! Something was really off. I wonder if this was a management issue. Unfortunately we paid top dollar for a vacation week and do not feel like we got our money's worth.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank vacationer48570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Customer Relations at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear vacationer48570,

Thank you for your review and your continued loyalty throughout the years. We truly apologize your stay with us did not meet your expectations as previous times. Our goal is for each Club Med vacation to be better than your last. Rest assured your comments have been shared with the appropriate management teams to discuss and make improvements. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Guest Relations department at us.guestrelations@clubmed.com for further assistance. We would love to host you again in the near future at any of our beautiful Club Med resorts.

Best regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews