We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,421)
Filter reviews
5,421 results
Traveler rating
2,741
1,579
589
288
224
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,741
1,579
589
288
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini club kids club adult pool all inclusive resort tennis lessons circus team first club slice bar evening shows calm pool child care all inclusives crazy signs sports activities family vacation punta cana chocolate cream
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,388 - 1,393 of 5,421 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2017

The club was inclusive catering mainly to family groups. However, adult singles and couples were fully catered too, as well. Family groups are housed somewhat together and mainly on the ground floor which are most convenient for younger children. Couples are housed on the upper floors.

The cleaning staff, food and meal catering, kitchen staff are all most couteous and responsive. I meet with beautiful, smiling faces of children and adult guests.

Plenty of activities are on offered for all tastes. There are yoga, pilates, general fitness, power walks, jogs, tours, excursions, flying trapezes. I don't have enough good words to say especially for Ian at Fitness who has impressed all my 4 guests who attended the many actvities he hosted. We will certainly come back just so we can attend his fitness classes.

Room tip: Family oriented but also good for singles and couples. The tennis academies is fantastic.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sulyporn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

We are so pleased to hear you were impressed with your service at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you back soon. - The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

I was very disappointed in our stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. There were some positives, but the negatives far outweighed anything good. Below is a summary of the good and bad.

Pros
1). Lots of things to do and most of the staff were very friendly.
2). Mini Club Med for our kids was great. They seemed to enjoy it and had lots of activities throughout the day.
3). Some great GOs - Adam, Spencer, Dylan, Sara, Sparkles, etc.

Cons
1). Check-in was indicative of our stay. We checked in around 8pm and hostess was very cold and unfriendly. There was no offer to have someone take our bags and there were no other workers around to help. We had to drag all of our bags around in the dark to find our room.

2). The rooms were very tired, dated, and filthy. Our room was not clean and it looks like a bunch of kids tried a quick remodel on the place (attached pictures). The quality of remodel is what I would expect from a 1 star motel, not an all-inclusive resort.

3). We went to go eat about 8:30pm after we checked into our room and we got a good taste of the wait staff for the week. Basically, they're non-existent. No one came to our table to get us water or ask if we needed anything. This was a constant theme as most days we never had any waiter come to our table as there was usually only one or two running around. Many tables were often dirty and not cleaned off. We had to get our own water and coffee at just about every meal.

4). Speaking of coffee, the first morning we did not have a waiter, so I tried to get coffee at their coffee machines. Surprise, both were totally out off coffee. Also, there's only one beer available at the main restaurant (Coors). And, you can't get mixed drinks at your table. There are only a few choices of sub-par wine and the Banquet beer. Pretty annoying as they have other beers on draft in the bar, mixed drinks, frozen drinks, etc., but that's in a separate building.

3) The Internet in our room and throughout the facility was terrible. To repeat what has been said in other reviews, the internet is basically useless as it is so slow. Their only remedy is to pay for an upgraded internet service. Total scam. I could not get any work done and most pages wouldn't even load. I tried a speed test many times and it was so slow it failed time after time. Eventually, I was able to get a test done (screenshot attached) and it was 0.25 Mbps down. I paid $3000 to be there for the week, you think they could provide decent internet service.

4). The food was just not good. I expected much better. I can't blame the people working in the food service area as they were mostly friendly and hard working. The food was just mediocre to bad. I did not look forward to eating there each day as you think one would with all the choices.

5). One night, we decided to do a load of laundry. But, the detergents were all out and the coin changer was out of coins. This just goes to show how much pride the staff and ClubMed have in their facility. They simply don't care. The change machine and detergent were out the two days I went by, so I just never bothered again.

In summary, I would never go back to ClubMed Sandpiper Bay. Maybe their other resorts are better, but this was only my second all-inclusive experience and my first was much better. My first was in Cancun at a Now Sapphire as Club Med there was much more expensive. This experience makes me hesitant to try other Club Med spots as they tend to be more expensive than most.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank brasskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Customer Relations at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Dear brasskey,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the variety of activities and friendly staff. Thank you for the shout-outs to Adam, Spencer, Dylan, Sara, and Sparkles and will pass those onto them. We apologize the accommodations, food, and other services did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide the best vacation possible for every guest whether it is your first experience at Club Med or your twentieth year in a row. Guest feedback is vital to our success so your comments will be shared with the appropriate management teams to review and discuss improvements. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Guest Relations department at us.guestrelations@clubmed.com for further assistance. We would love the opportunity to host you and your family at any of our amazing Club Med resorts in the near future.

Best regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

I took my two grandsons by myself on Spring Break vacation. I chose Club Med Sandpiper Bay specifically because of their Mini Club - the supervised children's program - and I couldn't be happier with our experience. The G.O.s in charge of their group, the Gators (8-10 year olds), were Amplify (Adriel), Virginia and Jellybean (J.J.) and they were AWESOME! They encouraged the boys to try new things like the trapeze, which they both did! (and the G.O.s even climbed the ladder with them when they started to get scared), played games with them, led their activities, etc., all the while keeping the kids engaged and safe.
The Mini Club daily schedule begins at 9:00 AM and includes trampeze/trampoline/mini golf time, swimming, circus school, lunch, zumba/games, swimming again, art studio, and snack. At 4:15 each day there was a special event, like water park/slip and slide fun, sand castle contest (which was canceled while we were there because of weather, so they had inside balloon races instead), bouncy house fun, etc. From 5-6:30 is family time and the G.O.s get a much needed break. Evening Mini Club hours are from 6:30 - 8:00 which included supervising dinner and an evening program. And this was all done joyfully with smiles and laughter.
The highlight of the week for both my boys was being in the Kids' Show. They rehearsed twice, once before dinner and once after, and put on the most adorable Mario show imaginable - complete with costumes, songs and dancing. This was the main show for the entire village for the night, and the kids had a blast!
Another special thing they enjoyed was the talent show. They play violin and were pleased to play on the Club Med stage. Our favorite shows to watch were the trapeze show and the Lost Temple aerial show - WOW!
FYI - 8-10 year olds are given the option of being "independent". That means they can come and go from the Mini Club whenever they'd like. I did not give permission for "independence" - I liked knowing that they were being supervised when I wasn't with them.
The Club Med village itself seemed very safe. I didn't hesitate to leave my belongings (including cell phone and kindle) on a lounge chair to go swimming, etc. The beach area was nicer than I expected, with a decent sandy area, about 6 Hobie Wave sailboats, about 12 kayaks (singles and doubles), and SUP boards. Here too the staff was helpful and nice. (Kids must be 11 to take out a boat on their own.)
There is ample shaded area around the pools and also scattered around the village, as well as lounge chairs in the sun.
This is definitely a family resort and everything including evening events are geared towards families. I did not see a single drunk or disorderly person the entire week.
There is one main bar and if you want a drink you need to go get it - no chairside service. The main eating area is a large buffet with items changing each day. There is also a sit-down dinner restaurant that I went to once. The food was fine and better than typical buffet food.
Our room had a king sized bed and a separated area with bunk beds - perfect for us.
I would highly recommend this resort for families.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

We are so happy to hear that you and your grandsons had a lovely time at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We are pleased that our G.Os were able to entertain your grandchildren while they tried new things. We hope to see you back soon! - The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Club Med Sandpiper. We stayed for a week. The weather was perfect and the whole staff at Club Med Sandpiper were amazing. Thank you to the staff from the reception desk, to food and beverage to all the group exercise instructors to all the sport leaders and everyone else that works at Club Med for making our stay exceptional. They all went above and beyond their call of duty. They were all so friendly and warm. I'd like to shout out to Joseph (front desk), Ian (group exercise), and Kyle (trapeze) for creating a caring and warm environment.

Room tip: We stayed in Section B. The view was lovely. We overlooked the court yard. It was lush and very quiet. The location was perfect.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

We are so pleased to hear that you and your husband had a lovely time at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We are glad our G.Os could make your stay special. - The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

My son (8) and I traveled there together. I was hoping for a place where he could have some independence and we could both enjoy ourselves. Overall, I wasn't disappointed. He loved it and I had plenty of time to enjoy myself as well. We will definitely go back.

So here are my observations:
If anything doesn't meet your expectations, the enthusiasm and professionalism of the staff (GO's) will more than compensate. They are wonderful and one of the big reasons to go back. They make your experience terrific (they will remember your name, your last drink, where you are from, what things you enjoy... just all of the things to make it special).

With that being said, just understand that it is an older beach resort. So some things are a little rundown, but not ignored. There was lots of maintenance going on all the time and they really attend to anything you point out. I didn't even point something out, my room attendant did, and they fixed it promptly.

Food is great, but I did get a little tired of buffets. So make a note to make a reservation at Riverside as soon as you arrive. It is the sit down restaurant included in the cost, but it requires reservations and books up fast.

While the spa is adequate, it isn't really a luxury spa. There's no sauna or steam room. Pretty much just treatment rooms and a few outdoor lounge chairs for you to rest. They are really nice people though.

We had a Club Room which is essentially a large hotel room. We may upgrade next time.

So some of the people who make it great (and there are lot's) are Adam (he's a tireless host), Kevin (the bartender with the ability to know what you need), and all the kid's club and watersports guys: Dylan, Jack, Lulu, Jellybean, Sara (a lifesaver!) and Lindsey. There are so many more, but I will remember them when I go through pictures and edit.

It's definitely a value for the money. You'll have a great time. We look forward to going to the Cancun Club Med next.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferI90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club Med Ψ, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

We are so pleased to hear that you and your wife had a lovely time at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We are glad our G.Os could make your stay special. - The Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews