We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I live in Florida and I love going to ClubMed Sandpiper. It's the perfect family get away. We are a family of five with three kids and when I'm their my kids just want to be in the kids club which means more adult time. They also have an adult pool and separate dining area. I have no stress which is priceless because I know my kids are having fun and well taken care of. The mini club especially Christian are fabulous with kids. The room and food is great. The only thing they can improve is the drinks in the bar. If you trained your bartenders you would spent less on alcohol because people would drink the first drink not waste it. Other wise great place for a family.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Jazsenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,915 - 1,921 of 4,291 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our experience at Club Med Sandpiper was mixed. We went with our son and his family including two little kids under 5. For travelling with little kids, this resort was wonderful. The facilities and programs in place are excellent for them. We really enjoyed the golf. The food and drinks were very good, although there is only one restaurant most of the time. Entertainment was mostly targeted towards children.

Upon arrival, there was a check-in snafu, and the person on the desk was snarky and unpleasant. We learned that the beach was closed due to pollution - which really should have been posted on the web site. We were going there to golf, sail, and have fun with our grandchildren.

We had spent an extra $300 for a deluxe room which turned out to be badly situated on a ground floor. We later found out the only difference between a deluxe room and a regular room was slightly different decor, turndown service with little chocolates, and a daily stocking of the minifridge with half a dozen soft drinks. For $10 I could have brought my own little chocolates and soft drinks, and would not have been limited to a ground floor room where we felt compelled to keep the curtains closed all the time as the public footpath was 6 feet from the patio door.

Room Tip: Deluxe room upgrade is NOT WORTH IT. If you are travelling with little kids, ask for Building A. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZanneStA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was my 14th trip to Sandpiper Bay. I am a freshman in college, and my family has been coming to this Club Med since I was in kindergarten. If you are looking for a luxurious, relaxing beach vacation, this resort is not for you. However, if you are seeking to broaden your horizons by engaging in a diverse array of activities, meet new people, and feel a constant sense of positive energy, this is the place for you. Yes, the rooms are pretty bottom of the line, but it barely even bothers me (an extremely critical neat freak), for the only time I am in my room is when I shower and when I sleep. There are constantly activities happening, and my biggest stress in Club Med is always choosing what to do and what to sacrifice!
What really makes Club Med special, and the reason for my review, is the truly outstanding G.O. Team. These employees work incredibly hard, yet they always have a smile on their face. Get to know them- my family sat with at least one G.O. at nearly every meal, and that is what made our trip so spectacular. Invite them to dinner, and get them drinks in the bar at night. The meaningful connections that you make with these individuals is what set Club Med apart from other resorts.
This season's circus team is the best I've ever encountered- Brian, Ben, Hanah, Kimberly, and Jacob were all extremely welcoming, knowledgable, talented, and fun to talk to. They were so passionate, and on my last day, Brian let me try to catch my toughest trick three times. Arty, Chief of Land Sports, played a huge role in our trip. Our family knew both Hanah and Arty from last year and enjoyed spending Christmas together. We loved starting off our mornings with Arty's power walks, and watching him in the nightly shows always made us laugh. Other G.O.s that made our stay were Teddy, Lance, Madeline, Izzy, Jeff, and Andre.
I'm already planning my next visit to Club Med Sandpiper, as I cannot get enough of the contagious happiness. There were more crazy signs than ever before, and the G.O.s were just such quality people. Thank you for another great trip!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family of five (children aged 11, 8 and 3) stayed for the week before Christmas 2013 and all had a fabulous time in Sandpiper Bay. The children all joined in Mini Club and Baby Club respectively and were made very welcome. The two eldest were allowed to join in the activities which suited them as well as sign themselves out when they felt like doing something else.

Our son spent most of the week on the beach with the very friendly Sailing GO team who made him part of the group immediately and trusted him to take boats and paddle boards whenever he wanted.

The food was absolutely first class as expected at Club Med (being French, we can be picky!), both in the main buffet restaurant ("The Marketplace") which offered new tastes everyday and the excellent dining room "the Riverside" (included in the price but you need to book early). Kudos to the caring team!

For activities, we were absolutely spoilt with world-class tennis and golf available, circus trapeze lessons and lots of pools to suit your mood, including splash pool (our 3-year old loved it), 2 family pools and an adult infinity pool overlooking the river Saint Lucie with a hot tub.

Only negative for us was the gym. There were only 2 running machines which were always busy and the club should invest in another 6. There were just too many weight lifting machines which were never used every time we visited and passed by (our room was nearby). There was also no small dumb bells in sight which was rather strange.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building A which was very close to the beach and main pool but found all buildings were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were 10 to spend the 7 day Xmas holiday. It was just superb. David, the Chef de Village, has a fine crew of GO's that take good care of you with all the activities. Billy, the Trapeze wizz, trained all the kids. Even our 5 yr old went up high and enjoyed it a lot. We sailed on the 14ft Hoby's, we had the excellent fitness program with Zumba, body sculpting, yoga and a good gym with GOOD equipment. We played tennis, soccer ... and never left the compound. The only obligation was to assemble for lunch and dinner. Nikos who runs the restaurant knew us by name after the first meal, kept us a table. The food was superb with high quality ingredients and prepared to perfection with a lot of international flavors under the supervision of Chef Christian. The evening shows, run by David were very entertaining, so much so that even the kids participated. Super friendly people with a perpetual smile. Calls for doing it again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We travelled here over Thanksgiving week for a combination holiday/Grandparents 75th Birthday and I really enjoyed virtually everything at the property. I thought the staff and the kids clubs were awesome. Our 4 year old boy loved it, especially being able to participate in the show at the end of the week, and our two year-old (who is TOUGH!) enjoyed it too. We would have left our ten-month old daughter in Club Baby to try it out but she came down with an ear-infection (not at all related to the property). Our room was great for us though some of the family did comment that we had the nicest room of our bunch. The facilities were good, though somewhat worn and dated but considering the traffic they're dealing with that is reasonable. I thought the food was very good, there were fresh veggies and fish, good quality meats, fresh baked breads. I'd definitely recommend this property for a family looking to get away... especially if mom and dad want some time off from the kids during the trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This resort is easy to reach by car; limousine service (Chevy Suburban) can be arranged from Palm Beach International airport. It is the only Club Med in the United States; it is very much geared to multigenerational families and has "something for everyone". Essentially, it is very much like taking a cruise on land. While optional excursions are offered, there is really no need to leave the resort. During both of our stays, the resort was filled to capacity. Although it certainly seemed busy, it never felt crowded. A fitness-oriented and family-oriented atmosphere prevailed. It was certainly easy (but not at all necessary) to meet and befriend other families.

The buffet meals are a definite highlight of the resort, with numerous delicious options available at each meal to suit virtually any dietary need. It would be almost impossible to sample every single offering at any given meal. Breakfast typically includes cold & hot cereals, eggs & an omlette station, cheeses, various pastries, an assortment of dried and canned fruits, pancakes, French toast, breakfast meats, potatoes, etc. Typically, lunch and dinner include a variety of salads, soups, breads, veggies, starches, several fish, meats, pastas & sauces, and cheeses. Our family easily avoided meat and shellfish, with plenty of vegetarian and fish dishes to choose from at each meal. Desserts were always spectacular, including an assortment of pastries and cookies, crepes and ice creams. For the little kids, soft-serve ice cream is offered in cones or cups at every meal.

In addition to various sodas and fruit juices, reasonable red, white and rose wines (by the bottle or glass) as well as Coor's beer are freely available at lunch and dinner. Premium bottles of wine are available for an extra charge; unfinished premium bottles can be stored (under your name) for the next day. Brand-name liquor as well as various cocktails (including frozen pina coladas and strawberry daiquiris) are freely available from the bar.

Group tennis lessons are included every morning for beginners, intermediate and advanced players. The golf driving range is also included. One of the highlights at Club Med is the trapeze, with hours designated for children (by age group) and adults. There is a tiny waterfront with paddleboards and very small catamarans available (for ages 6 & up) free-of-charge. Volleyball and soccer games are organized in the afternoons. There is a 5k run organized almost every morning. Aquagym, Zumba, Pilates, yoga, kickboxing and spinning classes are also included. Various massages are available at the spa for an extra charge.

Rooms at the resort are not-at-all fancy but are clean, inviting, quiet and comfortable. They are neither spacious nor cramped. Our rooms were ideally laid out for families with children, and included an additional bunkbed in a separate alcove with a heavy curtain. In front of the dining hall and the bar (i.e. in the prime location), there is a large and relatively shallow unheated pool (that we called "the tanning pool") surrounded by chaise loungers; most of the bathers who brave its chilly water are kids. A few yards away, the large lap pool is heated and is popular with both adults and kids. Although we never got around to using it (it was a bit remote), the "adult only" pool area is beautiful and offers a multitude of chaise loungers as well as a hot tub. The gym is clean with wall-to-wall windows and has a fairly good assortment of free weights and machines as well as treadmills, ellipticals and exercise bikes. The new dance studio is spacious and comfortable.

For the kids, Club Med is run like a high-end day camp. Teens and tweens have special programming starting daily at 10 a.m. that is organized through their own clubhouse, called "Latiude 27"; they are free to join in or just hang out together, as they please. Younger kids participate by specific age group in Mini Club Med starting at 9 a.m. daily, and may be "signed in" and "signed out" by a parent at any time. Kids activities include Zumba, swimming/pool, sailing, tennis and "circus school (juggling, tumbling, climbing, balancing, etc.). Supervision for the kids is included at lunch and dinnertime. A "family activity" (i.e. parents join in) is organized every afternoon, and may include hoola hooping, a slip-n-slide, water balloon toss, etc.

Our family of 4 kids has just returned from our second 1-week (school winter vacation) visit to Sandpiper. Once again, we were simply blown away by the friendly and hardworking staff who all give 110% effort to ensure that the guests are enjoying themselves. At the start of our first visit, my wife and I were a bit anxious about leaving our 5- and 6-year-old kids at Mini Club Med every morning. After "spying" on them intermittently for the first few days, our concerns were completely allayed by the responsible, fun, energetic, warm and caring G.O.s. We were no less impressed this year. All four of our kids had an absolute blast and - quite frankly - my wife and I were a bit jealous of the attention and encouragement they received!

One of the biggest surprises was the nightly shows put on by the G.O.s, often enlisting the kids to perform with them in some small but meaningful way. We continue to be amazed by the energy of the G.O.s who - after taking care of our kids all day - would prep them for their parts in the show and then perform with them every evening. The G.O.s all won our respect, admiration and gratitude. We were all disappointed when - at the end of our stay - they refused to come live with us up North!

At practically every mealtime during our stay, the Chef du Village David Meyer, greeted the guests at the door of the dining hall. Always asking us if we needed anything, we could only come up with compliments for him and his staff. Nikos and Saf, the Maitres d' always helped us reserve a large table for our extended family. The hardworking dining room staff did a remarkable job of politely and pleasantly handling a mob of hungry guests. Somehow, Rob and the rest of the bartending staff always managed to smile through the booming music and whip up perfect cocktails.

For the second year in a row, Karlyn, the assistant director of Mini Club Med, won our hearts with her perfect combination of maturity, creativity and fun-loving youthful energy. Paige, Ousman, Russell and Ted never failed to keep our youngest kids safe, engaged and in good spirits. Ethan and Hunter magically kept the tweens and teens in a positive mood. Lance, the village entertainer, regularly had us in stitches with his hilarious costumes and zany antics. Fernando, the Zumba teacher, show producer and "honorary rabbi" blew us away with his superstar talent, skill and stage presence as well as his gentle modesty and warmth. We especially appreciated the very well-attended Friday night candle-lighting, Kiddush and motzi that Fernando and David organized in the dining room.

Returning home from a week at Club Med can be a real shock. After having so much at our disposal without having to lift a finger or even plan anything, we are slowly readjusting to "the real world". We will definitely always look back fondly at our stays in Sandpiper and heartily recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: If you have little kids who nap, keep in mind that rooms close to the "beach" may be affec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCDDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Lucie
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
647 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
#11 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
161 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lucie, West
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lu...
#4 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
#5 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
340 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#7 of 11 in Stuart
175 reviews
6.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-6125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range: $278 - $896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing