We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, much better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

On first blush, the rooms were not as fancy as I expected, which gets you off to a slow start. But if you have kids under the age of 13, this place is IDEAL. The food was far better than expected, fresh, tasty, and always available - far better than what's given to you on a Royal Caribbean cruise. Beer, wine and drinks were always available and plentiful. The staff was young, caring, courteous and fun. The shows, while nothing fancy, were great fun and different every night. The kid camps were great and the counselors were outstanding. Golf course was OK, tennis outstanding. Hobie Cats and paddle boards everywhere. Great time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,989 - 1,995 of 4,360 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just got back from Club Med Sandpiper with my whole family of 15. Our family ranges in ages from 2 to 70 and there was plenty for all of us to do. The resort does a great job of keeping the kids occupied with hourly events ranging from flag football to tie dye shirt making. We weren't sure if the river was going to be open but were pleasantly surprised to find it open and all the activities associated with it in full swing including the paddle boards and sailboats. The waterfront director James was typically there with a smile and some encouragement for the kids to learn something new.

My daughter who is usually not one to try new things actually climbed up to the trapeze platform learned to do a trick and got a small medal for completing an advanced trick. She also tackled the paddle board after some coaxing . My young nephews (2-6 years old) were also kept very busy taking part in the various kids events.

The facilities are a bit dated and could certainly use some renovations including the main bar called Slice. The couches and seating are pretty beat up and some would not make the cut at my old fraternity house but the staff more than makes up for this shortcoming. Specifically, Cyndi, one of the supervisors at the restaurant was very helpful putting together some lunches for us to take offsite. Jeff E. one of the lifeguard GO's who seemed to be everywhere was great with the kids by the pool and even ended up helping out with a late night poker tournament. Brian and the staff at the trapeze did an amazing job with my daughter who can always use the ego boost and even got my butt on the trapeze.

The food is really outstanding and if you can't find something you like to eat than you didn't spend enough time looking around. Whether you are a vegetarian, pescatarian or other they have something for everyone.

Some of the less desirable aspects included checking in where there was only one guy with a golf cart to help all of us get all sorted out with our luggage. The shows are geared toward kids but don't start before 8:30 which was too late for the little ones. A couple of the shows featuring some of the GO's were a bit strange but offered something different to the trip. Most of the shows involved extensive dancing but would have been nice to get some variety (comedian, variety show, magician) If you plan on leaving Club Med for any reason expect to pay a fortune in cab fare. We took a trip to Stuart to go deep sea fishing and the 20 minute trip there and back cost $85. A rental car would have cost a lot less. In addition, the closest airport is nearly 1 hour away which eat into quite a bit of our vacation because we had to leave 3 hours before our flight in order to make it to the airport on time.

Overall it was a great trip and the staff could not have been better. I have no idea how they are able to work 6 days a week for 16 hours a day but they really seem to enjoy their work and it shows. If you are a golfer or an avid tennis player you will like it even more.

Room Tip: We stayed in the F building closest to the marina which is the farthest from the action but everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max-Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful Thanksgiving week-All water sports were available and
the rooms ,food and staff exceeded our expectations.
Jeff (life guard ,James from waterfront ,Andrade from sports, Chris from waterfront and
Niccos from the restaurant ALL were excellent and made us feel welcomed from
the first day to the last.
This is a great family oriented facility and a very good value for the price.

Al, Myrna and family

Room Tip: Buildings E and F closest to children's activities and easy access to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Reading many reviews of this place, we had some concerns. The vacation exceeded out expectations.

Rooms are large (we were in building C with a bay view) great view (costs a bit more) the rooms are clean but the decor very basic. In Club Med you only sleep in the rooms so no worries there.

Food and Alcohol was great. High Quality buffet, different food for lunch and dinner every day. There is also a coffee shop style restaurant if you want a sandwich between meals.

The GO's (staff) were great from the checkin through the entire vacation

The bar was very nice and we unwound there every night (some joined the party but you can also sit outside)

Premium Alcohol is not expensive.

The highlights are the activities. All day sport programs. Great Tennis my wife and friends did, the beach and water sports were open - we had days with 21 mph winds such were great for sailing. I spent hours a day with my 16 year old son sailing the hobbie cats (no experience needed) plenty of stand up paddle boarding

Gym, Yoga, Pilates ... All great


The circus trapeze was great. Our kids (18 and 16 and 12) loved it

Adult pool and Jaccuzi with drinks was also a highlight

I have it 4 stars only because the rooms are a bit basic and all the food is buffet (gets a little boring)

If u come with an open mind, not expecting a ritz and ready for sports and fun with no hassle, great place

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Yaron1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Pros-
- very relaxing and laid back
- so many activities (golf, tennis, and fitness classes plus trapeze)
- lots of great food and drink options
- family rooms are very functional
- friendly, accommodating staff
- great for kids, especially under 10
- golf and tennis academies for serious junior players
- beautiful grounds/pool areas

Cons
- lake had sewage smell (would not swim in it)
- slice bar smelled like a frat house "the day after"
- always understaffed at Soleil restaurant - so if you miss the buffet times, getting food is a challenge (but food at buffet is better, so better to time things to eat there)
- our AC unit sounded like a freight train


Overall, a nice place to unwind - highly recommended for a family vacation if your family is into tennis or golf.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank MD_Girl_in_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We returned a few days ago from an extended weekend stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. It was our second visit this year and I imagine we will go back again soon.
First off, I must commend the amazing circus staff. Billy runs a fantastic program that had my kids enthused about the circus arts the entire time we were there. They were involved in the kids' circus show and chose to rehearse over going to the pool or participating in any of the other activities. Brian is nothing short of amazing! He taught me new tricks on the trapeze, pushed my kids to do crazy circus acts, and even got my 4-year-old to swing on the trapeze. Hannah is a rock star. She worked so hard to keep everyone safe. Ben performed with my daughter and is insanely strong and talented. Jacob, Kimmie, Ellison, Osmann, Christian (I know I'm forgetting someone and I apologize): my kids and I will never forget how you all went above and beyond to make our vacation so memorable! My kids can't stop talking about their experience. I can honestly say it was life-changing!
The food at the resort is excellent! We all ate so well that if we had been there any longer, we would have rolled home. Even the kids found good, healthy choices for every meal. Be sure to try the chocolate bread. It is delicious!
Now, onto the less than perfect part of the resort: the rooms. I know they were recently renovated but Club Med should fire their contractor! The bathtub was chipped, our sink leaked, the shower was moldy and the pressure felt like a rain of bullets, the bed was hard with a torn mattress pad, and the screen door was ripped and wouldn't slide. It's a shame because, if the weather hadn't been so beautiful and we had been stuck in the room, our vacation would have been so much worse. I think Club Med needs to consider another renovation!
In all, it was a fantastic escape from our day-to-day lives. I cannot say enough about the staff. They are the reason we will most certainly go back. I would see them at breakfast at 7 AM and they would still be working late into the night. Thank you all for creating such an amazing experience!

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank MassTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I found there to be nothing outstanding about this resort. Nothing was terrible, but nothing was great. The food was good. We ate at both restaurants. Our first meal was at Soleil for lunch I ordered a Salad and a Sandwich and my salad never arrived. So, our first impression was not great. Meals at The Marketplace were good. Not outstanding, but good. The Adults only dining room was lovely, and getting a whole bottle of wine was nice - though the red wine was COLD since it was in a refrigerator. We went to the fitness center and one of the two treadmills was out of service. We went to the adults only pool and that was nice. The weather wasn't great, but we still managed to sit by the pool. Our room was again, just fine. OH - the smell in Slice Bar was terrible. I could not even be in there for any more time than it took to order a drink. All in all, I really cannot see myself returning to this resort with my family or for a "girls only" weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMF779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Saint Lucie hotels
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
656 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
#11 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
164 reviews
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
#5 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Port St. Lucie
Best Western Port St. Lucie
#6 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
356 reviews
8.2 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#9 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
104 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village / Port St. Lucie
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village...
#2 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-6125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range: $271 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing