We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our second vacation here. It is excellent for families and anyone that likes a very physical vacation. Basically everyone gets to do their own thing so everyone is happy. My thing is fitness and that's why we originally chose this resort. The highlights of my vacation were the Zumba classes with Fernando. Amazing workout, totally fun, just wish it was full hour. Tina had a great cardio class and Jake has a very solid pilates class. Michelle is a very professional and experienced yoga instructor (really enjoyed her am and pm classes!) and also a very entertaining performer. My biggest complaint with all the fitness classes is that, with the exception of yoga which was always a full hour, they are all 30-40 minutes long, and they start on the hour. It's not long enough for a good workout, and anyone staying for more than one class is standing around wasting 15-20 minutes between each class. Doesn't make sense and is very frustrating for anyone who wants a great workout and is doing more than one class. They also need to put someone in charge of cleaning the exercise mats...totally gross! Bring your own if you can! Still loved it and totally appreciated all the nice instructors. (I never did the aqua aerobics class so I can't comment on that one.)

Sailing and paddle boarding are great activities that just about everyone can enjoy. I love that my kids feel confident sailing now because they went out every day. My husband played golf and tennis every day then went to the gym, and we would meet up for lunch and dinner. If nothing else, not having to prepare or clean up after meals is a vacation in itself!
Our rooms were remodeled since our last visit and they were very nice and super clean. I was worried that once remodeled they would all be smaller but they still have more than adequate space, at least the ones we had. I love not being squished into a small room!!!
This is not a good place to come if you don't have children or grandchildren with you. However, there are still plenty of places to sit outside and have relative peace and quiet - the covered gazebos along the waterfront and the adult pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Jenifer R,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are so excited to hear that you took full advantage of our fitness classes, as well as, enjoyed our water sports and accommodations. Once again, thank you for this great review and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,098 - 2,104 of 4,272 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Not usually a fan of the all-inclusive resorts situation, I was very pleasantly surprised. I expected to find a loud, cheesy place with mediocre food and found something quite different! Went for a few days with 3 generations of extended family including kids ages 1 to 11 years, and we all felt SO taken care of and relaxed! Everyone had am amazing time. While the grounds were generally peaceful and had a serene set-up, there were fun activities galore for every age and taste. Kids did art, the flying trapeze, played tenns on a mini-court, hung out with us at the bar and danced, and went to entertaining shows in the evening. The staff with the kids' camps were awesome: friendly, full of energy, kind, and engaging. We middle aged parents tried paddle boarding, conditioning classes, and yoga. The dads took the kids out on a hobie cat. Pleased with the quality of class instruction. Grandparents were happy with the nearby golf and the spa. Got a transformative massage at the spa..total bliss. The hotel room was spacious and a great set- up for family of four. Necessities provided for our infant were convenient. They supply baby food jars near the daycare. One suggestion: Baby yogurt (whole milk) would've been great since it's often a baby staple and doesn't travel well. (They supplied low-fat yogurt...no biggie for a few days) Used the daycare a little for my baby girl but actually found the pajama club (evening babysitting for a separate fee) to actually be more what we needed so we could dine with the rest of the family without the supreme meltdown at 6:30. The food, by the way, was very good. Impressively so for a buffet, with fresh ingredients, lots of variety including different ethnic foods, fresh seafood dishes, food purees for babies, kid foods, delicious baked goods. One important thing lacking.... whole family was dying for a halfway decent cup of coffee or latte the whole time. With a resort full of sleep deprived parents, that was the one thing that would've really been nice.
Overall, great staff, great accommodations, all had a fabulous time, and all this despite
unbelievably cold weather in March. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllisonB997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear AllisonB997,
Thank you for the review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed our kid's club, accommodations and service. We will be passing your kind words on to our staff. Once again, thank you for the great review and we hope you stay with us again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The club med vacation is like McDonald's, or, if you want to be more generous, the Cheesecake Factory. They have a formula that works and is finely tuned. There is something for everyone.
It is based on group activities like a summer camp, rather than accommodating individual desires.
I had an experience which demonstrated poor customer relations. After I arrived, I wanted to leave one day earlier than what I previously booked. There was no manager or person on the premises who was empowered to discuss my request to reschedule. I was referred to the 800 number for the call center in Arizona. I spoke to a phone bank person who could only repeat the company policy, and was not able to respond to my request to reschedule one night stay at a later date. In fact, I offered to pay for extra days in order to make it more profitable for Club Med to accommodate my request. Unlike most hotels and resorts, there is absolutely no flexibility in changing the schedule of your visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllisG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just got home and it was great. Very pricey due to it being spring break but my son actually cried when we drove out of the resort parking lot. The Kidz Club is awesome, the nightly shows are great, and I honestly gained 5 pounds from the gourmet meals. The service is excellent, and they are there to please. It was busy but they made you feel as if you were of top priority and there was a lot of lounge chairs for everyone. The GO team is 1 of a kind! My son is still singing "we are the sharks..."

There is a real work out gym, daily water aerobics, zumba, etc. and totally great drinks. Literally you pick out a bottle of wine from the wine cooler!

Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJJ314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear CJJ314,
Thank you for the review of our resort! We're glad you enjoyed our kid's club, dining options, entertainment, fitness programs, and service. Once again, thanks for the great review and we truly hope to see you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

After visiting Disney for a week we wanted a week relaxing in Sandpiper. We have three kids 9,7 & 4 and we had never been to Club Med as a family before. I have been to Club Med many times but skiing in Europe but not with kids. Firstly there are some big differences, Sandpiper do not have big tables in the dinning room like in Europe you sit with your family and thats it, previous experiences were you all join other tables. Secondly they reserve tables for parties of 7 or more, again very different to my previous experiences from Europe where they would never reserve a table. I'm not saying that the differences are better or worse they just are and seem different to the ethos of Club Med's previously visited. The first night I noticed that I was cueing for everything at the buffet but I then realised that the chef's are continually cooking small portions so that the food never gets cold, nearly every plate of food was delicious, hot and fresh. That is quiet a feat when you consider the amount of variety on offer and the amount of people they have to serve. Finally on dinning the Americans like to eat early, breakfast is 7-10 and by 9 the buffet is empty, lunch is from 12 and people cue to get in and dinner is empty from 8. We just timed our day to eat slightly later and try and sit outside, it's lovely. Far more importantly are the facilities, they are excellent. The kids had a ball, our kids have never done an hour before in any kids club, here the eldest rushed his breakfast as he wanted to do trapeze at 9.30. The 7 year old didn't want lunch with us and preferred to stay in the club. The 4 year old was slightly different and by lunch was ready to come out but she still did trapeze and other activities. This allowed us a couple of hours at the adult only pool most days, absolute bouns! As with all Club Med's it's about the staff and the kids just loved them, I think it's the highest compliment that can be paid. I know the rooms have recently been renovated and the are functional and bright, though the air con was extremely loud. We stayed in connecting rooms, 818 & 819, and just got lucky, it's quiet, we were on the ground floor and over looked our own small beach, the kids loved it. My one criticism would be that as the weather was not hot the only 2 pools that were heated were the lap pool and adult pool. The lap pool doesn't really have a swallow end so my 4 year old could not stand even though she can swim. The main pool is lovely and is graduated at both ends and ideal for kids playing, why is this pool not heated. A small point but overall had an excellent time and will visit again.

Room Tip: 818 & 819 are connecting rooms on the ground floor away from the main buildings over looking a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We brought our 12 yr old soon to be 13 year old. He loved it! The people we met who had children were really enjoying the club activities for kids. He hung out with the group everyday. Ethan is a great G.O. There is plenty of food options during dining hours. It is run like a cafeteria. The grounds are well maintained. The tennis instruction is unbelievable good. Even for just guests not doing the academy but regular lessons. Hard to find anyone in a remodeled room so those were ok.. Yoga exceptional as well. I would recommend renting a car from airport..then you can get out and get snacks and stuff for your room. They really don't provide any snacks and only water bottles in your room.. Parking is free onside. Will definitely try club med again maybe new location although my son wants to come back here! They do have an adult pool with limited and not regular drink service. It would have been nice to have that be more consistent and have a snacks there too.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank policymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear policymom,
Thank you for taking the time to review Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We are pleased to hear that your son enjoyed all the kids activities that our resort has to offer. Once again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Club Med Sandpiper, and our family once again had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The highlights of the trip were once again staff related- The GOs are the glue holding this club together.
The facility itself, is in need of a more closely managed eye - (broken hot water pipes,(3 days of cold showers) missing screen doors,( too beautiful out not not be able to open your balcony without concern for uninvited guests!!) But...the pool area is always clean, and for the most part beach towels were plentifully available, and the common areas looked clean and comfortable.
Checkin - while handled by Ashley as well as was possible, due to sold out status should be streamlined so that requested rooms are reserved, and guests are sent texts when their room is ready for occupancy, so you don't have to keep checking back with reception. The front desk staff did thoughfully have dining stay open past the 2:00 lunchtime to accommodate arriving guests whose rooms were not available.
The food is always varied, the buffets kept well replenished, and the unfortunately overcrowded seating areas are quickly cleared. The staff is doing a great job in trying to keep up with an oversold and understaffed property ( at least during our Spring Break visit).
Now, to the hightlights - Jake and Hunter - these GOs who made it their point to meet and know every family on property. They went out of their way to keep the teenagers feeling comfortable, engaged and active during their vacation. Without their terrific personalities, we would have left our vacation having had a far less enjoyable experience - they alone ensured a return visit by our family!
The circus team was also terrific both on and off of the trapeze - and should be commended for their tireless patience, superior skill, and endless enthusiasm.
As a repeat guest, I would offer a major suggestion - the outdoor live music is one of the highlights of the day -(it is one of the few mostly adult attended gatherings- outside of Slice) yet it is only performed right at the start of dinner - so if you choose to stay and enjoy the music, your dinner is VERY rushed, and you are unable to make it to the evening show. After the show - the ONLY bar on property becomes the "nightclub" - which is great in the early part of the night for families to spend together, but after a certain time of night (10:00??) the atmosphere quickly declines- and there are VERY few adults left - and no where else to go but to your room.
A second,all adult bar would be a hugely appreciated addition to a terrific vacation destination.
We look forward to returning again - next year!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikespike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Lucie
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
641 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
#11 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
160 reviews
6.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stuart
Quality Inn Stuart
#7 of 11 in Stuart
175 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lucie, West
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lu...
#3 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
445 reviews
6.9 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-6125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range: $281 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing