We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Trip Never Fails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
East Hanover
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Family Trip Never Fails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

When you settle into bed every night of your vacation and say to yourself, "we had a great day today" you know it's a good vacation. This is our 6th time back to Club Med Sandpiper Bay (CLSB). The first 2 times was before we had kids. My husband and I love to play golf and tennis. So this was a perfect all-inclusive resort, plus there is an adult only pool. Once we had kids and we needed child care in order to play golf this was a no brainier. Drop off kids by 9 am, then 18 holes of golf, maybe some tennis, spa, and then adult alone time to read or relax by the pool. But if you prefer not to be away from your kids all day long you can spend as much or as little time with them as you prefer and there are plenty of activities offered for the whole family. We first returned when my now 6 year old was just under a year old. So we've experienced all levels of Club Med child care. I can honestly say my kids have always been happy and well cared for. Now that they are 3 & 6 have a total blast at Mini Club Med to the point that they complain if we pick them up too early in the day. There's pool time, arts and crafts, water sports, circus school, dance class, sports and more. The GOs in Flamingo and Shark are all excellent, but my kids especially loved Patrick, Camille, Jessi, Luna, Amanda, Leoni, Chris and Norma. Kel in Petite Sports was especially good to my girls. Mini Club Med now closes on Wednesdays which a great excuse to have a full day of family time. There's still no shortage of activities for the whole family on those days.

The food is terrific especially for mass produced buffet style. For those who have never been to Club Med it is known for a selection of home made breads at every meal. I suspect CLSB has better food than most Club Meds as they have access to quality ingredients at a more reasonable price than the islands. But for those who don't have an adventurous appetite there is always a selection of pasta, burgers, hot dogs and pizza.

The rooms have been renovated and the new beds are much more comfortable than the old ones. We now choose a room with a King size bed and a partitioned area for bunk beds which my girls love. My only complaint is there isn't much space for a family of 4 to store clothing, but it just forces me to pack less every time we return. Also the old rooms had a bunch of hooks on the wall next to the closets which were great for hanging wet clothing or extra wet towels. The new rooms no longer have these hooks and I wish they'd put them back.

There's 5 pools including an adult-only pool and two kiddie pools (one with mini splash park). The bigger pools can be a bit cold, but tolerable once in them. CMSB is known for fitness as there are classes offered throughout the day and a new beautiful fitness center. But there are also plenty of places to lounge about and be lazy if that's your thing too. The gold course is good, not great. The new tennis facility is awesome. There are complementary tennis and golf lessons for all levels and the instructors are top notch.

Every night there's some form of entertainment, usually geared towards the kids and a couple of times my kids were included in performing the show which was very col for them. We slept very well not only from comfortable beds, but also from fun-filled days. We will definitely be returning to CMSB!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black-EyedFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Black-EyedFlamingo,
Thank you for telling us all about your experiences at CMSB! It is wonderful to hear that your children enjoyed the childcare so much that they didn’t want to leave, especially since it meant you and your husband were able to spend some quality time together. We are thrilled that you also loved our food and our renovations. We can’t wait to have you back for a seventh time!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    1,178
    403
    209
    162
See reviews for
2,548
452
69
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

this place exceeded our expections. We went with our 12 year old granddaughter, E, and her 7 year old brother, G. Both enjoyed their separate camp programs. Our room was renovated, simply furnished and very functional for the four of us. It had an alcove with a walk-in closet area that provided some privacy when dressing. We had a beautiful view of the river from our room. The entire property was well maintained. We had made air and transfer plans with club med. Everything was perfectly coordinated for minimal wasted time. The food was a massive buffet with varied offerrings. The food was being prepared continuously so things were hot and fresh. This was not gourmet cuisine but it was very good food.The dining rooms were crowded and active places. There is a small separate dining room for adults eating without children. I had some specific food requests which were handled quickly and easily. We will be returning to this resort.

Room Tip: the property is large. If you ask to be near the dining room or the camp area, it will probably be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forevertraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear forevertraveljunkies,
Thank you for telling us all about your wonderful stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay! It is excellent to hear that your grandchildren had an entertaining experience and that you were satisfied with our delicious food. It is our goal to provide an unforgettable vacation for guests of all ages, and we are thrilled that we succeeded. We hope you will all be back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Sandpiper was awesome for my kids, but there was nothing for the adults. If we wanted a cocktail, there was no premium liquor - I couldn't have a grey goose martini and the bourbon selection was terrible. We were willing to pay more but there was nothing. Ixtapa Club Med offers everything in that way. There was no where for just the adults to have one romantic dinner - the main restaurant was attached to the "other restaurant" so there was really no option. I felt like this was a club for just kids and there was absolutely no pampering for the adults. Don't get me wrong, the kids had a total blast and were in every show. But, why do the adults have to feel like they are in the mini club? It's just not romantic and there is no charm to this club at all. The highlight was Brittney in the mini club who was the most amazing GO. She was happy, caring, always had a smile and one of the best! and a GE Patrick Kovacs who was super fun and you can tell that he really cared about my kids. We won't go back, but will head to Mexico - even though Club Med can be bare bones, at least Mexico has charm with chips and Gaucomole! And an in - house photographer. No one at Sandpiper would pay the extra charge for this service. The Chief of the Village was the best ever! Loved him. Cancun here we come!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the A building or B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosenbergLosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear rosenbergLosangeles,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. Please know that we appreciate your insights, and we are addressing your concerns immediately so we can improve.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vision
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just returned from our weeks vacation at Sandpiper and it was by far the best vacation we have ever had. Our 16 and 11 year old daughters had the time of their life. Even though they are both a bit shy - some how they met so many other children their age; often meeting up for basketball, volleyball, sailing, lunch, or just cold NA drinks at Slice. My husband and I recieved lessons for and played golf and tennis every day. From the moment we arrived to the time we said goodbye - everything was perfect. The GOs knew us by name - the chefs new how you liked our eggs- it felt half full even though they were at full capacity.... Sandpiper is a perfectly balanced resort for families. Families that like to be active but also like to get lost in a book and sit quietly by the water will get the best of both worlds here. Book your reservation now - you won't regret it for a minute.

Room Tip: We stayed in building A - perfectly located - corner unit - third floor so it was quiet. No complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Melinda M,
Thank you for the kind words! We are thrilled that we could be a part of the best vacation your family has had! It is great that you took advantage of our various activities, such as golf and tennis, and that you loved our wonderful staff. We hope to see you again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Our group of 12, from one year old to 65 year old had our best family vacation ever. There was something for everyone all the time. Lionel, the chef de village, runs a friendly, carefree resort that cares only about the guests of all ages. Go to their website, read it and all the hype is true. On a river with a beach that was terrific for the little ones, there were also four pools including a quiet adults only pool. The food was varied, well prepared and fresh and healthful, except perhaps for the addictive, sinful and completely irresistible chocolate breads (white or dark chocolate). Wine and beer in abundance and quite adequate. Hobie cats, wave boards all included. Slice, the bar, open to kids as well, was just plain fun. Lattes, espressos, etc., in all dining areas. We were there during spring school break, it was full and never felt crowded and no lines anywhere. I could go on but all twelve agreed we need to return. Kids activities, trapeze, pick up bball, soccer, golf, it's all there. Rooms are large but simple. Quiet for an afternoon nap even when the kids are noisy outside. Go there.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aginglawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear aginglawyer,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories with us! We strive to create an unforgettable vacation for guests of all ages, and we are thrilled to know that we succeeded. It seems as though you truly took advantage of all our resort has to offer, such as our pools, food, activities and staff. We’re happy to hear that you will be back, and hope that it’s very soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We just returned from the Sandpiper Club Med. The Club's renovation is great. The rooms are much better. The pools and physical plant is modern serving the club's populations more efficiently. The food is greatly improved. Many choices with most food made to order.
One disappointment is the coffee and house wine. It's horrible. It's a surprise since Club Med is French. You can pay for better wine and there's an espresso machine in the bar but hopefully they will upgrade both these items soon.
The tennis and golf academies are wonderful. Watching the young talented players train is great fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lor1st52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Lor1st52,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences with us! We worked hard to renovate our already beautiful resort and we’re glad that you took notice. We’re also excited to know that you enjoyed our delicious food and our tennis and golf academies. We can’t wait to have you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Although Heather Golnick is no longer directing the Triathlon Training Camp at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, the new head of the triathlon camp, Tommy Allore, was excellent. I signed up for a three-day triathlon camp as part of my week-long vacation at Club Med Sandipiper Bay, which I spent with my family. The camp is very flexible, and for the $210/day cost, you get about 3 - 3.5 hours of private training each day, personalized to your level and needs. Here is a snapshot of my 3-day training camp (which was actually spread out over 4 days to accommodate scheduling needs):

Day 1:
- Morning: 2 hour workout in the swimming pool with video-taping of stroke mechanics and evaluation

Day 2:
- Morning: 1.5 hour open-water swim starting from the Club Med beach
- Afternoon: 1 hour run-interval workout with evaluation of run mechanics (5 miles); 30 minutes of strength training and conditioning exercises in the fitness center

Day 3:
- Morning: 1.5 hour bike ride from Club Med to Jensen Beach and back
- Afternoon: 1 hour of review, mental preparation and visualization exercises

Day 4:
- Morning: 3 hour mock Olympic Triathlon (1500 m open-water swim, 25 mile bike, 6.2 mile run); I recorded my personal best of 2 hours 36 minutes (thanks Tommy!)

Tommy provided detailed and excellent evaluations during each training session, especially the swim. He took detailed notes during my swim-stroke evaluation and e-mailed them to me. All the distance workouts were recorded on his GPS and downloaded to websites that he e-mailed to me.

Initially, I was a bit wary of the $210/day cost, but after doing the camp, I felt it was definitely worth the money and would highly recommend this triathlon camp to any triathlete looking for an opportunity to train while staying at Club Med Sandpiper Bay. Tommy was great, and he shared some valuable insights as an elite triathlete that I think will really improve my conditioning and performance. As a bonus, the food and accommodations at this Club Med are excellent! I thoroughly enjoyed the triathlon camp and my entire vacation (as did my family).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Cliff H,
Thank you for sharing your unique experience with us! We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed our triathlon training, as well as our food and accommodations. We hope that you’ll be back to train with our wonderful staff and hopefully reach a new personal record!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Lucie
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village / Port St. Lucie
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village...
#2 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
6.9 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
Residence Inn Port St. Lucie
#5 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port St. Lucie
BEST WESTERN Port St. Lucie
#6 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port St. Lucie West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#8 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Property: Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-6125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing