We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for families with young children”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We took our 6-month-old here for our first family vacation and had such a relaxing and memorable vacation. Our expectations were quite low going into it as we didn't know how the baby would respond. He did very well. He slept well in the provided pack & play in the second bedroom of our hotel room, he seemed to enjoy sitting in the high chair and trying some of the baby food they had available (plus fresh fruit from the buffet every day). Also, there are so many nice shady places to sit and nap, like cabanas and big loungers with shades you can draw shut.

We didn't take advantage of the daycare services, but we did try out the baby gym, which was fun. We also didn't go to any of the shows.

The meals were fairly good, though they don't compare to the all-inclusives or cruises we've taken abroad. The main dining room is buffet only, and with lots of kids running around, it doesn't lend itself to a quiet, romantic meal. Then again, we weren't looking for that. But if we didn't have a baby with us, I'm not sure how excited I would be about that dining arrangement. We also tried the a la carte service ... the view was spectacular, but the food and service were just OK. They always had the same items, mostly snacks. The best thing was the black olive tapenade (YUM!). Once I tried to order multiple items and the server kind of gave me attitude and said, "You know that's a lot of food, right?" Again, that kind of thing would never happen on a cruise or all inclusive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originalcynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear originalcynthia,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We’re pleased to hear that you were able to have a relaxing and memorable vacation with your 6-month-old. We apologize for your encounter with the waitstaff and will ensure it doesn’t happen again. We hope to have you back for another Club Med vacation in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,991
    1,245
    431
    217
    172
See reviews for
2,724
479
83
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We visited in June 2011. Some of the rooms in the A building had been renovated and we stayed in the "new" rooms.
My wife, her elderly mom, and our 10-year old son enjoyed individual and shared activities. Yoga, tennis, trapeze, sailing, dancing, and of course lots of pool time in Florida in the summer.
The staff is what makes this place special. Laura and Travis were terrific with the kids; Wren (from Oxnard) at the trapeze was delightful; Ana brought so much fun to the sailing and the dancing; John, Mark, and Fiora in the reception area were helpful and warm. Whenever we had a question, we just stopped one of the staff wherever we were on the property and they responded as if they were waiting for our question.
The food is excellent. At first I was concerned about huge crowds in the dining room but it never felt that way; probably because there were so many choices and people came at different times within the various windows (like the three-hour window for breakfast). The dark chocolate bread was amazing. I had to eat some every day for the anti-oxidants.
There were many multi-general families there- like ours. Many of whom had come many times. If you have kids who like activities this is a great choice. (If you want elegant rooms and special TVs, it's not.)
Be aware that this place is not set up for business. The phone in the room did not dial outside the resort, even after I received a dial code that should have allowed that. And the internet access was not always instant. But who cares, we're on vacation, right?
We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear AndrewCinPhilly,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We’re happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the staff, resort activities, and delicious food. We hope to have you all back for another fun, family vacation and, of course, some chocolate bread!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We took our family vacation this summer and visited Club Med Sand Piper in Florida.
We had been there before, but our kids were too young and didn't remember much.
Now they're 19, 17 & 12, they took advantage in the vast activities they offer and could appreciate the club much more.
We loved what they did to the club, it's beautiful, the rooms are large, there are endless activities for young children and teenagers, the food is good and the staff is very friendly.
We can't wait to go back and I highly, highly recommend Club Med Sand Piper in Port St. Lucie..the only all inclusive resort in all of the U.S.A.
Fly in to West Palm Beach airport, 45 mins drive to the club or Ft. Lauderdale, less then two hours...

Room Tip: We loved building F, though building E is another great choice. These buildings are close to both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear sparkyme,

Thank you for writing this fantastic review of the resort! We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed our new renovations, delicious food, and friendly staff! Thank you for recommending us! We hope to have you and your family back for another fun vacation.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I took my two kids to sandpiper bay and had the best time ever!!! I am so pleased with everything they did for us! Lionel, the chief of the village, was so friendly and kind. Silly and Billy were two of our favorites! They had dinner with us a couple nights, and were so friendly and sweet! Jessica, my daughters gecko teacher, was so great with the kids! My daughter clang to her crying when we had to leave! And Justine behind the bar went to the store for me to get my choice of drink, and I didn't even ask! The staff is AMAZING!!! You don't even have to open a door.. they are right on top of it all! Well worth the money spent! :)

Room Tip: Ask for the A building! It's newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ablairp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear ablairp,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We’re happy to see you all had a great time with the staff here at the resort. We will pass along your kind words about them. We hope to have everybody back for another vacation soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

As an expert business traveler, I was overwhelmed by the incredible reception we received upon our arrival! Our family of 9 was picked up by a super-stretch Hummer limo upon arrival at the airport (which was a pleasant surprise considering we were expecting a van or mini-bus of some sort), and an overwhelming reception as we pulled into the resort! There were a number of staff members to greet us and welcomed each of us to the resort, launching what would be a week's worth of outstanding customer service. We felt like royalty all week long! Starting with the reception, we were thoroughly impressed with the concierge service, front desk staff, greeters, and all who welcomed us! The rooms were really outdated and not terribly comfortable, but to their credit, Club Med is in the process of doing a complete makeover of the rooms. Three buildings are complete, and the remaining buildings are preparing to undergo their much needed face lift in the coming months. Truthfully, there are so many great activities, you literally do not spend much time in your rooms, except to sleep and shower, so they were acceptable for that purpose. The activities were amazing! There is always something going on from morning until late at night, and the staff is incredibly hospitable and entertaining. Although we were quite skeptical of dropping our small children off at the Kid's Club prior to our arrival, the staff was so great, they quickly eased our minds, and became like family to our kids. Our youngest loved the kids activities so much, he cried when we left to go home! They took great care of our children, and Larissa (one of the caretakers) was particularly wonderful! There are literally activities for every age from small child to senior citizen, and my family fell in love with the trapeze! Again, my youngest child (4 years old) fell in love with the aerial acrobats, and surprised us greatly with his passion! But, credit goes specifically to the incredible trapeze team - Matt-Matt, Ashley, Patrick, Ren, Carolina, and all who helped him feel like a celebrity! We all fell in love with them and their talent! They are a true asset to Club Med, and have more talent than most anyone we know! They were not only exceptional instructors, but also entertainers! They put on an incredible "cirque du soleil" style show one night, highlighting their acrobatic feats, and they were so awesome! We couldn't stop watching in amazement that such a high quality production could be done at a resort! It was incredible and probably the most-memorable experience we had!!!! We also thoroughly enjoyed Ana and Andrew in sailing! That was a great experience, and they were fantastic instructors! Most of the staff moonlight as entertainers and performers during the shows, and are multi-talented and impressive! Some of the other shows were a little corny and not nearly as impressive as their Saturday night show or trapeze (cirque du soleil) show, but they take great effort in involving the children in their performances, which is obviously a difficult task and needs to be age-appropriate. The food was great, but some of the buffet employees were not nearly as friendly as the other staff members. Workers in the Soleil (outside restaurant) were very kind, generous, and wonderful, but inside the restaurant was not always the best experience. Specifically the chefs and behind-the-counter staff could have used a touch of Club Med's magic in customer service. Overall, it was an excellent to very good experience in every area, and we are already making plans to go back next year! The only suggestion I would encourage Club Med to invest in is maybe spraying for insects at night (when everyone's asleep) to help avoid the human buffet. While Florida is obviously prone to insect infestation between heat and humidity, we were nearly eaten alive by the gnats, flies, and other insects swarming us throughout the day. Despite our heavy usage of insect repellent, I think spraying the grass, beach sand, and the trees would be helpful in greatly reducing the bug infestation we experienced that made it unpleasant at times.

Room Tip: Buildings B & C were great! Far from noise but close to activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skpfoundation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear skpfoundation,

Thank you for writing this amazing review of the resort! We’re happy that you felt so at home and were pleased with the Club Med staff. It’s great that your family all found something to keep them entertained during your stay. We appreciate your recommendations for the resort, and have passed them along to management. Come back to see us soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is the sixth Club Med we've visited and enjoyed it tremendously! The newly renovated village is colorful and inviting and the food was great. But most of all, the staff was genuine and professional and made us feel welcome and ensured we had a wonderful time. Lionel, the Chief of the Village was so gracious and personable as was the Assistant Chief Matthew. Our daughter enjoyed the Kids Club where the staff was always personable and ensured the kids were safe and had fun. She especially enjoyed Ren and Ashley at the Circus trapeze who she always looked forward to seeing. It had been several years since we had been back to Club Med and we found this club to be as wonderful and in the true spirit of Club Med as we have known and loved in the past and we would definately visit Club Med Sandpiper Bay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Everything was outstanding - accomodations, food, kid / teen activities, service, spa, bar, pools and every staff member was polite, professional & courteous. After only the first two days, we started our family discussion to visit again next year. Worth every penny and we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klash39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Klash39,

Thank you for this excellent review of the resort! We’re happy to hear that you loved every single thing about your vacation to Sandpiper Bay. We would love to have you back again next year. See you then!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Lucie
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
602 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port St. Lucie West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#8 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
#10 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
150 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village / Port St. Lucie
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village...
#2 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Property: Club Med Sandpiper Bay
Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-6125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and Hotwire so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing