We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I hadn't looked at the tripadvisor reviews before booking this hotel; but having stayed there I expected to find that most of the reviews were poor. That does not appear to be the case.
As in all things you can only comment upon what you personally experience. Just before I start my review let me draw the reader's attention to the fact that most of my previous hotel reviews have been very positive. This is our experience of this hotel.
When we checked in we were allocated a room for the disabled. Neither of us has a disability and would not have requested such a room. It was located at the far end of a ground floor corridor. There was an unpleasant, but not strong, smell wafting in the corridor. The room itself had a dank smell. My wife did not like it at all, I was prepared to tolerate it on the basis that it was for only two nights. Nevertheless I reported our dissatisfaction to the receptionist and all credit to her, she immediately upgraded us to a suite. Whilst this was much better, it, like the rest of the hotel was very tired. The furniture and general state of the room's decoration was 'sad'.
Why would we have been allocated a room for the disabled when other rooms were available? There is no reason for any room, particularly one designated as being for guests with disabilities, to be in such a poor condition.
We had booked breakfast with our room rate. Without going into detail this was also a poor experience mainly due to the attitude of the server.
Overall I was left wondering why the owners of this hotel were allowed to keep the Holiday Inn franchise. It needs a complete renovation including staff training.
We stayed in six different hotels (with either an IHG or Hilton Group franchise) on this trip and this , thankfully, was the only one with which we were not satisfied.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms if you are able to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Nickshare,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your recent stay. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and we are truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. We would however like to apologize for the first room that was allocated to you. However I'm glad to see that you appreciated the service recovery offered. Please allow us to apologize for the inconvenience you may have had due to the services received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and we hope you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

This Holiday Inn suited us well. Located within easy distance of local attractions and shops it was clean, comfortable and had helpful, friendly staff. The pool was handy and pleasant, and when we needed to alter our check-out date the staff were happy to help making our stay problem free. Not a beach holiday location but ideal for those exploring the area by car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainswifeCannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Holiday Inn Review

Let me start by saying that the staff was very good and the room was clean and it was kept clean throughout our five day, four night stay. BUT - the bathroom was a turnoff for me. The water pressure in the sink was minimal, the toilet had to be flushed at least two times to complete the operation (but fortunately no true backup), and the shower/tub took 5-10 minutes to drain after a quick shower. We were given a smoke-free room but the hall reeked of smoke. The desk staff told us that the entire floor was smoke free which led us to believe that they were using vacuums from other floors or, our (sensitive) Arizona based noses was detecting the smell of Florida mildew? After a day or two, our noses became desensitized and we no longer detected as strong an odor. Being there for five days, a mini-refrigerator would have been appreciated. But we got through it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KA7AOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 15 days ago, we were so tired due to hour long hours driving (we went as a family)... the rooms were super clean, everything in excellent conditons...
The breakfast is good, they have few choices, enough for a free breakfast.
The staff was friendly... coming back from our final destination I decided to cancel other's hotel reservation and stay again at this hotel, I felt safe with my family there... very good location I must say...

Room Tip: Book early , you will get better rates than booking 1-2-3 days before....(as in any hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

INITIAL REACTION:
I stayed at this hotel the weekend of October 5-7, 2012 for a pinochle tournament that my sister played in. My initial reaction to the appearance of the hotel was not great because of the previous reviews. The reviews were most accurate in terms of the wear and tear of the hotel and its need for updating. The lobby furnishing is worn beyond repair and should be thrown away. I could not sit on the sofas, so I opted to sit in an old leather covered straight chair. Note to HI: there a a Goodwill donation center right down the street. The manager/owner should be embarassed or maybe, just don't care.

THE ELEVATOR:
Very slow, and one is actually coming from the wall. When we reported it, maintenance had left for the day, but someone tried to repair it later by putting a "bandaid" on it for a temporary fix.

THE ROOM:
The room is very small and cramped with an even smaller bathroom. The chairs and other furnishing need replacing immediately. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. If you want appliances, you must get a "suite"! Ha! Same room, same size, just 1 bed and a nasty sofabed, for an additional $10.00. However, surprisely, the bed was very clean and comfortable, therefore provide a peaceful rest for me. Had it not, that would have been a deal breaker for me.

ICE MACHINE:
Don't expect to get any ice quickly on the 5th floor, as it take a little manuerving to get a bucket. 2nd floor works great!

THE POOL: The pool area is impressive with the waterfall flowing continously, However, if you're not an experienced swimmer, it's (waterfall) no enjoyment to you.

PETS: Not for me. I saw several dogs without crates, that made me uneasy. However, I never heard them barking or running around during my stay. I love dogs...just not in my hotel.

FOOD: Our hotel deal provided 2 FREE breakfast buffets per room, which was wonderful, delicious, and filling. There were a few pastries, but the breakfast was a FULL hot breakfast which was a nice treat. During our stay, we were provided a lovely hot buffet lunch on Saturday which consisted of, roast beef, fried chicken, veggie medley, new potatoes, roll, tea. Since I was enjoying the pool during lunch; my sister fixed a plate for me to enjoy later. I asked one of the many very friendly waitresses in the cafe' to heat in the microwave, which she gladly did. Food was delicious.
But, I don't think that I would have purchase anything from the restaurant had it not been included as the prices were pretty steep. Also, the bar/lounge never opened during my stay.

LOCATION:
Hotel is very convenient to shopping, malls, beach, and restaurant. There is a Beall's and Shop A Lot Grocery just across the street, and Sonny's barbeque next door.

AIR CONDITIONER:
Very loud and old motel model instead of wall, digital thermostats.

SPECIAL KUDOS to the ENTIRE front desk staff, especially Linda & Lisa, 5th floor housekeeping team, and Justino, who helped to get my car started.

Room Tip: 5th floor was very quiet. The ice machine doesn't work properly. Also, there is a microwave on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Deborah H,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I'm particularly appreciative that you have mentioned our comfortable beds. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel over the years many times and the recent renovation is pretty thorough
Very nice accommodating staff. Small bathrooms which is expected for older properties but convenient to many good areas and restaurants.
My only issue is the HOTEL HAS A VERY LIBERAL PET POLICY and that is a problem for me.
I like pets just Dont want them in my Hotel .
I am told there are pet floors 2 and 4 but they usually take the elevator 9I dont get it but i am having to reconsider my options for hotels in the area if the policy continues).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have never been through a hurricane and wanted to get off the island we were on when the storm came. We decided to go to the Holiday Inn, Port St. Lucie. The front desk clerk was amazing, she helped me check in early to get ahead of the storm. As well, she was welcoming and friendly even though I brought tons of luggage and supplies. The following day the manager assisted me with a late check-out due to a tornado warning during regular check-out hours. Great hotel overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Lucie
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
634 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lucie, West
Hampton Inn & Suites Port St. Lu...
#4 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
433 reviews
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port St. Lucie West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#8 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Port St. Lucie
Best Western Port St. Lucie
#7 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
338 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village / Port St. Lucie
Hilton Garden Inn at PGA Village...
#2 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie

Address: 10120 S US Highway 1, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952-5644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range: $96 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, it's Holiday Inn - Port St. Lucie. Welcome to our hotel, conveniently located on US 1, in the heart of the Treasure Coast. We're in close proximity to Hutchinson Island beaches, New York Mets Spring Training, St. Lucie Medical Center, restaurants, shopping at the Treasure Coast Mall, championship golf, water sports, deep-sea fishing, and local businesses in downtown Jensen Beach, Stuart, Palm City and Fort Pierce, which makes us the perfect choice for business or pleasure. The Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie is a full service, Green Lodging Certified and all interior corridor hotel in Port St. Lucie and features Gatwick's Restaurant & Lounge. Whether experiencing breakfast or dinner in our restaurant, a relaxing break in our lounge or dining in the comfort of your own room, you'll find that good taste surrounds you. Flexible function space at the Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie is ideal for business meetings and social events. Our creative and professional meeting and catering staff is available to assist with menu planning, entertainment, decorations and transportation. Relax in our beautiful free form heated pool with grotto waterfall and hot tub or get a workout in our fitness room. Your experience at our hotel begins with a warm greeting from our enthusiastic staff, here to provide you with the high level of service you deserve. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Holiday Inn Port Saint Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing