We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Mexican food, get there early for the early-bird”

Zapata's Border Cafe
Ranked #120 of 339 Restaurants in Port Saint Lucie
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
E. St. Louie
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Okay Mexican food, get there early for the early-bird”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Three couples including us stopped here after a Cardinal-Mets Spring training game.
We all picked from the early menu. $9.99 for an entree and a cup of soup. They also had two for one beers. (The catch to me is that the first draft beer costed $4.99 and the next one was the free one. I think $5 for a 330 ml beer is steep.
Do you?)
We all had a Mexican entree. All served with rice and beans.
The food was okay and to everyone's liking. No complaints from anyone.
We all thought that we have had better bur better was at places like San Diego and Fairmount City Illinois. Epi-centers of Mexican food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EStLouiesmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    18
    6
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local mexican restaurant”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The prices are pretty reasonable and the salsa and chips are good. It's definitely an easier place to bring kids. I second camille49's review. :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PSLLeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Fare at fair prices”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I've never had a bad meal at Zapata's. This local joint has delicious dishes at reasonable prices, a warm atmosphere, and friendly service. Servers bring out chips and salsa as soon as you are seated. Combo specials allow you to try various Mexican standards like enchiladas, tostadas, burritos, etc., and there are always daily specials.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank camille49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce
2 reviews
“Date Night with Hubby”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had taco salad which was amazing! Frozen margaritas were expensive but really good. I had two, next time only one because of the cost.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food Served Cool but Tasty”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Six of us were served and five dishes came out just fine. However my "frihitas " came out cool. No sizzling dish, no smell, not much taste. I sent it back and they offered to re-heat. I said no and ordered a taco. I'll try it again, but with a coupon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank islanderuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zapata's Border Cafe also viewed

 
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 

Been to Zapata's Border Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing