We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but slow!”
Review of The Tin Fish

The Tin Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Description: Wednesday: Trivia Night, begins at 6:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday: Live Music 6-9 p.m. SATURDAY IS $1.00 OYSTERS ALL DAY!!!! Home of the $1.50 Beer Special!!!! ********WE ARE A FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT**********
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good - but slow!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere, good beers on tap but just good when it comes to food. Skip the flatbreads and order the fish and chips. Service was slow. Don't understand how they are rated so high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    116
    22
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great seafood at The Tin Fish”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was on a baseball spring training trip with two friends a couple of weeks ago. We were in Port St. Lucie for two nights. We saw the Tin Fish restaurant advertised at the Mets baseball game. So we wanted a local restaurant and it was very good. The fish was fresh and the staff very friendly. You could order at the counter and they would bring you your dinner. A great value. Would return to the restaurant if we get back to Port St. Lucie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual seafood done good.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Casual luncheon diner atmosphere. Though most of the menu was fried there were grilled items to chose from. I had the caeser salad with salmon. My husband had a burger with fries and cole slaw. It was one of the best caesers I've had in a long time. The dressing tasted near to the real thing for a casual place minus the anchovies. The salmon was a good size, well seasoned and hot off the grill. My hubby's burger was awesome, huge and juicy. They piled waffle fries on his plate and the cole slaw looked and tasted like something I'd make with its green and purple cabbage, poppy seeds and sweet vinegary taste. Service was good. I recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmpressT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“always amazing”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

they have fresh great food & service to match!! the prices are great as well!! we love this place & go frequently!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting food and service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went there last night about 8 pm. Other tables were complaining that heir ok'd was not coming out in a reasonable time and popl were waiting 45 minutes for kid they paid for. In my case, it was almost 40 minutes for a fish sandwich. They seem disorganized and rude. The fish was obviously frozen and cooked without being defrosted. It was dry, overcooked and unediible. The fries were discusingly greasy. I demanded my money back and instead of apologizing, they get even nastier. I don't know how this rotten place stays in business. The atmosphere is terrible too; more like a fast food joint. An absolute garbage of a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregg B, Owner at The Tin Fish, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Allan R:

We take great pride in our family business! It is unfortunate that you feel you had a bad experience as you arrived past closing and placed your order at 8:15pm. You waited behind a party of 6 that was expected as they were lost for approximately 30 minutes before locating our restaurant. Without hesitation, we accepted your order with all the specificifications given and delivered the fresh food within 20 minutes. We won't compromise the quality of our food at anytime and order all of our ingredients fresh, which is why we have earned repeat business. We apologized for any misconception you had of recieving your food within minutes and hoped that you would enjoy your meal. When we discovered that you could not be satisfied in any way, we returned your funds without question. We wish you well and hope that you respect our family business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tin Fish also viewed

 
Port Saint Lucie, FL
 

Been to The Tin Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing