We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place To Eat!”

Sunset Coastal Grill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Fishers, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place To Eat!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in Mexico Beach, about ten miles away. Had I known it was going to be this good, we would have gone earlier in the week. My wife had Pecan Encrusted Grouper with Snow Peas, and Sweet Potato Soufflé, and I had the Lobster Stuffed Ravioli. Both meals were prepared to perfection! The house salad was fresh and the Blue Cheese dressing, made in house was delicious. Cost was VERY reasonable, as a matter of fact I've spent more money on pizza night. Don't miss this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank richard3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    228
    122
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tupper Lake, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of the best meals I have eaten in a long time,the steak was done to perfection,snow peas crisp and seasoned well.Rolls were superb.prompt smiling service people, reasonable prices.It is in a very pretty area of the forgotten coast of Florida.Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpoirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great find in Port St Joe !”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here recently while staying in the area and enjoyed one of the best meals we've had in awhile . I had a dish of blackened triple tail that was one of the best pieces of fish I have ever eaten , prepared perfectly, and seasoned as good as it could possibly be. My wife had the shrimp and fried grits cakes that were also very good as well. Great view from the dining room of the sunset on the water,and the entire restaurant is very well decorated . Very nice looking place throughout. Only thing I could say they could do better is to outfit the waiters and waitresses in some sort of matching uniforms , their dress code doesn't match the rest of the atmosphere at all , but certainly doesn't diminish the rest of the experience here. If you're in the area don't miss dining here especially at sunset . Very glad we were able to enjoy a great meal here , that was obviously prepared by an excellent chef .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jefffoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good, but be prepared”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice ambiance, great waitress. Tripletail entree was excellent but pricey ($30.00), and we weren't informed of that when we were told about the "special". Extensive martini list, "silver bullet" was good. Fried green tomatoes suggested, and we were not disappointed. Homemade salad dressings were fine. Husband ordered "Oscar Tenderloin" and he was disappointed as the meat came in about 5 medallions, tasty but gristle on meat...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbacree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our family group was referred by one of the local members of the family who had eaten at the Sunset many times before and enjoyed it each time. We drove over from Mexico Beach to eat dinner one night at sunset --- beautiful.

The restaurant is not your typical beach-type seafood place but more refined and upscale -- a real treat on our vacation trip that did include many of the other type of seafood eatery. Everyone's food was excellent, service was fast and efficient, and the owners were nice to visit our table. We'll definitely visit again, even if we have to drive a few miles to get there. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Coastal Grill also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sunset Coastal Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing