We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on the beach, not even near the beach.”
Review of Mainstay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mainstay Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Hotel is clean, well-maintained, and new, but it is located 3 miles outside of Port St. Joe proper. The rooms are small, the beds are uncomfortable, and I'd choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubiouswonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Mainstay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 277 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

This was a very nice little hotel, in the middle of nowhere. It served its purpose, had an adequate complimentary breakfast, a wonderful facility, and very friendly, helpful service.

My one and only complaint was that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. To be fair, my bed at home is like sleeping on a cloud, so this definitely wasn't what I was accommodated to sleeping in. I had a really hard time getting comfortable/falling asleep. If they would upgrade the bedding, I would gladly give this hotel 5 dots.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank absolutangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I LOVE THIS HOTEL! It's clean, beautiful, quiet, really everything I want. The owner is nice and attentive. It's close to town, but not part of the bussle. As you can see from my other reviews, I'm no pushover. But I give this hotel an A+ and am VERY HAPPY.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I came to Port St Joe, FL to visit with family. They arranged a room for me at the Mainstay Suites on Hwy 98. A day before my arrival an email was sent notifying us that the room that was reserved for me, a room that was handicap accesible, easy for me to maneuver with my walker, had a walk in shower with bench, etc. was no longer available. They had given the room to someone else. Someone who was willing to pay a regular rate for serveral days, not a customer like me who had requested the senior/AARP rate. They stated that they would give me a higher quality room at their partner hotel closer to town (but it was further from my families residence). I did not argue. Even after arriving at the location and seeing the room. It was so small I could not maneuver at all. The bed took up the whole room and it was near the noisy lounge. The whole incident was upsetting. The next morning we left a message for the manager, Jason. He never bothered to call us back. We called the hotel later that day, they said Jason had recieved the message and switched my room back to the original hotel in Hwy 98 in the handicap manageable room. It would have been nice to get a return call to let us know that. Overall, it was not a pleasant experience. The only nice thing about the Mainstay Suites is Marci, at the front desk. She was always cheerful and helpful. In this very small town, everything is in close proximity, I would recommend the Best Western Apalach Inn, Turtle Beach Inn, Gibson Inn, or the El Governor before I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARBENDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainStaySuitesFL799, General Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2010

At our hotel you we try our best to accommodate every guest request in order to make their stay a memorable one. Unfortunately there are times when we can not accommodate every request. In this instance we did try without success to contact the guest by telephone prior to their arrival. The ADA accessible room they had requested had been booked by a guest that was due to check out on the day of their arrival but decided to extend their stay. As they required a roll in shower to accommodate a wheelchair we assigned the new guests to an alternate ADA accessible room. The guests were upset so we offered them an upgrade that was double the value at our sister property. When we heard they were upset with the upgraded accommodations we switched them back to an alternate ADA accessible room at the MainStay Suites. Again, we strive to deliver the best possible experience for every guest, every time, and we sincerely apologize for not making that happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Mainstay Suites. Its location was perfect . We were able to bicycle from the hotel to the beach with little to no traffic. The suites is owned locally and all the help really care about you. Dave was very helpful and invited us to the beach party held at one of the best beaches I have ever seen. Extras include a bar-be-que area for patrons. This is our second visit and will not be our last. You are close to everything good food, beaches, and great kayaking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at the Mainstay over Labor Day Weekend and it was a great experience. The staff was professional, the rooms were spotless, and the Mainstay is pet friendly! We plan on making our trip to Port St. Joe an annual trip and plan on staying at the Mainstay next year.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Missgingerdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The staff at Main Stay were extremely nice to my family and friends that came from GA. My sister and her husband Sheryl Gay and Mark Gay live in Port St. Joe and there house burned down and I lost my nephew in the fire on May 17th. Main Stay opened there doors to us and we stayed for 3 days. I am truly grateful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishaplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
2.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
281 reviews
18.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
383 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
392 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
144 reviews
18.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites

Address: 3951 E Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-5318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Price Range: $87 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mainstay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Mainstay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Hotel Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Suites Port Saint Joe
Port Saint Joe Mainstay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing