We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same old place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dockside Cafe - CLOSED

Dockside Cafe
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Marianna, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Same old place”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hoping new owners would bring some new ideas to this tired old place...but nothing much has changed. Still a nice view of the marina, but the food is average and boring. Many better options are available in Port St. Joe and Apalachicola area. Maybe we'll try again in 6 months.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Syscokid1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    70
    58
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you love oysters, this cafe is a must-try.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I arrived hungry and tired in Port St. Joe late afternoon on a Sunday. We drove to the marina figuring we'd find someplace to eat. What a lucky stroke for us.

Hubby had steamed oysters topped with cheese, bacon and japaleno peppers. He devoured every morsel and swore it was one of the best meals he'd ever had. I sampled one of his oysters and had to agree that they were mighty fine.

I had an oyster po-boy, and it as delicious. Oysters were fresh, not too heavily breaded and fried just right. Very generous portion of oysters.

Our server was cheerful, knowledgeable and took very good care of us.

We will definitely go back. Probably tomorrow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosholt, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Very Good Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The service was wonderful at Dockside Cafe. Very friendly and fast. We would recommend eating there to our friends and family. We really enjoyed the oysters and were happy with our shrimp, flounder and soup too. The view of the ocean is wonderful. Very nice place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“always excellent, eat here so much i should have my own table”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

i cant drive past this place without stopping. its nice to have this place away from all the tourist traps. always good and reliable. we'll be back. ps dont eat the wings, leave more for me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sorry but not so good”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Short strokes: Everything was "white truck". No innovation or local flavor. Too bad because the service was excellent and the PSJ Marina is always a good view. The scallops died in vain, the onion rings too....the fries were decent, but good as home and the hush puppies had been "silent" for a while. my "lite" beer, which they said they did not have , turned out to be an "ultra lite" and the wine as made yesterday......
Have eaten many meals here, under previous management, but this may be my last. $50 is too much to pay for bad , let alone sad. Shame. They are surrounded by fabulous options. I will be exercising one of those when my appetite returns....Peppers, Provisions, Sunset Grill, all good. This one, not so much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HHArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Cafe also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing