We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local spot!”

Indian Pass Raw Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great local spot!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place for what it is. It is not fancy. It's what you call a local hole in the wall where the owner is sitting out on the porch & you grab your beers on your own. A lot of locals were present. I got the stuffed shrimp, greasy & good! You aren't going to get healthy here nor are you going to get sides, haha. Just don't expect much & you will be pleasantly surprised:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mybell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    234
    77
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“excellent grocery's”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

small place, small seafood menu, ,, place your order at bar, no table service (to speak of), cold beer & friendly locals to chat with,, busy on the weekends come early!!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We never miss an opportunity to visit the Raw Bar when we're in the area. My husband loves the oysters, waits all year for them. I like the great steamed shrimp and stuffed shrimp. We all like the atmosphere and have had many good conversations with strangers here. No, salads and veggies are not on the menu, but you can't get fresh oysters and shrimp like this back home.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cts_ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What can you say? Unique and awesome experience!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My title says it all. If you are in the area, then it's a must!! Simplistic, unique, friendly, family owned, a place that a chain restaurant could never duplicate. Serve your self drinks from the cooler or beer tap. You keep track of your own consumption and tell the cashier what you had. You can sit at the bar and watch as they cook the floor or sit at a table. They have a limited menu but definitely enough varieties to satisfy several visits. I had the stuffed shrimp which were awesome and plentiful. My wife had the crab legs which I thought was odd that they'd serve something that wasn't local but so be it. They came out perfectly steamed and delicious. We visited after the lunch rush and plenty of time to enjoy our food and the atmosphere. I think that was the best. No one was rushing through our meal so we could relax. They have a front porch that you can kick back and a enjoy a beverage or tobacco as cars whiz by. Time kind of stands still there. We look forward to going back. A real treat!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Locals Eat Here!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Got to admit I was a little apprehensive after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor, but having had experiences with locations that got bad reviews and I liked, thought I'd give them a try. My wife and I visited during an anniverary trip. Of course the furniture is plastic, you get your own drinks and kinda have to catch the waitress' eye for an order. But we got our beers, got our order in and got the raw oysters delivered..had to ask for crackers...had to ask for horseradish, but to be fair they were pretty busy and the oysters came out quick. After a bit of conversation with one of the waitresses they found out we were sorta local (Pensacola) and they visibly thawed a bit. In fact the server gave us about 3/4 of an order of their steamed shrimp, explaining it was an inexact science to getting the numbers right for orders and they were only good hot (they were extras).

All in all a great local's place that has started to get enough recognition that some of the increased popularity may be affecting the greeting. If an exquisite dining experience with all the amenities and someone at your elbow for your every need is your type of dining, then IPRB probably isn't for you. If you don't mind striking up a conversation with a blue collar fisherman or construction worker and get some of the freshest seafood around - enjoy IPRB!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gduncan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Pass Raw Bar also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Indian Pass Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing