We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and pleasant with beautiful, natural surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape San Blas Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape San Blas Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Ohio
1 review
“Clean and pleasant with beautiful, natural surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We've been going to Cape San Blas Inn for over a decade and we've always enjoyed it. They've made recent improvements that make it even better. The best improvement is the current innkeepers -- George and Betty, who keep the place immaculately clean.
They also win the prize for the best breakfast. The breakfasts are abundant with fresh fruits, great coffee and quality main courses, such as lemon zest ricotta pancakes, eggs Benedict, etc. etc. They have canoes, kayaks, bikes -- things we didn't have time to use because we spent all our time at the beautiful beach. We're writing this review in the middle of an Ohio winter because it's the closest thing we can get to returning!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariegraham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
238
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed at the B&B in October and loved it so much we went back in November. The breakfast was great each day (very filling too), the bed was comfortable and we had a great view of the bay from our room. The gulf was just a short walk away. Betty and George are just the best innkeepers. We went back the second time because they were so nice the first time. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randallnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Inn is situated on the penisula of Port St Joe and backs up to a salt water canal. The inn has a jacuzzi by the canal and canoes that you can take out for the day at no charge. Across the street from the Inn is a little grocery mart that has a great stock of anything you could need. Walk behind the store and you are on a gorgeous white sandy beach that has not been ruined by commercialization and large condos. Just a wonderful quiet and peaceful beach. They servce breakfast at 9:00 am and the food was just as good as the presentation of it. We will be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed several nights in the Scallop Shell Room. The room was great - about the size of a typical bedroom - and had a screen porch which opened right onto the walkway to the bay. Very convenient! I will say that the rooms are much nicer looking than the photos on the website let on - the lighting in the photos is not great, but the rooms are well appointed, and the softest bath towels of any place I've stayed!

The breakfasts were great experiences - George and Betty cater to your every need, and it was a good chance to get to know others staying at the Inn. Truly delicious and thoughtfully prepared meals that were huge, and left me full until late afternoon!

Took the kayak out on the bay several times - what a great amenity! The canoes, kayaks and bikes really add to the value of staying at the Inn.

One note if considering a trip to Cape San Blas is to be prepared to go "off island" (or off the cape!) for dinner as there is just one restaurant on the Cape that is sometimes open (maybe more consistent during busy season). Bring some snacks to tide you over in the late afternoon, and you will be all set!

Hope to visit Cape San Blas Inn again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle123451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Our group stayed at the inn for 4 days and in spite of some cloudy weather, had a terrific time. We went out in canoes and kayaks provided at the inn and used the hot tub on the deck on our return. The beach was across the street and dinner in Port St. Joe's was just a few miles away. George and Betty were excellent hosts and had breakfast that was out of this world. We didn't need to eat until supper. One evening we watched a movie, from the selection at the inn. Overall it was a great time with great friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had a great stay at the inn for our Anniversary. We were the only guests on a Sunday so we had the run of the place. We stayed in the suite upstairs and really enjoyed sitting on the private porch. There was a thunderstorm, but we didn't care as we just sat, relaxed and watched the rain.

The hot tub being located at the end of the dock over the bay was great! Really enjoyed sitting out there enjoying a glass of wine.

Breakfast in the morning was amazing. Eggs, hash browns, county ham, biscuit and fresh fruit. Served with coffee and OJ.

The inn keepers were called away for a family emergency, but their daughters provided great service while we were there.

Only two minor suggestions. 1) There were no lights at night on the path heading out to the hot tub. We had walked it in the day so we knew there were no surprise steps or it could have been tricky. 2) Breakfast is fixed in the innkeepers suite next to the upstairs guest suite. This caused a little noise in the morning that would have maybe made sleeping in a little difficult. Both of these were very minor and not something that would keep us from staying here again.

One caution, there are very limited restaurant options on Cape San Blas and nothing that was open on a Sunday. This meant we had to drive into Port St Joe for dinner. Had great pizza at Joe Mama's, but would have liked to have just had something out on the Cape.

Bikes and kayaks are available for guests to use free of charge. If we had stayed longer than one night I am sure we would have used both.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

As soon as we arrived at the inn we knew it would be a special place to stay.
The inn is a little gem with wonderful innkeepers Betty and George.
As we walked through the front door we were greeted by George and he made us feel right at home.
The inn is immaculate inside and outside. George showed us around the inn the bay view is beautiful and the grounds are well kept. George and Betty are such special people they work so hard to make everyones stay at the inn a special one. The location of the inn and the inn itself is so peaceful. The beds are select comfort and they can be adjusted to your comfort level. We stayed in the Coquina it was lovely and we slept like babies.
Wow! what a breakfast it was pretty, delicious and plenty of food on our plates....coffee was super...
The inn is beautiful but what makes my husand and I want to go back is George and Betty they are warm hearted and genuine people.....


Our seven day stay at the inn went by so quickly and it was truly hard to leave this magical place...
Beach is beautiful....

We can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklyngirl293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
7.6 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
8.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
22.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
23.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
22.9 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape San Blas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape San Blas Inn

Property: Cape San Blas Inn
Address: 4950 Cape San Blas Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4406
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Saint Joe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cape San Blas Inn, located on the pristine Gulf Coast of Florida. Built as a Bed & Breakfast in 1999, the Cape San Blas Inn is situated on the east side of St. Joseph Peninsula. Overlooking picturesque St. Joseph Bay and across the street from the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn is situated 25 miles west of Apalachicola and 14 miles from Port St. Joe. Graced by the natural beauty of this yet-unspoiled part of Florida's Gulf coast, the Cape San Blas Inn can be enjoyed year-round with equal enthusiasm. Come stay, relax and experience everything this unique locale offers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape San Blas Hotel Port Saint Joe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing