We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax!”
Review of Cape San Blas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape San Blas Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I can't really add much to the great comments previous. We had camped at the state park in the past so we were familiar with the area.

We spent our 30th anniversary at the inn and had a wonderful time - very relaxing. We, of course, spent some time on the beach, took the bikes out for a spin, and explored the area on foot. Our last night we sat in the hot tub at the end of the dock and watched the stars to the sound of mullet jumping all around us.

We had packed drinks and lunch makin's in cooler so we enjoyed picnics every day then went off the Cape to experience the 'local color' at the raw bars and restaurants.

October is really a great time to visit "The Forgotten Coast" as there are festivals and events in all the surrounding towns. And the weather is perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida_Daddy_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 337 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful b and b. Wonderful people. Great location. And the breakfast is awesome. Was nice to get away from the "big box" hotels. They even provided everything needed for the beach; chairs, towels and beach umbrella.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250,624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

At Cape San Blas Inn, I loved both B's. Room clean and private and very nice. Breakfast was awesome and of course included.

Room was upstairs (recommended) and had a small private porch. Nice place across the street for snacks, liquor, wine, etc. There is no traffic on this cape.

Wendy was around when you needed her, disappeared otherwise. A very gracious person who had time for questions, great recommendations and most importantly a fantasic chef.

Cape San Blas as a destination is a true gem and no one knows about it. At least it seems that way as every beach we explored was just ours. Like Destin without people. I could go on about the Inn. And the Cape. And the Oysters. CSBI changed my mind about B&Bs and we would go back in a "Panama City minute".

Room Tip: I'd go for upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcbiesecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed three nights in early September. The Inn is located on the bay and across the street from the gulf ( a short walk across the road and down a residential lane) so you have the benefits of both ecosystems. It was unusually hot and humid so we didn't take advantage of the canoes/kayaks or bikes but they are conveniently located for your use. There is a paved bike path that goes past the Inn and takes you into the state park. I think it's a 3-4 mile ride to the Park with additional trails throughout the park.
The Inn is beautifully maintained and comfortable. We stayed in the Clam Shell on the second floor-comfortable bed (a Sleep Number bed), large bathroom and shower, fluffy towels, small fridge in your closet, a covered porch, two nice beach chairs and beach towels for your use and beach umbrellas available if you ask. Wendy and her staff were always friendly, courteous and attentive. Breakfast is served daily at 9 am. You can eat in the dining room or outside on the deck overlooking the bay. Each meal was different and delicious but always with fresh fruit. We enjoyed wine on the deck in the evenings( wine glasses are in the cupboard and BYOB) and the hot tub at the end of the pier. Great star gazing.
There is a small store, called the Trading Post, across the street for necessities, etc. It is a family-owned place with reasonable prices and super friendly service. It is a little bit of a drive to Port Saint Joe or other neighboring towns and there are not too many dining options nearby, but that is what makes it such a peaceful
place. The Inn is in a residential neighborhood. The people and dogs on the beach are all very friendly and relaxed.
We discovered that September also brings "fly season" to the beach. Could be a few days or a few weeks...who knows? Unusually large amount of rain this July which makes it prime conditions. Bring your Swamp Gator repellant or something similar with lemon/eucalyptus oil; DEET products don' t work. Our experience was that the flies were annoying in the morning but not in the afternoon when the wind was blowing inland off the Gulf.

Room Tip: Some rooms have patios and some have covered or screened porches. The front rooms face the road (th...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bcmufam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Found this place on Trip Advisor when wanting to take a short two night trip to the Apalachicola area. I am very glad I came across this little gem. The inn is rather small with only seven rooms, each one unique. Check out their website for different room description. I stayed in the Scallop room which was perfectly located on the rear of ground floor looking out over lagoon. It has its own screened in porch. The gulf is across the street and down a shell road just a short distance. Beach and ocean were perfect here for swimming and sunning. Cape San Blas is a very secluded piece of land with very little traffic. Of course, other than a few small stores and shops, you need to go to Port St. Joe for more commercial areas with shops and restaurants. The inn is very clean and the breakfast Wendy brought me on the screened in porch was yummy. There are not a lot of places to choose from in the area, but I believe this is probably the best. A little pricey but worth it if you want seclusion and privacy.

Room Tip: Choose the Scallop Room to get a ground floor rear location with its own screened in porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We go each summer and meet friends to scallop. A highlight of our trip is our stay at the Cape San Blas Inn. We have stayed here for 4 summer trips,and find the accommodations perfect. Our favorite room is the Scallop Room. Wendy, the inn keeper is the perfect hostess and her breakfast each morning is a special treat. We plan to return next summer!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank PortDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Sept of 2012 we spent three nights at Cape San Blas Inn, this august we spent four. Each visit was a terrific experience in hospitality, beauty, and comfort. The first time we stayed upstairs, this time we stayed in a room that had a screened in porch and faced the bay. It was wonderful to grab a cup of fresh coffee at 8 and sit on the porch watching the bay. We saw a bald eagle, seabirds, a hummingbird came out to dine on the hibiscus outside the door.

The innkeepers, Tammy and Wendy, are incredibly welcoming and accommodating. They patiently answer questions, keep the inn sparkling clean, not easy I imagine with both sand on one side and bay on other other and serve a delicious breakfast each morning.

The inn is in a more residential sort of neighborhood rather than a strip of motels or hotels so it's peaceful and quiet. There were improvements, the dock to the bay has been rebuilt to make access easier for getting the canoes and kayak in the water, the canoes and kayak are now on a rack outside the shed for much easier access. The rooms now have the combination rain shower heads/hand held that is super nice. There are beach towels available, plenty of chairs on the deck to enjoy the view, or walk across the road (in four days I think we had to wait once for a car before crossing) to the beach and enjoy the warm water.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
8.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
289 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
283 reviews
23.7 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
417 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
619 reviews
23.5 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape San Blas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape San Blas Inn

Address: 4950 Cape San Blas Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-4406
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Saint Joe
Price Range: $208 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape San Blas Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cape San Blas Inn, located on the pristine Gulf Coast of Florida. Built as a Bed & Breakfast in 1999, the Cape San Blas Inn is situated on the east side of St. Joseph Peninsula. Overlooking picturesque St. Joseph Bay and across the street from the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn is situated 25 miles west of Apalachicola and 14 miles from Port St. Joe. Graced by the natural beauty of this yet-unspoiled part of Florida's Gulf coast, the Cape San Blas Inn can be enjoyed year-round with equal enthusiasm. Come stay, relax and experience everything this unique locale offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Cape San Blas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape San Blas Hotel Port Saint Joe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing