We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT”
Review of Gulf Sands Motel

Gulf Sands Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Sands Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Bainbridge, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Only place left to rent during fourth of July weekend, I now know why! Management very rude!!! Refused to give us toilet paper, said there was half roll in bathroom when we checked in. Mold and mildew everywhere. Family dropped by before we all went to dinner and was ran off by management. they said that the only people that could be in the room was the people I had paid for. THEY WERE ONLY VISITING!!!!!!!! Would not refund my money for the two days left that I had paid for. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank roger6556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    4
    20
See reviews for
15
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Our son and his wife stopped by to eat a sandwich with us and the owner or manager claimed they had stayed the night which was a LIE we told her she was mistaken, she went on to say we were lying.I am 62 years old and have NEVER seen such a rude hateful person.We will never ever stay here again.The El Governor is only &10.00 more MUCH nicer Motel .This dump should be named The Very Last Resort!!! I rate this place a ZERO!!

Room Tip: The El Governor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank AnitaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Saint Joe hotels

Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Maybe we got the best room in the joint,but our room was clean and just right for the night and price. This is not the place for you if you want to stay right on the beach, but there is beach access right across the street. We would stay there again. also the woman at the desk was local and very helpful.

Room Tip: Microwave and frig in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arfilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gay, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is definitely not the place to stay if your wanting a stress free vacation. When we arrived in town all other hotels were full. So we had no choice but to book a room here. Our first rooms fridge was extremely old and wasn't cold at all, so They moved us to a room a few rows down. Well the fridge in that room wasn't any colder and it leaked. Then when it came time for bed, I pulled back the comforter to find bed bugs. I went and told the older lady at the front desk and she came to look at them. Now I always heard that bed bugs were to small to see, well apparently not. These were a little smaller than the end of a pencil eraser. And she said in her 10 or so years there that she had never seen any bugs. So She moved us again to another room which was better and appeared to be bug clean but the water in the toilet smelled so bad we had to keep the lid closed and the door shut, because it would make the whole room stink. And the lady up front didn't even seem to care about the bugs. I will definitely never stay here again and would Have slept in my car if there was enough room.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tabby1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The room was not clean at all. There was mildew and mold in the bathrooms. The room also smelled strongly of roach spray. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We only stayed one night since it was so late, then left and went to another hotel for the reminder of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jckirkpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

we stayed here and found bed bugs i was eating alive by these gross things we called these owners and they did not care a bit so stay clear of this place

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lissak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever been too. The mildew and black mold knocked us down as we entered the room. We went elsewhere to find another place, upon returning one hour later we asked for our $ back. The owner refused even though we had not even unloaded luggage or sat on anything. We then spent the rest of the evening triing to get our $ back. When the husband/owner came out several hrs. later and after the police had been called by his wife/owner we were refunded only a portion of our cash. The police recommened civil court. If we not received a refund, we would have been looking for a good lawyer. Do yourself a favor and go to the Mainstay Suites in Port St Joe or the El Govenor in Mexico Beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank deddins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
10.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
268 reviews
7.8 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
277 reviews
21.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 31 in Panama City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall
3.7 mi away
Turtle Glass at Windmark Beach
Turtle Glass at Windmark Beach
#5 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Sands Motel

Property: Gulf Sands Motel
Address: 8042 W Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-6202
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Saint Joe
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Gulf Sands Hotel Port Saint Joe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing