We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagniappe”
Review of The No Name Cafe

The No Name Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lagniappe”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was an unexpected surprise fine in "downtown". The couple who own or manage this cafe, coffee bar, bookstore, etc. are delightful, warm, efficient, and effective purveyors of their delicious fare.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2travelbears44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“" A Lovely Stop"”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband I are were visiting in Port St. Joe last week and stopped in the No Name Café for a late afternoon drink. We had a wonderful experience. My husband had a Cappachino and I had a cup of hot tea. The ladies who work there were very hospitable and we enjoyed looking at the books and the great selection of puzzles/games. The weather was rainy and damp, but our visit to the shop was warm and inviting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASPER
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No Baristas Here”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Ordered two lattes- hazelnut and mocha. Hershey's Chocolate Syrup was used for the mocha. It tasted like chocolate water. The hazelnut latte had too much syrup in it. The coffee was indiscernable, in both cases. After two sips, we tossed in the nearest trashbin.

Helpful?
2 Thank Eve2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Little Coffee Shop”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We went to the No Name Cafe for lunch earlier t his week and were extremely happy with our choice. We have been there a number of times to shop at the bookstore or buy coffee, but this was the first time we ate there. My wife and I each had a tuna salad sandwich on toast and coffee - very simple and also very, very good! We topped it off by sharing a great Brownie for dessert. It all made me wonder why we hadn't eaten there before t his ...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Coffee Shop”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The coffee shop is very friendly and coffee very good. The back of the shop not so much ... rather snooty ladies and also when asked about a book club they said they don't let strangers in. :-( Coffee shop great rest of the place go to Apalachicola to the knit shop there. Much friendlier.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The No Name Cafe also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The No Name Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing