We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Lesson & a Sunset”

Seahorse Water Safaris
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Port Saint Joe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History Lesson & a Sunset”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Short but sweet sunset "cruise" aboard a small passenger boat in the Port St. Joe bay. Captain Gary gives a lively and detailed account of the interesting (but often sad) history of Port St. Joe - Florida's Constitution city. The hour long trip takes you only a short distance from the marina - but you will see a boat graveyard, dolphins, local fisherman and - weather permitting - a FAB sunset! It's BYOB but that's OK! Only $12 - and worth it! Dress casual and don't wear your good shoes because the floor of the boat get's splashed a bit in the slightly choppy bay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovybead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    2
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We went on their Sunset Cruise. For $12.00 a person, you definitely get more than your monies worth. Gary, the owner takes you out for a 1 1/2 hrs to not only watch the sunset from the water, he is wealth of knowledge about the entire Forgoten Coast of old Florida history. Great for families! BYOB also!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun day on the bay!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was my first visit to the St. Joseph Bay & being a mariner by trade,i wanted to explore the water side of the area.Upon making a reservation i asked if leaving the bay was an option.My answer was no & now i undersand why after spending 4 hours exploring the bay.Leaving the bay would have taken too long & we would not have had the joy of snorkeling in these shallow waters of the bay & discovering the sealife of the sheltered/calm water here.We did venture out to the tip of "Cape San Blas" & it was very well worth the time it takes.Blacks Island was an enteresting sight and an ecentric option for vacationers.On check out ,the staff was informative about the boat & area.On the return things went smoothly & overall a "fun day on the bay"!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DougBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Half Day Boat Rental”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We rented a pontoon boat for our family of four for the first half of a day. We found the staff to be very courteous and easy to work with. The were good about letting us know they run on Eastern Time, which was helpful. The night before they called us to let us know there may be some wind coming up in the afternoon and gave us the option to cancel or continue with our trip. They were very informative and we decided to go ahead and keep our trip, which turned out to be a good decision. The day was a bit overcast and cool with the wind, so we just tooled around and enjoyed the scenery. The kids enjoyed jumping off the boat on the sand bars and finding creatures on them. We found starfish, crabs, horseshoe crabs, etc.

The boat itself was ok, not as comfortable and large as the pontoon we rented for a full day in Panama City Beach, FL. There was a garbage can on board, which was nice soda cans, etc.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“3rd times the charm!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been coming to St George island for many years, and last year decided to try snorkeling. We were all booked up and ready to go and then Tropical storm Debby wreaked havoc on our plans and Vacation as we were evacuated from the island. This year we booked again, and this time we had a two week stay. Our Snorkeling appointment was during our first week. The weather was bad for a few days and the wind also. We got a call from Seahorse that it was too windy and our trip was again cancelled. We rescheduled for the next week. The day of our appointment, we made the drive from St. George Island to Port St Joe. It had been raining and quite hard at times. We went into the front desk and were told that others had cancelled their trip and they would need at least ten people before the captain would make the trip. We just knew we were not going to get to go snorkeling once again. After waiting around for maybe 20 minutes, more people signed up to go and we were on our way. It was raining a little but that did not deter us. The captain boated us to a location just of the St Joe State Park peninsula. While it was rainy , the water was very clear. We found numerous sandollar, starfish, seahorses, fish, and urchin. The crew then held a show and tell and were very informative. Even though it took us three tries to go snorkeling, I think it was well worth it. I think next time we will rent a boat and do our own snorkeling adventure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SGIBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seahorse Water Safaris also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Seahorse Water Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing