We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Peppers

Peppers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited Peppers tonight- food delicious and service excellent. We had nachos and salsa to start with and then I had a "Fajitas Mexico" with steak, chicken and shrimp. It was a large portion but well worth it. Glad we got there early as the place fills up quickly and people were queuing to get tables when we left. Go and try it if you're in the area!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    173
    48
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson,SC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a great lunch here. The taste was very good, the prices were good as well. It is located in a good location, you should enjoy your meal here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolinasonggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good service, but average food.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

While vacationing on St. George Island on November 21, 2013 my wife and I ate lunch at Pepper's Mexican Grill in Port Saint Joe, Florida. We entered the small but cozy restaurant around noon and were promptly seated in a comfortable booth. We noticed that the restaurant was not too busy and was clean, especially the one-person-at-a-time mens' bathroom. Our waiter quickly appeared and took our orders for a large (36 oz.) draft Dos Equis beer at $4.99 and a small (12 oz.) draft Dos Equis at $3.00. The beers were served ice cold and were accompanied by complimentary tortilla chips and salsa. I ordered the seafood chimichanga (Chimichanga Costena) consisting of shrimp, bay scallops and fish for $10.99. My wife asked for a cheese quesadilla for $6.99. The waiter soon returned with our orders and I immediately noticed that my seafood chimichanga appeared to be a bit soggy (it was supposed to be fried to a golden brown...see photo). It was served with refried beans covered with melted cheese, rice and a diced lettuce and tomato salad without dressing. While my lunch was edible, it was rather bland and lacked personality. My wife said her quesadilla was average. Our total bill came to $24.69 including tax (not including tip).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food even for "non-Mexican food diners"”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Everyone we ran into around Port St. Joe recommended Peppers, so of course, we had to try it. We are not big Mexican food officianados, but my husband and I both loved the food at Peppers. We barely sat down before the freshly made salsa and warm chips were placed before us. Both our meals were fresh and tasty. The frozen margarita was a bit strong -- they should ease up on the alcohol just a bit. But the food, service and atmosphere were perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Use to be great, but now...”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

When Peppers first opened they served the best mexican food. But the food has slowly declined over the years. You used to get a good meal for a very reasonable price. As the prices have risen, the quality has gone down. What use to be the best, far above any other mexican restaurant, now tastes like any other place. Last year I woild have given them a 5, now only a 3. Peppers is now just an typical mexican restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank coyote60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppers also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Peppers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing