We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Pass Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Saint Joe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Pass Campground
Apalachicola, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We arrived thinking it should be like paradise as it was near a state park. When we arrived, the owner told us to choose the place where we wanted. We tried to find the nearest place to the beach and found it but it was full of garbagge (broken black water hose, rusty cans, a rug hung on a tree and even a broken spoiler. We paid 30$ but we decided not to spend the night there.
We don't recommend you this site at all!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 284Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a get away that offered remote and quiet accommodations. We settled on Indian Pass rather than the State Park at Port St Joe because we wanted to be able to bring our dogs to the beach and do some paddling in the estuary and around St Vincent Island.

The location is very beautiful and almost made up for the con's, until we had to move.

Pro's
The camp is very remote
Public beach access is amazing
Great Kayaking location
Easy access to St Vincent Nature Preserve
Tank empty service
Owners are very pleasant

Con's
They don't answer the phone often
They do not have enough voltage to support 30 amp service when they are full
The camp is very poorly maintained
Exposed water lines
Zero beach maintenance - dog waste and no safe steps down
Loose dogs
Goats in what was once a pool
The store is closed and in disrepair
Drunken porch front greeting committee

We were books for 5 nights, but only made it 2. Wednesday and Thursday were okay because the park was pretty empty. Come Friday it started filling up and just after 5pm we lost power and could not run the RV. Turns out they couldn't support the voltage on the site we were given and they didn't have any solution for us. They did however refund the remaining nights. We packed up and somehow made it to the State Park by 8:29 snagging the last site. Turns out the SP was less expensive and a lot more agreeable than Indian Pass.

It is unfortunate the camp is in such disrepair it was obviously an amazing place at one time. My take - go the the State Park and avoid the hassle of a run down fish camp.

Room Tip: Avoid Sites 14 - 18 if you have an RV
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Follow the GPS, there is no other way to get there. Keep calling, it may take a while to get through to get reservations. It is definitely a nice quiet location; laid back to say the least. The honor system is in full force here! We actually had to hunt down the owners to pay for our spot rental and the bagged ice we got at the camp store. (The pool is out of service as of 07/23/2013.) Out of date but very clean bath house with wonderful abundance of hot water!! The campground is "rustic" to say the least. Our spot was beautiful with water and 50amp hook ups. (There is a sewer clean out on property.) Plan to entertain yourself and the kids - bring fishing poles, beach supplies, etc. Bring BUG SPRAY!! Take the time to dine at the famous Indian Pass Raw Bar, go charter "fishing" for scallops, drive in to Port St Joe, Aplachicola and Eastpoint.

Room Tip: RV and cabin locations near the boat launch experience LOTS of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjurenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Perfect place to get away from the normal day to day stuff. Bring your fishing poles, kayaks or boats. Nice quiet place. Nearest town is about 30 minutes away so make sure you bring the supplies you need. Everyone around the area was nice

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Made last-minute reservations and snagged an awesome beachfront site just steps to the pristine white sand. The view across Indian Pass to St. George Island is was incredible. The campground is rustic, with lots of shady live oaks and palm trees. There was a decent amount of space between sites, and we had a sense of privacy, unlike some campgrounds where they squeeze you in like sardines. Because the campground is relatively small, there were very few people on the beach, and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Spotted a dolphin, saw lots of pelicans, egrets, and an occasional heron. We're already planning to go back in May.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank JoAnneMB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappapello, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We made reservations 9 months in advance for a water site. Called a month before arrival to confirm. Planned to stay 2-3 months. When we arrived was told our site was washed away but they could give us a water site for 9 days then someone else would be arriving and we would have to move. Most sites they had would not accommodate our large unit and one site was really uneven. Not well taken care of park, hard to get some one on phone, does not return calls. Big disappointment,not close to anything. Go on to Carabella, much nicer places

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Arrived late at night and at the entrance to greet us were a bunch of guys drinking. Had been left a crappy map of the sites available as we new we would be late, and because there is NO lighting it was very difficult to find our way in a 40' coach. When we woke in the am and looked out we thought GILLIGANS Island. The park location is amazing but the upkeep disgusting.
Never did see the person who runs the place, we stayed 2 nights only because we wanted to drive up the coast to Destin and Pannama Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
7.5 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
10.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
21.7 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
14.6 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Pass Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Pass Campground

Property: Indian Pass Campground
Address: 2817 Indian Pass Rd, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-7835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Port Saint Joe
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very end of Indian Pass peninsula, we are a small locally owned campground. Come stay with us in paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Indian Pass Campground Hotel Port Saint Joe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing