We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“joe's dough is yo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe Mama's Wood Fired Pizza

Joe Mama's Wood Fired Pizza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Joe Mama's is an upscale pizzeria featuring artisan pizzas cooked at 800 degrees F. in an Italian wood fired oven. Our food is prepared fresh daily as the kitchen does not have a freezer, fryer or microwave. We features unique pizzas, fresh salads and homemade desserts. We serve a changing variety of craft beer on tap and well as a full wine list of domestic and imported wines.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“joe's dough is yo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

great thin crust. cheese could standout a little more. topping choices were adequate and quantity was fair.
one size doesn't fit all however.
this aspect seems to fit Joe's preference and not the customer's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    123
    42
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I can't believe this is the current #1 ranked restaurant. Ordered take out pizza our last night on vacation so we could pack, etc. the main thing to know is their pizza is one size, basically a medium. Says 8 slices but we are used to bigger pizzas. Luckily I ordered the house salad, which feeds 2. So our family of 4 got 2 very small slices of pizza and a little bit of salad. Just average.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Higgins F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not amazing, but very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The place is a little "fancier" than your typical pizza place. We still felt comfortable with our beach hair and casual attire. Service was good and the young people that waited on us were very nice.

The menu is a little more gourmet and upscale than your average pizza joint--you won't find a "supreme" or "meat lover's" pizza here. The ingredients are ala carte, or you can order a specialty pizza, which will have things like pesto or shitake mushrooms or gruyere. We ordered 5 pizzas for our hungry party of 4 adults and 6 children/teens and all but two pieces were eaten. We also ordered a salad which I was told was very good. The pizzas were very tasty, if not particularly filling, due to the very thin crust.

We enjoyed our meal and would likely eat here again. It was a nice change from the seafood restaurants and the food was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frettd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over-rated Pizza Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

* wait staff are attentive and friendly
* very popular with 30 min to 1 hr waits normal even on weekday nights
* not enough tables to meet demand during spring season
* pizza is wood fired. Nothing special
* food is OK but not worth an hour wait.

Helpful?
1 Thank 24fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must not miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our last day of vacation and what a grand finale. Very cool little place. The service was amazing n food was awesome!! It was worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swearnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Mama's Wood Fired Pizza also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Joe Mama's Wood Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing