We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
93
142
95
51
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
142
95
51
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean instant oatmeal continental breakfast my mother restaurants and shopping bagels up to date visit family english muffin the breakfast area hairdryer furniture microwave fl port
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 455 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2017

Don’t waste your time. This place was so dirty. Could not even use shower. Too dirty. People outside all hours of the night. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 579bettyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments are important to us, we have passed onto our management team for review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

This hotel had bed bugs. As i lay in bed watching tv i was lucky to see them coming before i was asleep. The room was fair condition. The bed only had a single sheet on it and the blankets on shelf reaked like pest control spray so I couldn’t use them. The toilet seat was dirty when i arrived and the carpet seemed dirty. Unless you cannot afford a better hotel i suggest staying at Holiday inn express down the street instead of here.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review and rating. Please be advised that we do have our rooms inspected and exterminated monthly. We have not had any instances of bed bugs. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please note your comments are important to us. We have passed onto our management team for review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

We picked howard Johnson hotel as they are known for nice rooms, accommodating, and the ammenties. This one is definitely not up to par. It felt like a over glorified cheap motel. We didnt have enough towels, alarm clock was broken. Enough toilet paper for one person ti use the restroom 1x. No breakfast, no coffee.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Renie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you for your review and rating of your stay at the Howard Johnson in Port Richey, FL. We would like to apologize for the condition of your room. Please note this is not our standard, and we will be passing your comments to our management team for review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Reserved the room for 4 nights, as we looked for property. Nice lobby, the day clerk was wonderful, helpful and personable. The first room was a remodeled room, which was nice, but after a day, the smell of cat urine was strong. It was a no pet room but the day clerk said sometimes, esp with the recent hurricane and desperate people, pets were smuggled in. We heard from the grapevine, the hotel had a contract with the state (?) to put up families affected by the hurricane. That made finding another room difficult. But our "He's the Best" day clerk found us a room...way in back, not remodeled but not a deal breaker for us.

But that's when we witnessed the under belly. The majority of the patrons appeared to have nothing but the clothes on their back or stuffed in their dilapidated vehicles. There were pets kept in the cars. Barked most of the night. Patrons were loud and raucous most of the night. The lock barely held the door shut, and it needed a really good cleaning. But we got what we paid for, which is sad, because, it has a lovely lobby, great desk staff, a beautiful pool, and it makes money, as the owner drives a Bentley.

Unfortunately the "deals" going on in the parking lot were unsettling. But on the exciting upside, one afternoon, as we arrived back, several sheriffs squads were shaking down several patrons by the front door. Again, we heard thru the grapevine, it was a filming of the TV show COPS/Bad Boys, or some such program.

But is was too much of an exciting thing. We'll stay elsewhere when we go down again in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Redvette69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you for your honest review and rating. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our property. We are a pet free hotel, however, given the current situation with Florida residents impacted by Hurricane Irma, we are accommodating their situations and pets until their homes are ready to be habitated again.
Please note that this is a special circumstance and we do hope you will change your mind when you return in three weeks and stay with us again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

I've stayed at this hotel my last 3-4 trips. They have rooms for smokers, and they are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank jamestR9269XG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalarakhia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Thank you very much for your continued business! We appreciate your comments and review and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next visit to the area. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews