We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches,Filth and Liars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Port Richey
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Richey
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Roaches,Filth and Liars!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire and they did refund me and book me another hotel. If you know anything about them you know they don't refund,that's how BAD it was! This is my first bad review of a hotel so I'm not the kind to pick over nothing. I checked in on 3-26-13 and going into the room found a 2x4 half on the bed and half on the floor with nails sticking out as if someone tried to kill another human being in a bar fight. Then the head board was ripped off,no drawers on the dresser that were not broken,filth on the floor all over,bed bugs and best of all,ROACHES crawling out of the fridge! I called Hotwire and they called the front desk who said I was lying that they did not have a roach problem. Luckily I took pictures of the room and marched them down to the front desk and had it out with the lying front desk woman! Don't risk your life by staying there!

Room Tip: They offered to give me another room but once a German roach is on the property you will bring them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernicetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Southernicetea, It is very disheartening to learn of your issues while staying at our Howard Johnson Hotel. I can assure you that we have taken all appropriate measures to correct the situation during your stay and have ensured that our hotel remains without any infestation after careful inspection from our certified pest control company.
We take situations like this very seriously and treat each case very importantly. I can ensure that we have taken extreme measures to be certain no guest will encounter this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    132
    83
    39
    55
See reviews for
165
90
53
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

While visiting family in the Port Richey area I stayed in Room 118 for three nights. The lobby and breakfast room were newly renovated and bright. Service was good and I was able to park just outside my room two of the three nights. The room itself , while clean, was a little overdue for renovation. Although I didn't use them, there was a microwave and small refrigerator in the room. The heater worked well when I needed it (always disconcerting in Florida). On the negative side the door communicating with the next room let in conversations on occasion, the television remote skipped channels, and the sink had no plug. Overall I was comfortable in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The cold weather in Florida is always disconcerting for us as well! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Port Richey. Having the ability to park your vehicle close to your room is also comforting for some. We hope to see you in Port Richey again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

All the staff did a good job. house keeping kept the room in great shape. The Manager was very helpful. My only complaint was the wendys restaurant next door emptied their dumpsters at 5am. Nothing else to say at this time. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your review Chris M... and I agree... no one likes being woke up at 5am. Now that we know that was an issue we will look into it and see what we can do so it doesn't bother anyone else that early in the morning. Please remember us next time your in Port Richey, we would love to have you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Richey
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Richey
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Richey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Marina New Port Richey
5.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 7 in New Port Richey
31 reviews
15.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Weeki Wachee
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Port Richey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Port Richey

Property: Howard Johnson Port Richey
Address: 11810 US Highway 19, Port Richey, FL 34668-1053 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Richey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Richey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Port Richey 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Port Richey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Port Richey Hotel Port Richey
Port Richey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing