We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for our purposes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Port Richey
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Richey
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were visiting family in the area so knew we wouldn't be in our hotel room much and were looking for a good price - which we found at this Howard Johnson property. Hope they can keep the price in the current range because it is certainly worth it. We had a very comfortable king size bed, microwave and refrigerator plus coffee maker in our room. Check in and out were a snap. Met one of the new owners who was way beyond helpful to us. We had stayed at this property several times when it was a Comfort Inn and it is still a great bargain. Not frilly but has everything anyone could ask for and is very comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room with the king size bed was quite large - no bumping into each other.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Cary K,
Thank you for the wonderful comment you posted to Trip Advisor for our Howard Johnson hotel.
We are so happy that you are please with our services and found a hotel you can rely on. And thats right... we are under new ownership. It's been great having them here and see how many improvements have been implemented to make us the best value in Port Richey.
Come back and see us real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Port Richey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 413 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We enjoyed our 8 days there and during our 6 week trip, that was the best motel that we stayed in, and the best value of our entire vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

RobertL, Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor! We love to hear great things from our guests! We look forward to seeing you again real soon at our Howard Johson's Port Richey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We travel with our pets so we have to stay in designated pet rooms....The smell of the 1st room we looked at about knocked you out the door...We said No.... next 2 rooms we looked at had some other issues and the 4th room we looked at was ok.... Bad thing was there seem to be a lot of local ppl living there...we were there for 5 days....and these ppl were there when we came and were still there when we left.... and they seem to put everybody in one crowed area....even though the hotel is quite large..... hotel is ok but word of advice is be selective about , don't just accept the 1st room they give you... the room was fairly clean and bed was comfy...

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you rent.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Thomas S, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor regarding our Howard Johnson Hotel. We apologize for you having to switch your rooms. As you know, hotels have to be very selective when our guests are traveling with their furry friends and we try our best to accommodate everyone as best as possible. We do also have an extended stay program for out of town guest that are staying for an extended amount of time. We are also under new ownership and have invested a lot of time into improving the property. We hope you come see us again real soon, we would love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was staying for 4 days at the Howard Johnson. The stay was really nice and so are the staff. Upon arriving I got a description of the hotel and everything they offered. Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. Very tasty breakfast. The location of the hotel was great, with alot of shopping places. Would stay here going forward and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGreen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

NGreen_13, Thank you for your online review of our Howard Johnson Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice. Hotel is in a good location and very friendly staff. The newly renovated rooms were clean and adequate with very comfortable beds. Breakfast service is really outstanding. Absolutely no complaint. I would definetly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCP_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

UCP_Traveller; thanks for your wonderful comments! Our beds sure are comfy and the service in breakfast is truly outstanding. Our staff loves what they do and interaction with our guests is rewarding for them. They are really a great staff for us! I have been sure to pass your comments along to all of them. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Howard Johnson in Port Richey and found the hotel to be great with the housekeeping to the hospitality at the front desk. And they even had a variety in breakfast. My daughter enjoyed the clean pool area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonPR, Manager at Howard Johnson Port Richey, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks for your great response SarahK! We appreciate your kind words... and yes! our pool can be fantastic on a warm Florida day. We hope to see you back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Richey
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Richey
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Richey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Weeki Wachee
157 reviews
12.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Spring Hill/Weeki Wachee
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Spring Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Port Richey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Port Richey

Address: 11810 US Highway 19, Port Richey, FL 34668-1053 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Port Richey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Port Richey
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Port Richey 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Port Richey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Port Richey Hotel Port Richey
Port Richey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing