We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Ted Drewes....”

Ritter's Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 13 Dessert in Port Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Holly Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not Ted Drewes....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

But still it's frozen custard. And for a St Louis native, far from home, that counts for something. :)

Helpful?
Thank Beaner1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    4
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So So So Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Ritter's is one of those stops we must make when visiting family in Daytona Beach. Their custard isn't thick and yucky like some I've had. It's just creamy deliciousness. My favorite flavor is just plain old vanilla. This last trip I tried the "Gelati" which is a layer of custard then a layer of italian ice then a layer of custard. Such a treat! Prices are not bad either! Definitely go, just not too often or else you'll be 500 lbs!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamachick25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Taste of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

This little place is located on Clyde Morris in Port Orange and has had a booming business since the day it opened about 10 years ago. Folks line up outside the windows to place their orders for the every changing flavors of frozen custard treat that can be served in as many ways as your imagination can allow. The first Monday of each month is designated as "Doggy Night" when the dogs receive a free scoop of custard topped with a doggy bone. It's a good way for the dogs to socialize with other dogs - get a nice treat - and allow the owners to have another excuse to visit this delightful place.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulliver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on a cone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were sent out of our way to check this place out, by the nice folks at Sailing Winsome charters-they have not sent us to bad food yet! I love that this place is unchanged, you still just walk up and order through the window. We had ice cream/custard, although they do serve food, we only went for ice cream. We have tried Cow LIcks too, by the same referrals, and it's good there, but it's different. We both liked the atmosphere here better at Ritter;s, it's not so touristy as Cow Licks on the A!A. This place has essentially a park of out door seating and tons of parking. We each just had an iced cream cone, and stopped for ice cream 4 of our 5 day visit. Kudos to Port Orange for keeping something authentic like this around, and to the Ritter's for not fixing what works by trying to make it flashy and new! Keep churning that custard. If you are in Daytona, go out of your way and give Ritter's a try. It's unique enough to make the extra trip far worth it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantacorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place and good custard, but I like...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Nice place and good custard, but I like cow licks on Daytona Beach better, although it isn't custard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MetroFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritter's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ritter's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing