We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Okay.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Grill

Monterey Grill
Ranked #3 of 166 Restaurants in Port Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Monterey Grill is a casual neighborhood restaurant with an All American favorites menu. Consistently voted a Reader Choice best restaurant, Monterey grill is a local favorite for family and friends. The restaurant opens at 8:00 am daily and the breakfast menu is available until 3:00. Lunch and dinner menu starts at 11:00 until close. Monterey Grill also offers catering for business lunches, parties and large groups.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's Okay.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I found this restaurant to be very diner like! The prices were quite high for the atmosphere! The food was okay but really nothing to brag about! If you're looking for a nice place or a cozy place, look elsewhere!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Easygoing1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    116
    36
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lunch Special Burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Monterey Grill has a special Burger for lunch which includes a side.. Always good until yesterday, the size is very small also the amount of fries very small, Although other menu item are great forget the "Gourmet Burger" its not worth even $5.99

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat9037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went to MONTEREY GRILL for dinner. Very nice and pleasant place. We were seated right away, the waitress ( was also the bartender ) came right over and took our drink order, in just a very short time we had our drinks. She then took our dinner order, I had the Pebble Beach Wrap with turkey, bacon, spinach and Mandarin oranges in a spinach wrap, very good indeed! My Lady Love had the Monterey Burger cooked medium and it was cooked perfect! We each ordered a different side, onion straws and French fries, the onion straws came to the table cold but it was pointed out to the waitress and she immediately got us a plate of hot rings, no wait, no argument! The rings were excellent and the fries were the "seasoned " type and very good. The bill came to less than $20.00 for food and drink ( I had root beer and she had water with lemon ). Will be going back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bland food, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

For our anniversary, my boyfriend and myself came here, expecting good food because from the menu and the reviews online, it seemed good. Unfortunately, the food was pretty bland and the music was annoying (though all mainstream music seems to be a nuisance anymore). The staff were very friendly, constantly making sure our drinks were full and dirty plates were moved as quickly as possible.

I ordered the tomato basil pasta with shrimp, and it had no flavor. It was super bland and I could've cooked a better spin on it myself easily. My boyfriend got steak, which he said was alright, and we got a quesadilla appetizer, which was pretty good.

Not the ideal anniversary location, and not romantic at all honestly, but it was ok overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Briteedubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time, but not the last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have been in the Port Orange area many times and unfortunately never noticed this quaint restaurant. Thank goodness for tripadvisor as it helped us find this lovely place. Prices, quantity, service and ambience are great! It's just off the interstate on the north side of Dunlawton. The waitress we had, Nicole, was smiling and seemed to enjoy her job as she checked back with us several times during our meal. The manager stopped by to inquire how we were enjoying our meal also and actually carried on a conversation with us, which was quite refreshing. Desserts were yummy! We had 1/2 orders of carrot cake and brownie w/ice cream and whipped cream, we were told they were all made in house. We go through the area a lot and will certainly make this a definite stop when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MargenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Grill also viewed

 

Been to Monterey Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing