We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilbur By The Sea - Boondocks”

Boondocks Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 160 Restaurants in Port Orange
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Since 1978 Boondocks is a casual, fun restaurant with covered open outdoor seating. We have fresh seafood, great soups and salads, fish and chicken sandwiches, oysters, peel and eat shrimp, burgers and MORE! We also offer a great kid-friendly menu and a catfish pool for kids and grown-up kids to feed the live catfish! Love your pooch? We do too! Locals and tourists have been bringing their pets to our pet patio for years. Enjoy your favorite cocktail while watching a beautiful sunset over the marina. Just another day in paradise!!!
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice little place on the inlet. Outside bar with good music and lots of fun people. Always busy, but the wait is not long. Fresh seafood and anything else you would like. We've eaten at other restaurants around Pounce Inlet, but this one by far is the best local place to go.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank Rickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

969 - 973 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

It had been quite a while since I ate at Boondocks. I had friends visiting from out of state and figured it was a perfect time to renew my acquaintance with the restaurant. Looks like maybe I chose the wrong evening....
The setting for Boondocks is nice: right on the water in a small marina on the Intracoastal Waterway. It had rained earlier, so the air was cooler than normal for mid-June. A good start. My friends were happy to be there.
When we were seated, though, they weren't as happy, because we got the waitress who apparently thinks answering questions about the menu is a hassle and who acts like it's a major trial if anyone asks for a few more minutes before deciding. I assume this waitress pulled a muscle once trying to smile and vowed it would never happen again.
We asked about the "catch of the day." The waitress said, "It's the same every day." She said it was a fish she referred to as what sounded like "bossa." Despite asking her to repeat the name of the fish, none of us could figure out what kind of fish it might be. She said it was a "white fish." One of my friends decided to give it a try. He said it might have been pollock. (I later found out it's sort of like tilapia, in that it's a fish that's sold in bulk, frozen, to restaurants.) The bottom line was that there wasn't a single locally caught fish on the menu, despite the restaurant being located about a mile or so from one of the area's long-standing fish markets.
The other items we ordered were a tuna sandwich (which was very good) and fried clams (which were a bit on the overcooked side but tasted fine).
Overall, it was a disappointing visit. The wait for a table was long, the service was not only slow but bordered on being rude, and the food was so lackluster that I'd never recommend the restaurant to anyone visiting from out of town.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArtloverAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had dinner there last night. Scallops and shrimp over linguine and fried seafood platter. Seafood platter was large! S and S were very tasty! Prices reasonable! Rustic by the waterfront marina atmosphere. A little like the Keys. Not fancy upscale and we like it that way! Great waitress! Friendly and accommodating.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RicardoMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Rustic fish camp restaurant , great food at great prices. No air conditioning covered outdoor eating on the water. I had white fish with pasta w/ broccoli and a hollandaise sauce over pasta at lunch 9.95. It was huge!! And great my husband had fried shrimp and scallops with fries and cold slaw great.9.95 also. We ordered garlic bread ( highly recommend ) 1/2 order 4 pieces 1.50 beer draft 1.75. The service is very good. Very casual. The food was great. We brought more than half back to our hotel an ate it for supper. Still great. The hamburgers are 1/2 lb. and looked great. We talked to people who hot them they said they were wonderful. We will be going back we loved it

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Title says it all. They were beyond accommodating!! They made sure that we knew that they all worked together to serve the customers, so ANYONE could help us. Not your typical server 'sorry, you're not my table' cattiness. Plastic plates/bowls, metal silverware, great drinks, great food and HUGE portions at reasonable prices!!!

Thank PJD9946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boondocks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boondocks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.