We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel tucked away and off the beaten track”

Dunlawton Sugar Mill Gardens
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Port Orange
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Gardens where you can watch butterflies and learn more about flora and fauna native to Florida. Trails leading past a preserved 19th century sugar mill ruins and statues of dinosaurs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Destin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A real jewel tucked away and off the beaten track”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

You will see the gardens and the sugar mill ruins. The original home structure is no longer there, but the gardens are beautiful and accessible for the senior citizens. I'm sure the flower gardens change with the seasons of the year.I recommend this attraction. The grounds are shady, but I recommend visiting later in afternoon in the hot summer months,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    85
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free and worth it..”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a great place to go if you like to stroll and look at flora.. Huge old oak trees, water features, and remains of dinosuar park "BongoLand". The sugar mill ruins are under roof now, not like the picture here.. lot of interesting history markers throughout the area.. Take bug spray if it's toward evening or after recent rains.. I have been there a few times and it's not always buggy, but better safe than sorry..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kaysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“....talk about History! Kids will love this as will Adults!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

What a great discovery! Kid Friendly! ! ! They have just recently started to up keep this beautiful area. I can only hope it does not lose it's charm.

It's listed as Bongo land one of the first amusement parks. No longer an (amusement) park it still has the Dinosaur Statues located through out a nice stroll through Botanical gardens a little outdoor chapel and of course the Sugar Mill which they just recently started to preserve!

Use yourself as part of the Human sun dial !

The kids will love the Dinosaur Statues hidden around the bends. Also at the end of the trail they offer plants for sale for a donation. I always get a plant or two.

Nothing high tech here! It is a get away from it all little area.

This is one of my all time favorite spots just to stroll enjoy and regroup before going back to all the must see must do of Daytona.

I love this this place and even though I understand the building around the Sugar Mill it's sad to think it might become too touristy !

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank oncearoundtwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Surprising Find and FREE (sort of)”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We heard about the mill ruins & garden from a friend but did not expect much.

Surprise, SURPRISE!!!

Very nicely restored historic ruins and lovely botanical gardens that include concrete dinosaurs and history as well (Bongoland!) Very much worth an hour or two.

If the volunteers who keep the grounds up had enough $ and manpower to keep the gardens up as they deserve this would be a 5-Star destination.

It's free, but be a sport, leave a couple of bucks at the donation box to help preserve a little treasure in central Florida!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CrankyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hidden Place”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife had made a "to-do" list as we planned our visit here this year, and she found this beautiful place. The scenery here is just amazing, and the ruins from the old mill are very interesting as well. It is hidden away from the main drag, so, had we not already known it was here, we probably would not have found it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DisneyF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunlawton Sugar Mill Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Dunlawton Sugar Mill Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing