We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place survives on its staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County New york
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The place survives on its staff”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

There is major construction going on in all the main areas. It severly impacts the guests. ie breakfast area , parking, front desk. The internet is slow etc. The staff however is so helpful. I have stayed here 5 times in the past couple of years and they stand out. After this trip I dont know if I'll go back. I am a Diamind member so I see alot of Hamptons. This one..... Eh

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esu3sgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We really appreciate your flexibility as we undergo some very necessary growing pains and truly apologize for the inconvenience. Your loyalty to us and as a rewards member is very important and we would hate to lose you as valuable guest. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we're so glad to know that our friendly staff sticks out to you. They are truly the backbone of our hotel. However, we hope you will come back to see all of our renovations and let us know what you think. If I can be of any service to you in the future, certainly let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    117
    41
    23
    14
See reviews for
154
150
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Renovation makes this a lousy stay. Rooms were nice, but amenties were missing and common spaces non=existent. Yet we paid full price. Work was loud and untimely. Staff was not always available. Coke machine was empty for our entire 3 night stay. Pool was nice and heated.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the loud elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We're so sorry that our hotel renovation construction was disruptive during your stay. We're working with our construction crew and staff to minimize the discomfort to our guests and appreciate your flexibility. We've also restocked the vending machine and apologize it wasn't done so sooner. We hope you will come back once our renovations are complete and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

1. Should tell people they are renovating- sulfur odor (like losing your manners) near elevator
2. Rooms are not worth $145-local channels on tv would not work. Most channels listed on their log didn't work.
3. Breakfast had a variety-good
4. Hotel computer too slow
5. Bed comfortable but was scary at first sight with lumps in cover-thought it was the mattress. Whew!
6. I asked the maid Michelle to change the linen. She said that I was not up for a change. The other maid (older lady with accent) asked me if I wanted it changed. She changed the linen in my presence.
7. For the looks of the inside even on the renovated floor (because it is not complete), they should offer discounts.
8. Everyone was nice except for the maid with her refusal to change the sheets. She also ran out of hand towels and floor towel. I never got them as promised. She is nice but lazy.
9. I only had access to Applebee's for a restaurant. Too far to walk to other places on the other side of the Interstate 75 overpass. Sleep Inn and Quality Inn there with Cracker Barrel and Waffle House.
10. I vfisited Sarasota which had a beach (#1 in US) and a downtown. If you could fly into Sarasota I would and stay there for the vacation. I flew into Fort Myers and the Comfort Inn was very nice-see review.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigress1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We want your stay with us to be a welcome homey retreat and as carefree as possible. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies and mechanical issues and know they've been addressed. We are currently undergoing some necessary growing pains and appreciate your flexibility. I regret any inconvenience and hope you will come back to see our new look and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Supposed to be remodeling but there was a stop work order so nothing was being done. There's a big lake behind the hotel with at least one big alligator we saw swimming around! Has a pretty good breakfast with lots of choices. Nice people work here. The lobby and hallways did not look good but the rooms were clean. Cheap entry doors into the rooms and you can hear everything in the hallway. No fitness center here for now. You have to go to the Holiday Inn, next hotel over. Their fitness center is on the 2nd floor, so it's inconvenient and it wasn't the best equipment either. With all this in mind, It was still a good value for me because we needed a place to stay and we were able to use some Hilton points but I feel sorry for those who had to pay $150 + a night. It might have been better to close this place down until the remodeling was completely done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We're glad you chose to stay with us and appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member. We're always looking for ways to improve and will utilize your feedback for future enhancement updates. I apologize for the noise disruptions and the inconvenience of having to go next door to utilize fitness services. We are moving forward with our renovations very quickly and anticipate to be done by the middle of May. Our friendly team is awaiting your return to Port Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Looked forward to staying at a newly renovated hotel.
I reserved on FEB 15 for a 2 nite stay MARCH 3-5 using the HILTON/HAMPTON web site.
An online notice said renovations were underway and would be completed FEB 28.

Arrived to find a construction site with no carpet in the main lobby/breakfast area.
Check-in person apologized and said there was a delay. Our room was quite dated but clean with modern microwave, fridge and TV. The carpeting in the room was worn out, threadbare in places.

At breakfast the waffle mix was thin, the robust coffee not. It was weak, watered down. There was no fresh mixed-fruit, just a sign saying the fresh fruit bowl would be removed by the end of bfast. After we inquired, the next day both the bowl and the sign were missing.

The 24 hour exercise room was locked and parts of the hotel have an aroma.
A STOP WORK notice from the city inspector dated JANUARY 29 is posted on the wall.
THIS IS a full 2 weeks before we booked.
There was no mention of the STOP WRK on the HILTON WEB site !

BEWARE - NOW there is no mention of the condition of this hotel at all !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4star-at-2star-price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize if our renovation delay caused you any discomfort and appreciate that you let us know about the website posting. I've alerted our team about making the adjustments regarding our anticipated renovation completion date and hope you'll come back to see our changes. I've also shared your comments regarding your disappointment with the breakfast buffet and will continue to work with them to improve the breakfast. We were able to restart our renovations and anticipate to be completed by the middle of May. Thank you again for sharing your comments and hope if your travels bring you back to Port Charlotte that you will stay with us again so that we can show off our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I used my Hilton Honors points to book this hotel. I knew that for the small amount of points required that it would be lacking. But I was happy about many things about the hotel. The location was very good. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The lobby was being renovated but it was clean and free of depris. Our room was very clean and we had no complaints. So for the small amount of points it was a very good deal except for the breakfast buffet. Once again a Hampton that did not have a toaster that worked properly. The lady in charge of the buffet was constanly cleaning the area. However she would only put out a few items at a time. If a person did not hang around and wait they would never have gotten anything to eat. She was probably told by her management to do this but it was very annoying. There was only a few boxes of cereral to choose from. The fruit looked terrible. A few muffins and bagels. It was the worst Hampton inn buffet I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaducktres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words on our staff and guestroom appointment and apologize for the poor experience you had with our breakfast buffet. We will use your comments on our breakfast service as we constantly work to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we can show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff at hotel was friendly and efficient. However hotel was being remodeled and on a stop order! The lobby floor and breakfast area had bare concrete. The gym was locked. Construction materials were out in the open. When I made my reservation I read on the hotel website that the hotel was being remodeled, but it was supposed to be completed the day we arrived...it was not! In addition, the heating system was very noisy and the rooms were not up to Hampton standards. The rooms we were staying in had apparently not yet been renovated. We have stayed at many Hampton Inns and have never been at one that was such a poor quality. The room rate was very high given the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fltraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We value your feedback as a frequent and loyal Hampton guest and know that you expect more from us. I appreciate your flexibility as we make some much needed improvements to our cosmetic look. We're confident that these updates will only enhance our guests' experiences and regret they were not complete in time for your stay. I apologize for the noise disruptions and any inconvenience this caused. Your comments will help us to be more mindful of our surroundings and neutralize noise. I do apologize that our numerous delays resulted in the hotel not be done for your stay. We are moving forward with the renovations and expect to be done by the middle of May. I hope if your travels bring you back once we are completed that you will give us the chance to show off all the improvements that we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
5.8 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
629 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Days Inn Port Charlotte
#3 of 8 in Port Charlotte
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda

Property: Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Address: 24480 Sandhill Blvd, Port Charlotte, FL 33983-5298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
#5 Business Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing and rewarding stay at the newly refurbished Hampton Inn Port Charlotte hotel. Discover the old world tranquility and spectacular wildlife of Charlotte Harbor. Our inviting hotel is nestled on a private lake in the prestigious Deep Creek area of Port Charlotte, Florida. Unwind on pristine beaches or enjoy world-class fishing expeditions and peaceful river excursions near the hotel. Visit the charming town of Punta Gorda and view historic mansions or dine and shop in Fisherman’s Village.Relax in a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte hotel recently completely remodeled in 2013. Unwind with a movie or selection of premium channels on a 32-inch HD flat-screen TV. Stay connected with business with free high speed internet access and catch up with work at the desk. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast overlooking Sandhill Lake. Even if you're in a rush, don't miss the most important meal of the day. On your way out, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Revive with an energizing workout in the fitness center or a refreshing swim in the pool. Make business easy in the business center complete with helpful amenities and services.All newly remodeled rooms include Hampton's Cloud 9 Bed and Bedding, complete with fresh, clean duvet covers and triple sheeting. Our rooms not only feature all Hampton standard amenities, but also 32" HD TV, but refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and a laptop tray for your use. Hampton Inn thinks of everything a guest needs, and the Port Charlotte location offers a 100% new property. Enjoy our new Sundry Shop, Fitness Center, Pool Area and Business Center, as well as lobby, breakfast area and guest rooms. When you leave the Hampton Inn Port Charlotte, you will be well rested and energized for work or leisure travel! Come Feel The Hamptonality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda Hotel Port Charlotte
Port Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing