We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Par for Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Below Par for Hampton”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Knew hotel was being remodeled (thanks TripAdvisor reviews) but it was the only room in town at the time. Front desk clerk pleasant and promised us a remodeled room, explaining that the third floor hall wallpaper still needed to be done and lobby carpet to be installed. The lobby had a strange smell and floor was bare concrete. Not great for eating breakfast. As for the remodeled rooms, Hampton is definitely skimping on this remodel. Bare bones furnishings with bathroom vanity too short for wall space and hair dryers not mounted on wall. Coffee & micro station nice, but AC very loud. We try to always stay in Hampton when traveling, but this was a disappointment. Maybe when completed, this hotel will be up to Hampton standards, but they probably should have reduced prices while remodeling. However, why should they, when it may be the only "inn" available.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a remodeled room. Rooms on back side overlook a nice lake. Front rooms view the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your candid review of our property as we are working to complete our renovations. We will use your feedback on the look and feel of our refreshed rooms as we constantly evolve our efforts to best meet your needs. We hope you will consider staying with us again once our construction is complete so you can experience our freshly remodeled spaces and let us know how we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    113
    40
    23
    12
See reviews for
149
147
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had issues with slow internet in room. Front desk and manager were very helpful to try to resolve the issue, was satisfied with the service gesture provided. Room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. Was a bad smell in 2nd floor hallway/corridor though. Breakfast area will be nicer once renos are done. The breakfast had a good selection although the hot food was often dry or hard to chew, like it had been sitting too long. Saw tiny ants on the table next to the coffee pots which the staff cleaned right away. Overall had a nice stay, 5 nights total, was a good location with a little lake out back. Been to better Hampton hotels, and would rate higher if no renos and speedier internet. The staff was very friendly, efficient and accomodating, thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view or that has been recently renovated. Undergoing renovations, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We should be thanking you, Allyson V! It was our pleasure to serve you and we appreciate the lovely compliments and constructive comments you offered in your review. It's with guest feedback such as yours that we can only improve our great Hamptonality. I apologize for the ant issue and disappointing breakfast selections. I have been working with the breakfast staff to be more conscientious of breakfast selections. I am happy to let you know that our renovations are moving ahead quite nicely and we anticipate to be done by the middle of May. Thank you again and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Port Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just stayed here last weekend to visit family in the area.
Hotel is being remodled and I stayed in a recently remodled room on the 3rd floor.
Very nice - like staying in a brand new hotel.
Lobby is still under construction but everything else about my stay from the breakfast to th pool condition was excellent. The staff was very freindly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Request 3rd (top) floor until remodling is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank for being our guest at the Hampton Inn Port Charlotte, and I hope your travels bring your back soon! We should also have pictures soon of the 100% new hotel, from lobby, sundry shop, fitness center, business center, breakfast area to all floors having new rooms! It was a great room tip back in February, and we appreciate your patience during our remodel. We are proud of our NEW hotel, and can’t wait for your next visit!

Warmest regards,
Tonya G McCandless, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

they are renovating now, but I don't believe all the moldy airconditioners and the sewage smells will be fixed. CincyBob's review is right on, but can't believe they gave an average rating. Certainly not average. I spend over 80 nights a year in Marriott property's and comparatively this hotel is Poor at best, even considering that they are renovating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patent_atty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have taken note of the comments regarding the air conditioners and will be working with our engineering department to be sure that they are maintaining those systems. We were able to determine what part of the renovations contributed to the smell that occurred during the evening and we have taken care of what caused it so as to not have it happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay and we hope that if your travels bring you back after our renovations are completed that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is located right off of interstate 75. Port Charlotte doesn't have much, but is in a nice central location. Our room was clean and overlooked a pretty lake out back.

The customer service was good. The breakfast area could use some upgrading and the air conditioner is too loud, but I believe they're working on that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regularjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Regular Joe,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Port Charlotte! The breakfast area and lobby has a brand new look, and all air conditioning units are new as the rooms are 100% remodeled since your visit. If a guest ever experiences a loud air conditioning unit, it’s an easy fix that we’re happy to correct.

Port Charlotte does have plenty to offer, and feel free to contact our Director of Sales at tracy.lehn@hilton.com for some ideas when you return to our hotel! We have a beautiful comedy club Visani’s, Nav-A-Gator and Peace River tours, airboat rides, kayak rentals, award winning golf courses and more within 2 miles of our hotel. Also within 7-10 miles there’s waterfront shopping and dining as well as the Port Charlotte TownCenter, an indoor mall and 16 movie cinema. We have everything from great eco-tourism that includes amazing parks, wildlife attractions, fishing, bird watching, boating, sailing, and more. We also offer great live entertainment from comedy to live outdoor music and a live jazz at JD’s Bistro and Grille We know this was probably an overnight stop, but please consider coming back and discovering Charlotte Harbor and all that we have to offer in Port Charlotte, Punta Gorda and Engewood all close to the hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and we do hope your travels will bring you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were able to stay on the 3rd floor, which is the last one to be renovated. Our room was beautiful with comfortable beds, luxurious duvets and fresh, clean carpets. The bathroom was excellent, with granite counters and no trace of the black mould so often unavoidable around the tub or tiles in hotel bathrooms.
The breakfast was delicious, and included waffles, several hot dishes, as well as oatmeal and the usual array of pastries and cold cereals. There was even a supply of fresh doughnuts from a local bakery.
Our room, and also the pool, back onto a lake....very lovely view. It would be even nicer with a few tables outside the breakfast area so that guests could have their breakfast outside as an option.
We found that staff were friendly and helpful.
Once all the renovations are finished, this hotel will be unbeatable!

Room Tip: Do choose a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaynassister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr W,

We are so pleased that your group enjoyed your visit, and thank you for staying with us now twice this year? We enjoyed both visits, and look forward to your future ones! We know you keep finding new places during each stay, and that Tracy has ideas for your next visit. Fall is such a great time to golf and visit the beaches in the area!

Thanks again for your visits and taking the time to write a review! Our staff always enjoys your visits!

Warm regards,
Tonya G McCandless, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This Hampton Inn is being renovated. The front entrance, lobby and breakfast area had the tile floor stripped and ceilings under repair. It was obvious from the room that the hotel needed renovations. The room was clean. It also had a dehumidifier running that we turned off because it was too noisy. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast did not seem to be up to the Hampton Inn standards. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your understanding as we undergo improvements to our common areas and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and we hope to have another chance to show you the value and quality in staying with us should you return to our area once our construction is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
5.8 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Days Inn Port Charlotte
#4 of 8 in Port Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda

Property: Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Address: 24480 Sandhill Blvd, Port Charlotte, FL 33983-5298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
#5 Business Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing and rewarding stay at the newly refurbished Hampton Inn Port Charlotte hotel. Discover the old world tranquility and spectacular wildlife of Charlotte Harbor. Our inviting hotel is nestled on a private lake in the prestigious Deep Creek area of Port Charlotte, Florida. Unwind on pristine beaches or enjoy world-class fishing expeditions and peaceful river excursions near the hotel. Visit the charming town of Punta Gorda and view historic mansions or dine and shop in Fisherman’s Village.Relax in a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte hotel recently completely remodeled in 2013. Unwind with a movie or selection of premium channels on a 32-inch HD flat-screen TV. Stay connected with business with free high speed internet access and catch up with work at the desk. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast overlooking Sandhill Lake. Even if you're in a rush, don't miss the most important meal of the day. On your way out, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Revive with an energizing workout in the fitness center or a refreshing swim in the pool. Make business easy in the business center complete with helpful amenities and services.All newly remodeled rooms include Hampton's Cloud 9 Bed and Bedding, complete with fresh, clean duvet covers and triple sheeting. Our rooms not only feature all Hampton standard amenities, but also 32" HD TV, but refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and a laptop tray for your use. Hampton Inn thinks of everything a guest needs, and the Port Charlotte location offers a 100% new property. Enjoy our new Sundry Shop, Fitness Center, Pool Area and Business Center, as well as lobby, breakfast area and guest rooms. When you leave the Hampton Inn Port Charlotte, you will be well rested and energized for work or leisure travel! Come Feel The Hamptonality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda Hotel Port Charlotte
Port Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing