We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away for now”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

they are renovating now, but I don't believe all the moldy airconditioners and the sewage smells will be fixed. CincyBob's review is right on, but can't believe they gave an average rating. Certainly not average. I spend over 80 nights a year in Marriott property's and comparatively this hotel is Poor at best, even considering that they are renovating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patent_atty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have taken note of the comments regarding the air conditioners and will be working with our engineering department to be sure that they are maintaining those systems. We were able to determine what part of the renovations contributed to the smell that occurred during the evening and we have taken care of what caused it so as to not have it happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay and we hope that if your travels bring you back after our renovations are completed that you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 489 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is located right off of interstate 75. Port Charlotte doesn't have much, but is in a nice central location. Our room was clean and overlooked a pretty lake out back.

The customer service was good. The breakfast area could use some upgrading and the air conditioner is too loud, but I believe they're working on that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regularjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Regular Joe,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Port Charlotte! The breakfast area and lobby has a brand new look, and all air conditioning units are new as the rooms are 100% remodeled since your visit. If a guest ever experiences a loud air conditioning unit, it’s an easy fix that we’re happy to correct.

Port Charlotte does have plenty to offer, and feel free to contact our Director of Sales at tracy.lehn@hilton.com for some ideas when you return to our hotel! We have a beautiful comedy club Visani’s, Nav-A-Gator and Peace River tours, airboat rides, kayak rentals, award winning golf courses and more within 2 miles of our hotel. Also within 7-10 miles there’s waterfront shopping and dining as well as the Port Charlotte TownCenter, an indoor mall and 16 movie cinema. We have everything from great eco-tourism that includes amazing parks, wildlife attractions, fishing, bird watching, boating, sailing, and more. We also offer great live entertainment from comedy to live outdoor music and a live jazz at JD’s Bistro and Grille We know this was probably an overnight stop, but please consider coming back and discovering Charlotte Harbor and all that we have to offer in Port Charlotte, Punta Gorda and Engewood all close to the hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and we do hope your travels will bring you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were able to stay on the 3rd floor, which is the last one to be renovated. Our room was beautiful with comfortable beds, luxurious duvets and fresh, clean carpets. The bathroom was excellent, with granite counters and no trace of the black mould so often unavoidable around the tub or tiles in hotel bathrooms.
The breakfast was delicious, and included waffles, several hot dishes, as well as oatmeal and the usual array of pastries and cold cereals. There was even a supply of fresh doughnuts from a local bakery.
Our room, and also the pool, back onto a lake....very lovely view. It would be even nicer with a few tables outside the breakfast area so that guests could have their breakfast outside as an option.
We found that staff were friendly and helpful.
Once all the renovations are finished, this hotel will be unbeatable!

Room Tip: Do choose a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaynassister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mr W,

We are so pleased that your group enjoyed your visit, and thank you for staying with us now twice this year? We enjoyed both visits, and look forward to your future ones! We know you keep finding new places during each stay, and that Tracy has ideas for your next visit. Fall is such a great time to golf and visit the beaches in the area!

Thanks again for your visits and taking the time to write a review! Our staff always enjoys your visits!

Warm regards,
Tonya G McCandless, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This Hampton Inn is being renovated. The front entrance, lobby and breakfast area had the tile floor stripped and ceilings under repair. It was obvious from the room that the hotel needed renovations. The room was clean. It also had a dehumidifier running that we turned off because it was too noisy. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast did not seem to be up to the Hampton Inn standards. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your understanding as we undergo improvements to our common areas and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and we hope to have another chance to show you the value and quality in staying with us should you return to our area once our construction is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I agree with the reviewer who said it is over-priced for a hotel undergoing renovations and with a room AC system that is very noisy. We also had a dehumidifier in our room when we first arrived that was very noisy, The maid took it out the second day (no idea why it was there in the first place and why it was taken out). The breakfast was a great disappointment. The hot food was poor quality and heated to the point of drying out. My husband said the hard boiled eggs could have been fresher. The juice and tea stations were appreciated, though. The staff was nice. Considering the condition of the hotel in general and our room in particular, which definitely needs a bathroom reno, I would have moved to another hotel but the clean and comfortable bed, pillows, and duvet made up for a lot with me. We were there visiting family in the area and will probably try a different hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking at the "lake" rather than the parking lot. Ask if a renovated room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I apologize that we could not have made your stay better. The dehumidifiers have been in our rooms since we opened in March of 1997. We were working on completing upgrades to our air conditioning systems, to eliminate the need for individual dehumidifiers in each room, while you stayed with us. Those improvements were completed and that was why it was removed during your stay . I'm also very sorry to hear about how disappointed you were with the prepared buffet selections. We know that a hearty breakfast is a great way to start the day and offering quality menu items is very important to us. Thank you for sharing your experience so we can ensure we make the necessary improvements moving forward. We want all guests to have a relaxing stay and a great jump-start to their morning. We hope you'll come back and give us another opportunity to show you our true Hamptonality and finished renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just stayed at this Hampton Inn as we returned to the area for a golfing trip with friends, as our house is being rented for season. We typically don't visit during the higher rate winter season until our Englewood home is free to use. I always stay at Hampton Inns, and I was referred by a friend that knows their Sales Manager Tracy Lynn. I saw the reviews, but he promised they have the best staff and the rooms were beautiful before the remodel. The rooms are beautiful, the place is being remodeled, but it's the best staff I've ever meet. Tracy set everything up for my small group, acted like the six rooms were sixty. We were treated so well! Our entire group was very pleased with their rooms, refrigerator, microwave, and more. One had one of the new rooms on the third floor, which I was could tell most of that floor isn't done but the new rooms are amazing! Give this hotel time to remodel, and know if you plan on staying during the remodel that the current rooms are beautiful. I'm not even sure why they remodeled, but when I saw the new rooms- wow!! The staff is friendly and helpful, upbeat as well. They have their lobby floor missing when we just stayed, but the rooms are comfortable and quiet. I will need to return in about a month, and I'm excited about seeing the changes and progress shared to me by staff and even GM. I feel after staying there I'm part of that hotel's family almost. I will stay at this hotel any time my house isn't available, and I'm actually eager to get back earlier as I feel the GM and staff there are just fantastic. It was an exciting getaway! Golf weather was also fantastic, worth paying more for the golf as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lakeview. Nice and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Hampton Inn is my hotel of choice for road travel; but this location is very over-priced for an inn under severe renovations. It is not located near any worthwhile attractions. The in room HVAC is the old type that sounds like a jet engine starting up in the middle of the night - so much for a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Stop at another inn until the renovations are completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank GeorgiaGuy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and we're very sorry that we couldn't have made it more enjoyable. We really appreciate your flexibility as we undergo some growing pains and try our best to minimize inconvenience to our guests. I'm reviewing your comments about the noise concerns with our team and are working towards a resolution. We hope that you'll come back once our renovations are complete and let us know what you think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda

Address: 24480 Sandhill Blvd, Port Charlotte, FL 33983-5298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
#3 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
#5 Business Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range: $108 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing and rewarding stay at the newly refurbished Hampton Inn Port Charlotte hotel. Discover the old world tranquility and spectacular wildlife of Charlotte Harbor. Our inviting hotel is nestled on a private lake in the prestigious Deep Creek area of Port Charlotte, Florida. Unwind on pristine beaches or enjoy world-class fishing expeditions and peaceful river excursions near the hotel. Visit the charming town of Punta Gorda and view historic mansions or dine and shop in Fisherman’s Village.Relax in a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities at Hampton Inn Port Charlotte hotel recently completely remodeled in 2013. Unwind with a movie or selection of premium channels on a 32-inch HD flat-screen TV. Stay connected with business with free high speed internet access and catch up with work at the desk. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast overlooking Sandhill Lake. Even if you're in a rush, don't miss the most important meal of the day. On your way out, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Revive with an energizing workout in the fitness center or a refreshing swim in the pool. Make business easy in the business center complete with helpful amenities and services.All newly remodeled rooms include Hampton's Cloud 9 Bed and Bedding, complete with fresh, clean duvet covers and triple sheeting. Our rooms not only feature all Hampton standard amenities, but also 32" HD TV, but refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and a laptop tray for your use. Hampton Inn thinks of everything a guest needs, and the Port Charlotte location offers a 100% new property. Enjoy our new Sundry Shop, Fitness Center, Pool Area and Business Center, as well as lobby, breakfast area and guest rooms. When you leave the Hampton Inn Port Charlotte, you will be well rested and energized for work or leisure travel! Come Feel The Hamptonality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda Hotel Port Charlotte
Port Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing