We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This years new trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“This years new trip”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My son and I go to Port Charlotte, Florida every spring or summer to visit my brother and go deep sea fishing on his boat. The fishing was great (we are catch and release only). I wrote a review last year that highly reciommended this motel. Our experience this year was much different.

We arrived late but had a 7 night reservation with late check-in. No problem.. The first night my son got into bed and felt something strange crawling up his leg. He jumped out of bed and found he had visitor. It was a BEETLE!! My son killed the beetle but he had to take half of my bedding since he would not get back into the bed without other bedding and because we were tired after driving from the Tampa airport. We reported it to the house keeping staff the next morning and they changed all the bedding on both beds. Two nights later, there was some kind of event going on locally and the motel was booked solid. The fighting noise from our upstairs neighbors - all night long- kept us awake or woke us up.The only rest we got (for two nights in a row) was either at my brothers house or while out on his boat.

I need to qualify all of my comments with the following: The hotel was responsive to all our complaints. It has all the same amenities it has always had. Refridgerator, air conditioner, dehumiderfier, microwave, and a great free breakfast! These are ammenities most motels/hotels don't give you for free when you book a room. So, you need to consider this in deciding whether to stay here or someplace else.

I personally got sick during the middle of our vacation (food poisioning from a resteraunt my brother likes) and stayed in our room the entire day. The hotel staff was extremely helpful.

Woul;d I stay here again - you bet! One abberation will not stop me from trying again. If I have problems again, I'll post them on this site.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room facing the rear of the property to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfly5331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Minott, Guest Services/Sales Manager at Days Inn Port Charlotte, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for an honest review.

I'm glad housekeeping was attentive to your needs. I'm guessing the beetle situation stopped at that one, as you did indicate you stayed multiple nights thereafter. I guess it's always possible even with regular pest control prevention, that they can fly in when the door is opened even briefly.

We apologize for the noise issue as it is generally very quiet this time of year. There was a craft show going on in the area during your stay so the hotel was full. You didn't indicate if you addressed management with the noise. However, in the future, please feel free to inform the desk immediately. We have a zero tolerance noise policy especially after hours.

Thank you for recognizing our efforts in adding amenities to make our customers more comfortable. I had a customer tell me she stayed in a ritzy hotel that charged $10.00 plus tax/ nightly for a mini refrigerator (that had to be delivered to the room!) So we are glad we could provide that convenience to each of our guests!

Keep in mind that we are frequently adding new amenities to better serve you!

Thank you for your patronage!

We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    182
    66
    25
    22
See reviews for
242
168
60
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Morning clerk Bob, was notified at 8 AM after receiving wake-up call and attempted to shower, and found broken. Maintenance was called and attempted to repair which took until 8:35 to get working. Maintenance said that the head was broken. So we were unable to shower as we had to be to work at 9:00 AM.
I informed Bob that I felt that some compensation should be given for the inconvenience. He informed me that the day Manager must be notified. So Monday I called and spoke with Lisa Minott the Customer Service Manager and made her aware of the incidence, which she said it would be investigated and I would be receiving a response. I was called an hour later by the same clerk Bob from Sunday morning. His response that there would be no compensation and he actually accused us of turning the shower the wrong way and he claimed that the Maintenance person fixed the problem in less than ten minutes Which is not the case. So I asked him if he was accusing my family of lying and he said yes. He said that his decision came directly from the owner. I Re-called to speak with Lisa [--] The Customer Service Manager to find out why if she was the manager why this was given back to the day clerk, and she now became very rude and defensive and stated that there decision was made. Worst Customer Service Ever, Welcome to the Day's Inn. Stay elsewhere!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamB663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Minott, Guest Relations/Sales Manager at Days Inn Port Charlotte, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. Our goal is to exceed all customer expectations. However, we realize issues do occur even at the ritziest of hotels. Bob (acting manager over the weekend) and maintenance states that this was a minor issue and took 5-10 minutes to fix. Our records prove the same. We resolved the issue immediately. We apologize that you were unable to take a shower for your 9am appointment. As you stated, maintenance got it working at 8:35am. Our check-out is not until 11am and we also honor late check-out requests. We provided ample time for you to shower.

As a chairman’s award winning and newly renovated property, we make every effort to exceed Days Inn standards in every category. Our “A” rated inspections and guest survey scores over the past 25 years support our efforts.

It is possible (as Bob suggested) that it was turned the wrong way in error. He never suggested YOU did it as I was sitting behind him listening to the conversation. You misunderstood him and proceeded to call him a “**PROFANE** LIAR”. Even after that verbal attack, he was never rude to you. He simply stated “with that being said, the conversation was over”.

I’m not surprised by your poor review as you threatened upon our last conversation that you would be defaming us all over the web if we did not comp you. You did use our facilities and our amenities. Your rate was previously discounted $25.00 as you were part of a valued group. As we value your patronage, we took care of your issue immediately.

We also apologize the craft show suffered from the rain all weekend. We know it wasn’t as successful as past years. We were disappointed for all the vendors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were really pleasantly surprised with this property. The rooms were very very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Would highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back by the big trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HND30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Minott, Guest Relations/Sales Manager at Days Inn Port Charlotte, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at the Days Inn Port Charlotte!

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to post a review of our property.

We are making frequent efforts to better our guest experience each day!!

Thank you for recognizing that!

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Each winter we spend February traveling through Florida visiting friends and family. February 2011, we spent 3 days at the Day Inn Port Charlotte. We liked it so much that we spent an additional 3 days there on our way back home.

We will be back again sometime in February of 2012.

PROS:

You can immediately tell that this hotel is very well-managed. It is quite clean and supported by very friendly and efficient staff.

Even though the Days Inn is very close to the highway, the rooms are very well insulated. We never heard the road or neighbors in adjoining rooms. You will be able to get a good night's sleep here.

The rooms at the backside of the hotel have tables and chairs and a nice area for sitting in the sun, meeting friends, or walking your pets.

The hotel is close to the main highway, shopping, and restaurants.

CONS:

If you are looking for an old Florida style hotel or an upscale resort, this is not the place for you. But, for the money, this Days Inn is an exceptional value.



.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway. If you are travelling with pets, get a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharronLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Minott, Guest Relations/Sales Manager at Days Inn Port Charlotte, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your visit to the Days Inn Port Charlotte at Latitude 27!

We appreciate your great review.

We've made every attempt since opening to remain a top rated Days Inn and chairman's award winning hotel.

We've recently added new covered patios outside all ground level rooms. New Latitude 27Tiki Pool Bar and Grille. Newly renovated rooms with deluxe bedding all make our Days Inn a relaxing change from the ordinary.

We welcome you back!!!

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Usually when my company books me in a Days Inn they're a bit sketchy. However this Days Inn is the complete opposite! This is by far the best Days Inn I have EVER stayed in. The pics provided don't lie. Speedy check in. Amazing Customer Service. Room as I requested it. No surprises at all. Room clean and amenities galore. (Microwave, Fridge larger then usual) TV good, AC worked amazingly. This hotel was just plain amazing. Pool area looks amazing, especially at night and it has a bar at the pool!

Room Tip: I stayed room 141, all the way in the back. Silent. Great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TekTek321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Minott, Guest Relations/Sales Manager at Days Inn Port Charlotte, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out to write a great review on your recent stay at Days Inn Port Charlotte.

Customers like yourself motivate our management to push forward to better each experience for every guest. Our goal is to have happy customers and to exceed all expectations. We are glad we've made one out of you!

Please do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I have stayed in several hotel brands in the area and Days Inn is one of the best!
The location, room and staff were second to none. I enjoyed an evening at JD's Bistro located next door and enjoyed the fine dinning atmostphere. Thanks Days Inn Port Charlotte for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midnightrider50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Minott, Guest Relations/Sales Manager at Days Inn Port Charlotte, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for a great review and for recognizing our efforts!

Customers like you make all our efforts worthwhile!

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Days Inn in Port Charlotte is very nice. The price is good. The location is excellent... plenty of resturants close by. We have been there twice and plan to go back when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Minott, Guest Relations/Sales Manager at Days Inn Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to serving you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
6.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Port Charlotte

Property: Days Inn Port Charlotte
Address: 1941 Tamiami Trl, Port Charlotte, FL 33948-2112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
#2 Business Hotel in Port Charlotte
#5 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Port Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Days Inn of Port Charlotte, nestled among century old oak trees covered in Spanish Moss, has the highest quality rating Days Inn in the system. New to our property is a full general store, newly surfaced colorful pool area, yoga room added adjacent to fitness center, all newly remodeled rooms with 37" TV's and more! Hotel features Free complimentary wireless internet in rooms, public areas and meeting rooms and a Complimentary Breakfast with healthy to heavenly hot options including pancakes, fresh oatmeal, biscuits and gravy daily. ALL rooms have refrigerators, coffee makers, dehumidifiers, hair dryers, iron/board, and remote control 37" Flat Screen TV with extended cable offering over 60 channels including HBO, ESPN, CNN, & WTBS. The Day Inn Port Charlotte is the closest hotel to the Spring Training Home of the Tampa Rays and Rays Grapefruit League Team "Cal Ripken's" Stone Crabs that play April to September. Centrally located between the beautiful beaches and islands of Englewood and downtown historical Punta Gorda, the Days Inn has the perfect location for a visit to Charlotte Harbor & The Gulf Islands. Located on the property is a colorful and tropical pool, guest laundromat, and JD's Live Jazz and Dining. JD's Bistro has a full service bar, award winning wine list, and freshly prepared food. It is open Mon-Sat for dinner. It is available for private meetings during the day. Live jazz is typically Mon through Saturday, however please check their website schedule as closed some holidays and for some special events. The Days Inn Port Charlotte invites you to stay with us and enjoy all our property offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte
Port Charlotte Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing