We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place by the bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bay Waterfront Motel
tampa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place by the bay!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very clean. Owners helpful and friendly. Most important they allowed us to bring our 2 babies....a lab and terrier. Room was spacious with kitchenette. We were able o launch our boat across the river and park it at the dock all weekend. Would recommend this place and definitely will be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    29
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
81
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CANAL FULTON
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Wife & I had to go to Florida for some personal business / pleasure. Found this place and it was a great value. It was your typical mom & pop place. Nothing fancy. Just basics, but that's what we wanted. Right on Peace River. Great views, peaceful. Only thing we didn't like was the are pet friendly. Not my cup of tea. Glad room didn't smell like dog or cat. Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

quaint and comfortable. very clean. helpful owners. ample parking lot. friendly atmosphere everywhere you moved. reasonably priced. attractive room with comfortable beds. beautiful sunsets. close to Tamiami trail, restaurants and shops. only steps away from the beautiful Port Harbor Park. somehow Banana Bay Motel is designed in a way that you feel glad you came and stayed there. It was a very happy experience the two days we spent there.;)nd we felt very relaxed and in communion with Nature and its beauty....

Room Tip: our room was waterfront... and the price was very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 78Magali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This motel proved to be very friendly, with a casual, quaint atmosphelre. Easily accessible to anything & everything that you may wish to do. Property and room were very clean and it certainly reflected the quaint old Florida mood. For a small fee you could rent a fishing pole and bait and fish off the only dock I saw in the area....and it's theirs. We were very pleased with our decision and will be back next year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at this property April 8th......old but quaint. The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. They work really hard at keeping the grounds immaculate with some lovey touches such as the swing. My husband enjoyed the pool. There is a pricey restaurant within walking distance or else you can drive a short ways. Our room was fine......everything worked. Banana Bay seemed very peaceful and the ocean views were stunning,especially the sunset. I would definitely recommend Banana Bay........the location alone is worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is the cleanest place we have ever stayed. The resort looked and was described perfectly in there website. No surprises! The staff and all the guest were amazing. Great place for a couples getaway or even a family event.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisawc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at Banana Bay. The facilities were spotless, room very comfortable, everything you would need in an efficiency. The heated pool, laundry room, quiet spaces, patio area (overlooking the bay) where guest gather for sunsets and cocktails and a 500 ft. dock to fish from or watch dolphins, stingrays, shorebirds, makes it a very comfortable "old Florida" experience. Close to shopping and sightseeing opportunities. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for an "old fashioned" resort experience. We will return again!

Room Tip: If you're closer to the road, traffic noise may be an issue if you like to leave windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 645RonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
1.5 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
506 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
1.5 mi away
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
#2 of 7 in Punta Gorda
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
4.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Days Inn Port Charlotte
#3 of 8 in Port Charlotte
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Waterfront Motel

Property: Banana Bay Waterfront Motel
Address: 23285 Bayshore Rd, Port Charlotte, FL 33980-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Banana Bay Waterfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint waterfront motel (upgraded) with full kitchens, wireless internet, Comcast cable, 500 ft. pier, heated pool and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Banana Bay Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Waterfront Hotel Port Charlotte
Banana Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing