We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #85 of 204 Restaurants in Port Charlotte
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I like eating at Sonny's. Good service and decent food for the money. The portions are about average.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    17
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tasty Ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The pasta and chicken with garlic sauce was good. The Baby Back Ribs were a little dry but the sauce was excellent. They have a salad bar that you can pay an upcharge for, otherwise you get 2 sides with your meal. The salad bar was fresh and yummy. Service was very friendly and right on track. She was there with soft drink refills ahead of time. It's really crowded from 5-7pm everynight, but come early or after the rush and you probably won't wait long.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank greenjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Now, that was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great job of smoking. Not overly seasoned. All the seasonings you'd want are at the table. I'll be here again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Great Value Meals & FAST!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've been 2x both for lunch.
We were not disappointed or we would not have gone back too many choices to settle.
Each time we were greeted & quickly seated & orders came quickly --- if we wanted somehing quicker they even have a salad bar.

The waitresses and hostess were busy & the food was really good next time we will have to try the BBQ ribs as that is their signature meal.

Lunch Special was plenty of food & very reasonable price included the large fountain drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, MI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Try Someplace Else ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Since we love barbeque, we stopped at Sonny's while driving thru Port Charlotte to get out fix. We love southern q and Sonny's marquee said, 'pit style' which in the south typically means whole hog. I couldn't wait! But I should have known better as soon as we walked up, there was a funny smell in the paring lot - kinda a mix of charcoal, grease & dunno what.

I tried the all u can eat ribs and my wife had pulled pork. The total bill was 42 after tip & drinks. The food came fairly quickly and the service was good. But the food - well that was quite another story. I got the dry rub ribs and the frist order's rub was pasty. The ribs were not hot. They were extremely salty too. The first order had 4 bones, and I choked those down hoping a reorder would be better. It wasn't. The pulled pork had almost no flavor - definitely no bark and definitely no charcoal flavor. There was sauce at the table and it wasn't enough to help either.

I could write more .. but you get the idea. Save your money. If it wasn't for the decent wait staff, I'd give this place one dot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing