We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Hotel was great- stayed 4 days and then left for the other part of state and returned for 3 more days and desk staff welcomed us back by name. Breakfast Host a wonderful guy with a great big smile & good morning and working great to keep things stocked. Lighter blankets appeared on the bed when we mentioned comfortors too warm. Pool nice and warm. Handy to interstate but quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarbushfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 473 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

My husband and I traveled with our 1 year old and 5 year old son. We stayed in the suite with a King Size bed. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty good every morning, there was a variation of what foods were available so that it was not the same thing everyday. The pool and jacuzzi was nice and clean. They gave me a porta crib for my 1 year old that was brand new and didn't charge for the loan. I highly recommend this hotel. The only problem was getting to the hotel entry from the road was confusing the first time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlehunnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The room was tastefully furnished and the bathroom scrupiously clean. The hot breakfast exceeded all our expectations and the staff there worked tirelessly to ensure that the food was in good supply. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were so white, fresh and nice and well rounded, not like most other lodgings which generally have well used flat ones. This hotel ranks top on our list.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titch1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I just discovered "Country Inn and Suites" hotels. I've stayed at several and they have ALL been great! Clean, low rates, great breakfast, and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Four_Seasons_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Sorry, but this place is "dated" and on a fairly busy road.
We usually like Country Inns but this place is getting a little worn...
Across the highway is a La Quinta and another Brand name hotel...stay there.
They are newer and they are definitely set back off the highway a bit more...
Both the check in hostess and the morning manager were extremely friendly and helpful. But, the owner (owners?) need to update this facility.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Great value if you’re staying multiple nights, More expensive for single night stays. We stayed a total of 7 nights during 2 trips to Port Charlotte. On two other one night stays in Port Charlotte, we stayed elsewhere as it was considerably more expensive staying here for one night.
Hotel appeared new or newly remodeled. It was on a main road, but if you did not know how to get to it, it could be a bit difficult. They serve a nice breakfast buffet each morning for free. It is along the lines of the one you get at some Courtyard by Marriott’s. The front desk staff is friendly and always on duty. There is a coin operated washer dryer and a small gym as well as an outdoor pool. The rooms appear to be new, but the way the lights switches are wired is a little strange. They even give you instructions on how to use them at check in. Flat screen TV’s with limited channels and free wireless internet.
During our first visit, the clock radio did not work and the TV had a horrible picture. I told the front desk on my wan out and when I returned they were both either replaced or repaired. The beds are on the hard side.
We had some maid issues on the first visit, If you’re not out of your room by 9:30 AM; she leaves a card on your door saying she is not going to clean your room. And on our last day, she started banging on the door at 9:30 AM even with the do not disturb sign on the door. Check out time is 11:00 AM
On our second visit, we got the same card in the saying that they were not going to clean our room. I stopped by the front desk and they said they would clean it. When we got back, the towels had been changed and the covers were pulled up over the pillows but the room had not been cleaned. This irked my wife who called the front desk. The guy at the front desk did not apologize and basically defended the maid and said it was standard procedure. When asked where it was written in their policy that you had to vacate your room by 9:30 AM in order to get maid service, he was at a loss. About 15 minutes later we got a phone call from the front desk saying the manager wanted us to know that the room would be detailed each AM for the rest of our stay. The next day, we also got an apology note from the maid. So we had a problem, complained about it and it was resolved. Would I stay here again.. Yes. Would my wife..You will have to ask her.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JhonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

They make you pay for the sheets if you have an accidents. Some stuff went through a diaper and we were required to purchase the sheets. I have never heard of this before most hotels use them for rags if they don't come clean. Even sure in this case with hot water and soap they would have. if these are new hotel policies people might want to start bringing their own sheets

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrashantCX, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

At the Country Inn & Suites located in Port Charlotte, FL, our goal is to provide all of our customers with a high standard of service and a high quality room with many complimentary amenities.

We do have a strict policy on bio-hazardous materials. Because we do not want to put future guests at risk, we dispose of bio-hazardous materials such as the linens mentioned in this review.

The costs of permanent damages are of the responsibility of the guest, and is agreed to at the time of check-in. These policies are never abused and because of these policies, we are able to provide a high standard to all of our guests.

At the Country Inn & Suites, we welcome all people from all cultures, ages groups, and ethnicity to stay at our hotel. It is our pride and pleasure to serve each and every guest who walks through our doors.

Thank you TripAdvisor for giving the opportunity to respond to comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#5 of 7 in Punta Gorda
526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte

Address: 24244 Corporate Ct, Port Charlotte, FL 33954-2823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range: $93 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites Port Charlotte provides clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced guest rooms & suites year round. We provide a complimentary hot and healthy breakfast every morning that consists of fresh scrambled eggs made from real eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, muffins, danishes, fruits, coffee, juice, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Port Charlotte
Country Inn & Suites Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing