We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Not Up To Par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Friendly staff, good variety for a complimentary breakfast, but it is just not up to par. We stayed two night, each night in a different room. Both nights there were only 'suites' available. These suites are nothing special and certainly don't warrant the price charged. The carpet looked new in both rooms and both rooms seemed clean on first impression. The sheets and pillow case on the second room we stayed in was so wrinkled that I had an uneasy feeling that it had been slept in before. The air conditioner in both rooms operated on high and.noisy or when turned down did not come on at all. In the first room we found the sofa in the middle of the floor, which was curious but easy to remedy. Not worth over $200 per night.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank allez2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrashantCX, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 473 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Room was a 2 room suite. They put us by the elevator which really irritates me and should have said something sooner. Breakfast staff was overwhelmed by number of people staying at hotel, but did OK. For most part room was quite after 9pm. Internet was a little slow. sd

Room Tip: NOT by the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrashantCX, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time toreview our Hotel. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This very really happens but this hotel could not be described as exceptional or terrible it is just..... well nice !

It is one of these generic hotels that offers nothing exceptional but alternatively one would be hard-pressed to say anything bad about it. Nice just about sums it up.

The hotel is just off I 70 and though a little setback is easy to find if you have GPS navigation. The rooms are of a sufficient size, clean, tidy and well maintained and has all the accoutrements one would need for a comfortable stay.

There is an Applebee's restaurant with in a very short driving distance but seems a little bereft of of the quality beaching establishments.

It is the sort of hotel one can stay at and be hard-pressed to remember the experience two days later.
From my recollections it is a clean, comfortable hotel in a safe area with polite and helpful staff.

If that is all you need this is the hotel for you when in the area.

Room Tip: Choose any room. I'm sure they are all much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrashantCX, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your stay in Port Charlotte! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had a situation recently where I was unable to cancel my reservation at this hotel by the designated time because I was in an airplane and couldn't use my phone. Our plane was diverted to St Petersburg because of fog and we had to stay there overnight. As soon as I could call the hotel I did and explained my predicament to them but I was told I would still be charged for the room. I contacted corporate and even though I was told the hotel would contact me within 48 hours I finally heard back from them 7 days later. Due to their "policy" they could not refund my room charge. Will never stay at a Country Inn EVER!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, as well as sending Corporate Customer Care an e-mail. We are happy we were able to work with you to resolve the situation. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I booked this hotel through hotwire as I needed a place close to the Punta Gorda airport. It was clean and had a nice breakfast room with good choices. It's a little hard to find as the street to get in looks like you're going into an alley so a sign would be nice. The wifi was good. TV could be better. The bathroom was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Came in late from a late flight into Punta Gorda. They were very welcoming and met all our needs. After a good nights sleep in comfortable beds we had a good breakfast in the breakfast room. It was very good. Our room was clean and quiet.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jilly618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just stayed at the Country Inn and Suites; good value for the money. Rooms were newer, and were always clean. We upgraded to a suite, which meant having an additional couch and chair that made our 6 night stay even more enjoyable. They have a continental breakfast every morning; and most mornings it was very good. Typical fare included some type of eggs and breakfast meat, as well as a good selection of cereals, breads and juices. Only one breakfast wasn't very tasty, as the biscuits and gravy had way too much salt. The hotel is centrally located, and there is a Wendy's and McDonald's close, and Cracker Barrel is across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#5 of 7 in Punta Gorda
526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte

Address: 24244 Corporate Ct, Port Charlotte, FL 33954-2823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range: $94 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites Port Charlotte provides clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced guest rooms & suites year round. We provide a complimentary hot and healthy breakfast every morning that consists of fresh scrambled eggs made from real eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, muffins, danishes, fruits, coffee, juice, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Port Charlotte
Country Inn & Suites Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing