We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just stayed at the Country Inn and Suites; good value for the money. Rooms were newer, and were always clean. We upgraded to a suite, which meant having an additional couch and chair that made our 6 night stay even more enjoyable. They have a continental breakfast every morning; and most mornings it was very good. Typical fare included some type of eggs and breakfast meat, as well as a good selection of cereals, breads and juices. Only one breakfast wasn't very tasty, as the biscuits and gravy had way too much salt. The hotel is centrally located, and there is a Wendy's and McDonald's close, and Cracker Barrel is across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    105
    56
    31
    11
See reviews for
157
96
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here on January 11 and 17. Parked our truck and trailer at the motel and rode the Harley down to the Florida Keys for a few days. The whole property looks brand new, rooms were very clean and comfortable. The outdoor hot tub was a great asset. Staff, especially Susan at the front desk were wonderful to deal with and very pleasant. One of the best Country Inns I've stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had a coupon, and presented it at check in. It was honored with no availability problem. The staff was friendly and professional. The hotel was clean. The room did not smell. It was modern and clean, with plenty of outlets, and workspace. The bath was modern and clean, and well stocked. The breakfast staff did a great job making sure everything was available and hot. They were friendly and kept the dining area clean. If in Port Charlotte Fl again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel around Christmas time 2012 for 5 days. The room was a 2 queen room on the 3rd floor which was very comfortable. The front desk personnel and the housekeeping crew were very accommodating. The only complaint I had was intermittent internet.

This is my 2nd stay from 1/9/14 to 1/12/14. Again the room is a 2 queen room this time it is on the 4th floor very clean and very comfortable. The staff has been very helpful and the housekeeping crew has been great. The internet issue from last year appears to have been rectified.

I have family in Punta Gorda and would stay at this hotel again when I come to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here while visiting friends who live in Punta Gorda, so it was very convenient for that.

The room was quite large with a king bed (which was a bit too hard). It included a comfy chair with an ottoman where I sat to watch TV. The refrigerator was nice to have, although it was on the small side, and there was a microwave (which we never used). There were plenty of outlets for electronics, hot breakfast was provided, and it was conveniently located right off I-75.

Our room faced highway and we could easily hear the traffic on Kings Hwy. I don't think the thermostat is calibrated correctly; we needed to set it 2-3 degrees lower than "normal" and even then it took too long to kick in.

There was no door stop in the bathroom. At some point in the past, someone opened the door hard enough that the towel hook on the back of the door slammed into the wall, taking a chunk out of it.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd-numbered room; they're away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blare246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here recently while in town for a funeral. Night before checkout, and before a 14 hr drive, basketball team was checked in and given rooms all the way around me. Needless to say, they were LOUD. Made three calls to front desk for assistance. It took the threat of calling the police for anything to be done about the noise. Finally after 1 am, I was able to get to sleep. Also, when checking out, I informed the front desk "manager" Carlos, about the horrible night as well as the cockroaches found in the tub that morning, and he informed me that he could do nothing about comping my stay. After requesting the name and number for the general manager, he stated that the gm was absolutely unavailable. The stay was horrible and the so called manager Carlos, was extremely rude and very unconcerned about customer satisfaction. I will NEVER stay at this location again and I strongly urge future customers to view rooms prior to booking.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrashantCX, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the basketball team who was not quiet during your stay. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again and will be sure to train our staff to better handle these situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here last year while visiting family for the holidays and it was good. Very clean, rooms were large and well kept.
This time, it was not so much. When first walking into the hotel, the hallways had an "offensive odor", especially on the fourth floor where our room was. Then walking in the room, we were hit with a blast wave of "mildew" type odor. It smelt as though the room hadn't been used or opened in several months. We had to go to Wal Mart to buy an air freshener to "quiet" the smell in the room.
The beds had a dirty look to them, and one of the beds had hair on the sheets. Also, this room was much smaller, and more cramped than the previous room we had.

On the bright-side, the maid was very friendly and always provided plenty of fresh towels and toiletries.

Although we had a good experience last year, the experience we just experienced was enough to make us not go back again while visiting family. We will stay elsewhere as there are several hotels on this exit off of I-75.

Not sure if the ownership changed, or if the management has changed, but this hotel has gone downhill in the past year.

Room Tip: Bring your own air freshener...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrashantCX, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We did a thorough inspection of the premises and there is no evidence of mold or mildew within the public areas of the building.

We will be sure to be very proactive in taking care of any odors if they arise in the future and will make sure to do a better job of inspecting our rooms before assigning them in the future. Again, we are very sorry of your experience and hope to make you a happy customer in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
5.7 mi away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#3 of 7 in Punta Gorda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Address: 24244 Corporate Ct, Port Charlotte, FL 33954-2823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites Port Charlotte provides clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced guest rooms & suites year round. We provide a complimentary hot and healthy breakfast every morning that consists of fresh scrambled eggs made from real eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, muffins, danishes, fruits, coffee, juice, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Port Charlotte
Country Inn & Suites Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing