We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for dog owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value for dog owners”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Saying that this hotel was pet friendly is an understatement. The staff was outstanding and made a point to make a fuss over our dog even giving him treats and lots of love. The rooms were nice the breakfast and coffee hit the spot... We plan on staying here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Kim B, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. The staff really does try and go above and beyond to make sure all guests have a good time. The rooms really are nice and the breakfast and coffee is just right. I am pleased to hear that you will be one of our return guests, and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    191
    57
    25
    21
See reviews for
385
254
77
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

While the service staff did their best to accommodate my needs, the hotel itself was a disappointment. It was necessary to remind registration clerk both on check-in and check-out that the bill had been prepaid. The first room I was given appeared "occupied" with used water bottles left in room and the ironing board and iron left out. The bathroom was dirty and it was clearly apparent it had not been cleaned. I was given an "upgrade" to a mini-suite but, offered no assistance in relocation. During the first night in the upgraded room, the air conditioning did not work (outside temps were well in excess of 90 degrees). Once air conditioning was fixed, one could have preserved raw meat in the room. The last two nights at the hotel were spent listening to an army of prepubescent "little league baseball players" who apparently found running the bases in the hotel hallways more fun than on their respective playing fields. The noise was everywhere. The mess they created was consistent with the presence of an army of pre-teen boys. And, one could not get near the "free breakfast" since the players and their parents occupied every seat in the common area. I will not stay at this hotel again and do not recommend it for anyone else.

Room Tip: Seek another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 77Tom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
77Tom77, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I do apologies about the front desk checking you into a room that was not ready, and about the ac problem in your upgraded suite. I am sorry that we were not able to more to make things right during your stay. I do understand there is only so much we can do with a large baseball team in house, but I would like to apologies if they were being noisy. I do hope that if you are ever our guest again that we will be able to make things right, and make that you have the best stay possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When you first walked into hotel all you could smell is cleaning solution on top of animal smell. I am sure if you have animals you most likely wouldn't smell it but for ones that do not have animals will smell it. Especially ones that have allergies. Then we walk up to room & see a big chunck of white animal hair that stayed there the entire twos dys that we were there. Then we go into room & all I smell is animal & animal pee. Later on that evening I asked the young lady at the front desk if the entire hotel rooms allowed pets or if they have all rms for pets,she said all rms for pets. She asked why & I told her the situation & she said I can move you to a different rm. And I said but you just told me all rms allowed pets correct & she said correct. I said well that is not going to help with my allergies & the smell through out hotel & rms. And then she said well I don't understand why it is smelling because every rm that an animal stays in we steam clean it after they check out. Thats pretty funny to me that she is going to stand there & lie to me since our rm smelt like pee & the two dys we stayed there we never seen any of the house keepers clean a rm of ones that had checked out that had animals with a steam cleaner. I mean they couldn't even cleam the carpet in the hall of animal hair that had been in front of our door the whole two dys. I am not an idiot so don't stand there & lie to me. And the breakfast was halfway decent. Would not recommend the hard brick bisquits to anyone though. Would have liked to see a little bit of better selection. Like maybe scrambled eggs , potatoes, bacon. I should have looked better at website to see it was pet friendly because I would have never stayed unless there was a upper floor that was not allowed for pets. Not happy with the stay at all!! Especially when I had to go to Wal-mart to get allergie meds & Lysol. And then at check out we were getting billed more then what we were giving at booking & had printed out. But manager did take care of at check out. So that was nice. Don't think I will stay with you all again though. Sorry....... If you have animals & can handle the smell of animals & pee then its a good place for you to stay. I Love animals but not ones that are not clean & that pee in rms.

Room Tip: Hallway smelt like cleaner & wet dogs. And rm smelt like animal pee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Cheryl J, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I do apologies if during your stay there was an off smell. We do appreciate you letting us know your thoughts on our pet friendly hotel. La Quinta takes all reviews and turns them into a positive learning experience. Thank you again for letting us know, we will make sure that this never happens again. We assure you if you ever stay with us again, that you will be impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was my stay in a La Quinta and based on the fact that my family usually stays in 5 star and Gold time shares, I was concerned. It was a one night quick stay for a baseball tournament. From the moment we entered the lobby I was flawed by the customer service and smile that Rae provided. She is the ultimate employee. She handled every aspect of the hotel stay from check in, clean up, food. Best of all she smiled and welcomed every guest as if they were her best friend. As an owner of 7 different small businesses, I would give my right arm for an employee like Rae.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am so pleased to hear that Rae treated you and your family with the guest services that you deserve. I will be sure to let Rae know the positive impact she had on your one night stay. We will make sure that she keeps up the good work. Thank you for being our guest. We do hope that if you are ever in the area again that you will stop by and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband, myself and our pet dog Babe were returning to our other home in Gibsonburg, Ohio. We had a very early flight Monday morning, it was pouring down rain and we wanted to stay in a hotel close to the Charlotte County Airport Sunday. The rental car agency referred us to the La Quinta in Punta Gorta. What a great referral. I called to make a reservation and to ask a few questions. Bernie answered the call. I must say that I have never been greeted or treated with such kindness or respect. Upon our arrival Bernie was there to provide us with the La Quinta hospitality. Although we only stayed one night, we would have been very comfortable staying long term. Everyone needs to experience Bernie. He truly is enjoyable and a Big plus for La Quinta. Thank you for making our night. Cheri & Jerry Lawrence

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
ChernJer, Thank you for taking the time to write your glowing review. I am pleased to hear that your husband, babe and yourself were able to have such a good time even during the pouring rain. I am thrilled that you received the guest services that you deserve. Bernie really does go out of his way to make sure each guest receives that warm La Quinta hospitality. We do hope that if you are ever in the area again that you will be our guest. Until then thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
5.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Charlotte
Days Inn Port Charlotte
#3 of 8 in Port Charlotte
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
Address: 812 Kings Hwy, Port Charlotte, FL 33980-4218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Charlotte
#1 Family Hotel in Port Charlotte
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
#1 Green Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, value, amenities, and great service is what you are looking for, La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte is HERE FOR YOU! Our new hotel features 81 comfortably-appointed guest rooms, including Free WiFi, a Free Deluxe Continental Breakfast each morning, Outdoor Heated Pool & Jacuzzi, and a Business Center for your needs. Our new Bright side Market features Beer and Wine. We offer free shuttle service to nearby Punta Gorda for easy access to the airport and local areas. Our 24 hour award-winning staff is always HERE FOR YOU and willing to help with any question or desire you may have. When thinking Port Charlotte, think La Quinta! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte
La Quinta Inn And Suites Port Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing